We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and Very Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife ,son and I stayed here from 6/30/12-7/4/12. We were very satisfied with our stay.
First of all, it is a ten minute walk from the train station. We took a Taxi there which cost $10 Euro. We walked back when we left. If money is short, walk to the corner of Via Cavour and Via Guelfa and look down Via Cavour (Towards the Arno) for the WHITE "HOTEL" sign on the building facades (100 feet away) and your there:)
They are on the second floor and offer to take your bags up and have a wheel chair access lift. The staff, ALL of them were very friendly. Sometimes, people act nice....the staff here WERE nice. They were helpful with every inquiry we brought to them. A+++ for service. This becomes more important as a long trip gos on as we dealt with some pretty grumpy people here and there.
We were given our own wing with two rooms which was perfect. The rooms were nice and our bathroom was beautiful. The only quibble I have is the AC could have been a little better in room 114 A. Our son was in 114 B and his AC was rocking. We were there in the middle of the heatwave and I believe it got close to 100 one of the days. We found AC to be an afterthought in many places in Italy so at least we had some:)
The breakfast they put out was perfect. They had a selection of fresh meats, fresh fruits, milk, coffee, fresh juices and a GREAT selection of about 8 different cereals running the gamut of kids to health concious. It was one of the nicest we've seen in years.
They had a sitting room with free Wifi and a computer you could pay ($5 eu) to use.
The location was very good also. We were an easy five minute from the Duomo, ten to the Arno and two to the Academie(David).
Lastly, the price was good. We visited our friends hotel, which was nicer with a roof top terrace but was also $200 plus dollars more per night....oooof. For the price this hotel was a Steal!!!
I absolutely recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maciprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for the review .

We are sorry that the AC in your room was not strong enough for you.
We will do our best to let it never happen again .

It seams to us that the rest of your stay with us was very good and we are very happy for that :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    246
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
172
445
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012 as part of a short holiday in Italy, and were very impressed with the hotel. The friendly welcome was very much appreciated and continued throughout our stay. They bent over backwards to help us with taxis and whatever else we needed.

The location is fabulous. It is only a few minutes' walk from Il Duomo, and the rest of the centre of Florence - a perfect location from which to walk around the city. Although our room was a little small, we had been previously warned by e-mail because it was the last room available. And in fact, it was perfectly adequate for what we needed.

We availed ourselves of the hotel's city guide, Paolo, who e-mailed us separately soon after we had made the reservation. He was BRILLIANT! We loved his tour of Florence and learned so much about the history of this beautiful city. We would highly recommend his services to anyone visiting Florence (even if you are not staying at the hotel!).

The only downside is that the reception is up a flight of stairs, but of course, staff would help if needed.

If we're back in Florence at any time, we would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Friends,

I thank you so much for your great review !!

I am happy to read that you liked so much your stay in our Hotel and of course I am very happy to know that you liked the Walking Tour with me. Thank you.
I liked it too , you are very kind people and having the tour with you was great.

Thank you for the nice words about me :)

Hope to welcome you again !

Warm regards

Paolo

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Small botique hotel built inside an aristocrats home from the 16 century. Beautiful original floors and ceilings with original frescos in the breakfast room. Family run and they are extremely warm, helpful, and friendly. Great location with good sized bathrooms for Europe. Wifi and breakfast is included and the laundry service is very reasonable, 10 euro for 5 kilo. We LOVED staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review.

We hope to see you somewhen :)

Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a great little hotel, very close to the Duomo etc. for sightseeing. Couldn't believe the beautifully painted ceilings and great character which they have maintained whilst upgrading the rooms, they have somehow managed to maintain the integrity of the building. Lovely 10foot high windows and a small balcony. all rooms are quiet, the staff are very friendly and also cheerful. They are happy to advise and assist whenever they can. Rooms were very clean, bedding and towels were good, a well deserved Tripadvisor commendation as excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Friends,

we thank you so much for your review !

We are happy that you have had a nice stay with us .

By the way, the painted ceilings are from the 19th century :):)

Have a happy life.

Best

Paolo

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed in Florence only a couple of days so the location was very convenient for sites. It was a bit of a walk from the train station but mainly trying to get thru the crowds with your luggage. There are stairs, but they will help you with your luggage.
Triple room had a good space for us to walk around and for our luggage for 3 people Small bathroom and small, but good shower. Basic breakfast.
Staff was very nice and helpful - restaurant recommendation was not good - full of Japanese tourist and food and service not good :( But we found some good places on our own. Lots of good gelato places close by.
Got a good night sleep - good a/c in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMEWALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest !

thank you for your review :)

We are sorry that you have had not a good experience in one of the restaurants we suggested you . Of course we have normally no problem with that restaurant , this is the reason why we suggest it. Sorry !

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel in mid-May. We were only staying in Florence for 2 days, so we needed a hotel as close to the sites as possible so we would not lose any time commuting.
Boy, did we hit the jackpot with this hotel!

Sparkling clean, 2 blocks away from the Duomo, quiet, with very accommodating and helpful staff to boot. We communicated with the hotel via email prior to our arrival to confirm our reservation and they responded quickly and accurately. Although it is walking distance from the train station (10 minutes), we did not walk with our luggage. The streets and sidewalks are too narrow to safely navigate with a piece of luggage, even one on the smallish size like we did have.

Hotel: The location cannot be beaten! We walked everywhere. We found very good restaurants close by. The lounge was roomy and the furniture very comfortable.
Since they are on a second floor, we did have to haul our luggage up a flight of stairs, but we had read about this in Trip Advisor, so we were ready for it. I'm sure that the staff could helped us if we needed it, but we were OK.

Room: Can you say clean? Not a speck of dust anywhere or a trace of bed bugs. We did have a few mosquitoes in our room, but the minute we advised the person at the reception, they gave us a citronella pad that plugged in the wall and they were gone. We had ample room for our clothes and the safe was big enough for all our valuables. I loved the bathroom, simple, but well arranged. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars to the room is that I've been in fancier hotel rooms and this one was on the simple side, but very comfortable.

Breakfast: We were not really impressed, but it was sufficient for our needs and gave us a good meal to start the day. For a free breakfast, it was OK.

Staff: Every one we met there spoke English. They were SO helpful and welcoming!
For example, on the Sunday we were there, Northern Italy had a major earthquake. My husband found out about it and unfortunately one of the cities impacted was where we were supposed to connect by train the next day. I went to the front desk and asked the lady there about cancellation and delays. She spent a good 10 minutes finding all the information she could online and relayed what she found to us. We ended up walking to the train station and changing our ticket to an earlier departure. They helped us with taxis as soon as we asked. They gave us extra towels and pillows immediately. We could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
There are reviews that are difficult to answer to and your is one of that !

You write that : you hit the jackpot with this hotel.

All we can write you is :

THANK YOU

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a week in mid-may. The room we had was roomy, and the bathroom - small but clean and bright. We enjoyed the broad variety of breakfast items, especially the excellent bread selection and the different types of cereals and prunes. There was no decaf, so every morning the person in charge would make us a fresh decaf "americano" - nothing beats good Italian coffee. The hotel is located very close to all the attractions and we walked everywhere. The hotel also helped us choose day tours to Sienna, Pisa and the Chianty Country that were very good. We had some problems with WiFi which took a couple of days to resolve, but the hotel gave us free access (usually there is a charge) to their PC. All in all - excellent hotel and staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelogue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review !

It is very nice to know that you liked the way we work :)

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing