We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Firenze In January”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Firenze In January”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were looking for a Hotel near the Duomo area in Florence, and used Trip Advisor. We came across the Hotel Macchiaioli in Florence. They had great directions on their site as we came by train. It’s a short 1 1/2 blocks from the Duomo. The hotel is on the 2nd floor (called the 1st in Italy). It looks like a palazzo inside, high ceilings, painted panels on the ceilings; there are a few salons for sitting in. The dining room (Breakfast) looks like a palace, very well decorated. The breakfast was very good as well. The room was larger than one we had in Rome, comfortable bed, good size bathroom, and quiet. Plus free Wi-Fi.

The staff was fantastic; they couldn't do enough for us. They printed tickets we ordered, carried our bags down, gave excellent restaurant recommendations, and cappuccino to order at breakfast. They show a 3 star rating but I believe they deserve better. If you book direct with them you receive a 5% discount off the rack price. They offered to store our bags if we wanted to take a few days and go somewhere else. We are definitely going back there.

Room Tip: The inside room windows open to a light well so no view, but are quiet. The outside rooms have somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for your review.

We are happy to know that you had a nice stay with us.

Of course you get a 5% discount if you book directly with our official webpage (hoteldeimacchiaioli).
The discount is forever !!

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    250
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
178
456
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed with my family by this hotel for a weekend. Very clean room, staff very helpul and friendly. I apreciated very much the breakfast, served in a wonderful room. The breakfast is various and plentiful .Free wi-fi...so, the best hotel we stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guests,


our Staff would like “friendly” welcome you again in our hotel!!!

Thank you so much for your rewiew and nice words!

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had an amazing experience at this hotel- I only wish we could have stayed longer! It's incredibly close to everything- the duomo, the Galleria, an ATM, the train station, and a bike/segway/scooter rental. The rooms were spacious, well-maintained, the staff was extremely helpful, they have internet access for 5 euro per hour in the plush lounge, a small bar to order drinks open until midnight, and the breakfast was great- meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, cereals, coffee, juices, etc. Thank you SO much! There is a great restaurant nearby that brews their own beer and has great food (Mostodolce on via Nazionale- a brewery/eatery with a brick stone oven) and the Walkabout Florence Tours are great. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaShellChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for having spent your time reviewing our hotel!

Your review is better than an advertise!
We would like to precise that we provide a free WI FI in every room an we charge only the use of the computer in the lobby.

Thank you again for your nice words and we are looking forward to seeing you for a longer stay.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in the Family Suite which was a perfect accommodation for our family of four. We found the rooms to be very clean and quiet. The hotel location is centrally located, just down the street from the Duomo and within walking distance of the train station (about six blocks). The service at this hotel was outstanding! Of all the places we stayed in Italy, the staff at this hotel was the best. Francesca greeted us at the front desk upon arrival and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Paolo recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner and called the owner to let him know we were coming. The hotel is beautiful with frescoes in the common rooms. Continental breakfast was good. We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: For a family or group of four, the Family Suite is perfect. It is located off of the main lobby, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guests,

reading your review we realize that you understood and apreciated our way of working and this make us so proud!

Thank you and see you soon!

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and I can not say enough about Paulo and Francisca. They arranged for tickets at the uffizi as well as the galleria at our requested times. They also made great recommendations on where to eat as well.

The room was absolutely clean, and the hotel itself felt like a palace. Breakfast and wifi were exceptional. The room where breakfast was held was absolutely beautiful.

Upon checking out, we informed them of our plans of going to Cinca Terra. We were informed it was flooded and they immediately made arrangements for us to stay in the same room.

I would definitely stay here again, location was great

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD_hardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your nice words !!

we hope to see you again and we will organize for you a tour to "Cinque Terre" :)

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The hotel rooms are very clean and spacious, and the staff is more than friendly. The pro-actively ask you if they can do anything for you: from arranging tickets to museums to reserving a spot in a restaurant. The only improvement they can make is the assortment for the breakfast: more variety and better quality would make me rate this hotel a 10/10, but it still is worth a 9/10.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJvanHerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear guest,

thank you , our staff is getting prouder and prouder about the reviews !

We have already made some improvement in our breakfast :):)

Hope to see you soon.

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed 4 nights in room 107 beginning 22 November 2011. Room was quiet, clean, with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast is very adequate. Experienced a minor problem with the toilet which was fixed upon request.

The hotel reception people were exceptional and really made the difference for us.

There is a video camera focused on the entrance so don't worry about carrying luggage up the steps. The reception staff see you coming and meet you at the bottom of the stairs to carry your luggage up for you.

Two days prior to leaving we discovered there would be a train strike on the Sunday we needed to meet a cruise ship in Civitavecchia. Once again the reception staff could not have been more helpful. Continually checking on "guarantee trains" for us to be sure we made our train connections and met the ship on time. They were a "life saver" for someone who did not know the Italian train system when there are strikes. BTW, their restaurant recommendations were very good too.

One final point important to travelers. There is free Wifi with very good coverage of the property. They DO NOT block Skype as some hotels do, so we were able to phone home to the U.S.A.

Room Tip: Our room faced an inside courtyard. We heard no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
thank you very much for your review.
We like to hear that our guests have had a nice stay with us.

If you have the choice to came back to Florence don't forget that you have now new friends in town.

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing