We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #51 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bellisimo Hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Small botique hotel built inside an aristocrats home from the 16 century. Beautiful original floors and ceilings with original frescos in the breakfast room. Family run and they are extremely warm, helpful, and friendly. Great location with good sized bathrooms for Europe. Wifi and breakfast is included and the laundry service is very reasonable, 10 euro for 5 kilo. We LOVED staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review.

We hope to see you somewhen :)

Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    255
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
181
466
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a great little hotel, very close to the Duomo etc. for sightseeing. Couldn't believe the beautifully painted ceilings and great character which they have maintained whilst upgrading the rooms, they have somehow managed to maintain the integrity of the building. Lovely 10foot high windows and a small balcony. all rooms are quiet, the staff are very friendly and also cheerful. They are happy to advise and assist whenever they can. Rooms were very clean, bedding and towels were good, a well deserved Tripadvisor commendation as excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Friends,

we thank you so much for your review !

We are happy that you have had a nice stay with us .

By the way, the painted ceilings are from the 19th century :):)

Have a happy life.

Best

Paolo

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed in Florence only a couple of days so the location was very convenient for sites. It was a bit of a walk from the train station but mainly trying to get thru the crowds with your luggage. There are stairs, but they will help you with your luggage.
Triple room had a good space for us to walk around and for our luggage for 3 people Small bathroom and small, but good shower. Basic breakfast.
Staff was very nice and helpful - restaurant recommendation was not good - full of Japanese tourist and food and service not good :( But we found some good places on our own. Lots of good gelato places close by.
Got a good night sleep - good a/c in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMEWALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest !

thank you for your review :)

We are sorry that you have had not a good experience in one of the restaurants we suggested you . Of course we have normally no problem with that restaurant , this is the reason why we suggest it. Sorry !

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel in mid-May. We were only staying in Florence for 2 days, so we needed a hotel as close to the sites as possible so we would not lose any time commuting.
Boy, did we hit the jackpot with this hotel!

Sparkling clean, 2 blocks away from the Duomo, quiet, with very accommodating and helpful staff to boot. We communicated with the hotel via email prior to our arrival to confirm our reservation and they responded quickly and accurately. Although it is walking distance from the train station (10 minutes), we did not walk with our luggage. The streets and sidewalks are too narrow to safely navigate with a piece of luggage, even one on the smallish size like we did have.

Hotel: The location cannot be beaten! We walked everywhere. We found very good restaurants close by. The lounge was roomy and the furniture very comfortable.
Since they are on a second floor, we did have to haul our luggage up a flight of stairs, but we had read about this in Trip Advisor, so we were ready for it. I'm sure that the staff could helped us if we needed it, but we were OK.

Room: Can you say clean? Not a speck of dust anywhere or a trace of bed bugs. We did have a few mosquitoes in our room, but the minute we advised the person at the reception, they gave us a citronella pad that plugged in the wall and they were gone. We had ample room for our clothes and the safe was big enough for all our valuables. I loved the bathroom, simple, but well arranged. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars to the room is that I've been in fancier hotel rooms and this one was on the simple side, but very comfortable.

Breakfast: We were not really impressed, but it was sufficient for our needs and gave us a good meal to start the day. For a free breakfast, it was OK.

Staff: Every one we met there spoke English. They were SO helpful and welcoming!
For example, on the Sunday we were there, Northern Italy had a major earthquake. My husband found out about it and unfortunately one of the cities impacted was where we were supposed to connect by train the next day. I went to the front desk and asked the lady there about cancellation and delays. She spent a good 10 minutes finding all the information she could online and relayed what she found to us. We ended up walking to the train station and changing our ticket to an earlier departure. They helped us with taxis as soon as we asked. They gave us extra towels and pillows immediately. We could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
There are reviews that are difficult to answer to and your is one of that !

You write that : you hit the jackpot with this hotel.

All we can write you is :

THANK YOU

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a week in mid-may. The room we had was roomy, and the bathroom - small but clean and bright. We enjoyed the broad variety of breakfast items, especially the excellent bread selection and the different types of cereals and prunes. There was no decaf, so every morning the person in charge would make us a fresh decaf "americano" - nothing beats good Italian coffee. The hotel is located very close to all the attractions and we walked everywhere. The hotel also helped us choose day tours to Sienna, Pisa and the Chianty Country that were very good. We had some problems with WiFi which took a couple of days to resolve, but the hotel gave us free access (usually there is a charge) to their PC. All in all - excellent hotel and staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelogue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review !

It is very nice to know that you liked the way we work :)

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We've just got back from four nights at this Hotel. It really deserves its high TA ratings and reviews. As well as the perfect location I want to mention the wonderful, friendly service which began straight after I'd made the booking with emails from staff to arrange trips, help with museum tickets etc. So, when we arrived, it was like meeting friends!

The building is impressive and beautifully maintained with high ceilings, orginal artwork and lovely furnishings as well as air conditioning and great showers. Everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is good and served until a civilised 10am. I didn't make use of the Sky TV, hairdryer, fridge or safe but they are all available in every room.

All the staff are absolutely lovely. Paolo speaks fluent English and is a mine of information for visitor attractions, directions and suggestions for day trips (he's also a licensed City guide). We asked for a restaurant recommendation for authentic local food, not too expensive and the place Paolo suggested was so amazing that we went there two nights in a row (Enzo and Piero in the San Lorenzo area just 10 mins walk from the hotel). We would never have found such a wonderful restaurant on our own - not at all touristy and again with friendly, informative service and amazing local food.

This isn't a budget hotel but offers amazing value and comfort for the price in a perfect location.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front on the main Via Cavour are a little more noisy but this didn't disturb sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMAOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Wow ! you are soooo kind :)

THANK YOU

It has been a pleasure having you here.

Our staff is getting one of the best part of the hotel !!

We are waiting for you again !!

Friendly ragards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

we stayed 3 night in early June. Paolo was great from the beginning. He traded emails with me before our arrival to assist in planning some help to fit as much in our three days as possible. When we arrive he came down the stairs and carried our baggage up to the reception area. Always helpful. Rooms were clean and well furnished. Breakfast was good. Location is very good and within walking distance to all areas of interest. Neighborhood is safe and for a relatively new hotel they are doing fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundevilfanMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Firends,

thank you for your review !

As we wrote in a previous answer we always help with the luggage if we see that someone is coming:)

Once again thank you so much !!

Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,145 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing