We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very beautiful and close to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very beautiful and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

beautiful marble steps to get to second floor where hotel is. No elevator but a chair lift is available.
very nice and helpful staff and wonderful included breakfast. dining room ceiling paintings are beautiful and our rooms over looked the street. noise was not a problem.

Room Tip: we stayed in the family suite, 2 rooms and 2 baths. baths are clean and new but a little cramped. co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raleigh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    246
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
172
445
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Positive: Overall the hotel is nice, clean and comfortable with very nice staff. However I have an issue with the additional services. Bottom line is make sure you know what you are getting and reconfirm a day before as I did not and I was extremely dissatisfied with my tour, I felt I wasted my money.

Background:
When I booked at Hotel Dei Macchiaioli I received an email regarding "Special October Rates" for hotel guests for walking and driving tours. I confirmed a trip with Marco for a tour of Tuscany via email. He said he was flexible and we agreed through email on 11:30 to 5:00 (5.5 hours) trip to winery/lunch, winery visit and visit to San Gimignano.

A couple of reasons for my dissatisfaction:
1. We believe Marco forgot as he did not show up with our confirmed time at 11:30. Upon checking in I told reception we had a tour the next day, they said if you confirmed with Marco he should know. Starting at 11:30, the hotel had to call him a couple of times while they kept saying 10 more minutes. About 20 minutes into it we were told he had trouble with his car. 45 minutes waiting in the hotel another driver shows up. If we had trouble with his car he should have called the hotel to tell us, instead we had to call him asking where he was. His actions pointed to he forgot that he had a reservation.

2. The new driver tells us we have 4 hours exactly, which I told him we confirmed more -- he also said he was not sure if we could go to any wineries as we did not have reservations - he would have to call. So, what is Marco's service/itinerary that I confirmed? We did go to one winery with lunch (which was nice) and a very short visit to a town, we had time to walk quickly through it.

3. While driving, the driver said he called his boss and we have 4 hours - I asked him who he worked for and he would not tell me. If there is nothing wrong with this - why not say.

For the reasons above I feel I did not receive the service I asked for and the "additional services" were not as advertised. If I were to do it over, I would probably go with a tour suggested by Rick Steves, Tours by Roberto, or one of the very less expensive tours listed in the brochures in the hotel lobby. Granted with these tours you are with a group of eight people in a mini-van verses a private tour but the intineraries are set and explained. I think Marco is probably better for when you know where you want to go exactly and you need to spell it out for Marco and come with a printed copy and double-triple confirm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Six of us had three rooms at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli for four wonderful days in Oct 2013. The staff was great, the service was wonderful and best of all was Paulo, our guide for the Accademia and Uffizi. His knowledge of all the works of art in both of those museums was incredible! He works at the hotel in addition to being a private tour guide; you can book him through the hotel-be sure to reserve your tickets through him in advance!

Room Tip: We had three rooms an all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smyrna_wer_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a week at Hotel die Macchiaioli in September 2013 and the warm hospitality we experienced there was one of the highlights of our trip to Florence. Our corner room at the back of the building was lovely - spacious, light, quiet and very comfortable. The location is ideal - a 5 minute walk north of the Duomo, very easy walking distance to all attractions, but a bit away from the bustle surrounding the major tourist sights. It was easy to go sightseeing in the morning, stop back at the hotel for an afternoon break and head out again for more sightseeing. We enjoyed the breakfasts. What really makes this hotel stand out, is the staff. They were courteous, friendly and very helpful. They provided excellent recommendations on restaurants and assisted with questions about train travel. Paolo shared some fascinating details of the history of the Uffizi and surrounding area and told us about the Egyptian chariot at the Archaeology Museum (a sight we would have missed otherwise). We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is around the corner from the Academia and a very short walk to the Duomo. Once we go our bearings in Florence, we were grateful for the location. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet and the staff was great. We got a great recommendation for a wonderful restaurant just around the corner. I highly recommend this hotel for Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MElkinsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This bijou hotel is perfectly situated with The Duomo a very short walk away.
Paulo, at reception, is charming and couldn't have been more helpful. We wish we had taken up his offer to act as tour guide and all agreed we would have got more out of our stay in Florence if we had. We hadn't realised that it would have been him personally accompanying us until we bumped into him escorting other guests.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
providence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a terrific +$200 hotel very conveniently located in Florence - near all the main sites but on a quiet stretch of Cavour. The room was very clean and comfortable, very nice public spaces in the hotel, terrific breakfast, and delightful and helpful staff - notably, Allaina at the front desk. Would recommend the hotel to all visitors, especially those who like a hotel that has a bit of charm and character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing