We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic hotel in historic building with elegance and friendly feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #58 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel entrance is through a grand carriage type entrance just off the street. We were greeted warmly with help with our luggage. Especially considerate as there are several sets of steps up to the entrance. There isn't a lift as it is a historic building which has been carefully renovated to preserve the original features.

All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and following our very positive experience,we agree with their high rating. When choosing the hotel, I had been concerned about how near we would be to restaurants. After a full day exploring, we were keen to find places to eat close by to the hotel. We were very pleased with Paolo's recommendations all superb within five minutes walk as well as plenty of others we could have chosen.

Location is great. Via Cavour is a main street, near to the Duomo, yet we didn't feel troubled by noise or traffic.

Our room was spotlessly clean with good quality bed linen and a gleaming bathroom and powerful shower. Our window looked out over a pretty garden with lemon trees.

We would definitely stay here again on another visit to Florence and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear guest,

we have been so happy to read your words, this is the best tip for our work. Thank you !

We really hope to welcome you back :)

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

P.S.: Now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

I just returned yesterday from a two night stay in Florence and this hotel was perfect for a female travelling alone. The location being very important for me was excellent and the hotel staff were always available to help me with maps and restaurants etc.
The rooms are very clean and everything works which is important!
Breakfast included offers more choices than I have been offered in many European small hotels and had to pay 15 euros for.
An all round good choice for short stays for couple or singles go for all ages.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junevolante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

MERCI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you so much for your review.

Yes, we now,our breakfast is the "leading actor" of the holidays of many of our guests :):)
We are proud of it !

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

P.S.: Now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We travelled to Florence last week - and chose the Hotel dei Macchiaioli based on TripAdvisor. It works. Location is excellent - in between Ufizzi and Academia and steps from the Duomo. Staff is incredibly helpful in planning your trip - they didn't steer us wrong once - and they helped us navigate buses, restaurants and fitting all the sights of Florence into two days. We had the family room - which really is great if you are travelling with kids - they get their own seperate bedroom and bathroom. The hotel itself is ornate - and interesting - free breakfast and wi-fi is also good. Location, great staff, and reasonable price - what more do you want.

Room Tip: The family room is excellent! Great for travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StamfordSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well, we have no doubt that you liked your stay :)

Hope to see you soon.

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

P.S.: Now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good service. Paolo, who welcome us, was very healpful. Good advices, service, etc. Bathroon is large but shower area is smaller than it should be. Great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trivelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear friends !!

Thank you for the time you spend to write us a review :)

We hope to see you again.

Now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations on several fronts. The staff was personable, helpful and beyond friendly and my single room was immaculate, modern and comfortable. Add to this a stellar location just two and a half blocks from the Baptistery and Duomo in one direction and two blocks from the Academia in the other.
This small (15 rooms) hotel is in a former second floor palazzo and the public areas are beautiful and spacious. Much of the original architecture has been preserved, including the frescoed ceiling in the breakfast room, while the guest rooms are sleek and modern.

Room Tip: Travelling solo I usually expect to be tucked away in some corner with a tiny, basic room. The photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrktwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the nice words !

It was really nice to have you with us :)

Came back if you can and don't forget that now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Absolutely excellent staff, very very helpful. Awesome location. This is probably the best hotel I ever stayed in all my European trips. Very comfortable room and very large dining/common area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Wow, the best hotel of all your holiday !!

Thank you :)

We hope to see you again and now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very good hotel, located in a nice spot, with a very friendly staff. Breakfast was good, free wi-fi connection provided, and valet parking service available for 24€ per night. Definitively recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexandreGoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review !

We are happy that you have had a nice stay with us.

Now you are our guest and you have 5% discount on your next reservations if you book directly with us :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#70 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#59 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#86 of 410 in Florence
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing