We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #57 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was an absolutely wonderful hotel that my husband and I stayed at! The location was perfect. It is very close to a lot of the big attractions, but off the main streets and away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds of tourists. The breakfast was delicious each morning and the staff at the front desk was always very nice and helpful. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdavis5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore generale at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you !!!!!!!!!!

It was nice having you here.

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved this little palazzo hotel in central florence. Just ten minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella train station (where all the airport buses arrive), and five minutes from the Duomo, you are within easy walking distance of the entire old city.

The hotel is the first floor, and the rooms must have very thick walls and good windows as it was always peaceful. Everything is spotlessly clean, and the room is given a decent refresh every day.

Arianna and Paolo were both lovely, making us feel totally at home but without fussing around us too much. Arianna is enthusiastic about ice cream and gave us one or two fantastic tips for where to buy the very best scoops.

Breakfast is self service but a proper coffee is provided if you ask. Good range of cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, bread and pastries.

Overall this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hungry_lurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review !!

We hope to welcome you back here :)

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a lovely, light and airy room, nicely decorated. The communal areas in the hotel are also very attractive – there is a comfortable sitting room with deep sofas, nice reception area and lovely dining room with ceiling frescos. We enjoyed a nice buffet breakfast each morning with a good variety of cereals, croissants, etc. It took us around 15 mins to walk from the train platform to the hotel. Once there it is very well located within a few mins walk of the Duomo, the Accademia, Uffizi and other main attractions. The hotel is all on the first floor. There is no lift from street level but the receptionist kindly carried my case up the lovely marble stairs for me and there is a chair lift for guests who need it. The staff are all very helpful, booked our tickets into the galleries by phone and were generally very friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you ....

We have no other words :)

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Room and bathroom are large and clean. Bed is very firm which was an issue for my wife. Has air conditioning but not an elevator. It is up a rather long flight of stairs if mobility is an issue. Hotel is located in the heart of the tourist area,within a mile or less of major attractions. Good breakfast in an impressive dining room. Confusing TV system with only 2 or 3 stations in English. Bought the Firenze pass to avoid lines. Enjoyed the Academia, Uffizi, Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, Duomo and Baptistry, Pallazzo Vecchio, Gallileo Museum, Medici Musuem and Chapel, and night scene on the Ponte Vecchio bridge. Had many good meals including very inexpensive lunches at Trattoria Casalinga, Ristorante Leonardo and Mercato Centrale. Enjoyed the profiteroles while people watching at Rivoire near Palazzo Vecchio. Had a free buffet with a bottle of wine at the Golden View Open Bar across the Arno River.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore generale at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We thank you for sharing your experience !

We hope to welcome you soon again :)

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Location , room, clean, nice breakfast . Staff very helpfull. Paolo done a good job! The hotel is near the principals atractions of florence and near the train station SMN , so you can walk . Tje room is very silence at night and early morning. In may the weather is verygood in florence. I suggest the tour to san giminiano, siena, and pisa in pne day (walkabouttours.com)

1  Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
macchia_fi, Direttore generale at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you Fernando !!

It was nice to have you here and we hope to see you again :)

Paolo says THANK YOU :)

Have a happy life .

Ciao

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The room and bathroom was spacious despite decor being on the spartan side. As mentioned by other reviewers, the staff are warm and attentive - we were greeted by Paolo on arrival and he helped with our heavy luggage up the long flights of stairs to reception.

Good: The location of the hotel is such that you are not immediately swamped by tourists upon exiting the hotel; yet both the Duomo and Accademia/Statue of David are within 5-10min walking distance. The street that the hotel is located on a road that pretty much becomes the main artery to the important attractions.

Bad: If I was to knit-pick, I would have preferred more variety to the breakfast. Public transport is somewhat hard to get to for those with heavy luggage.

Would we recommend this hotel? Definitely yes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An0nym0us0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore generale at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

We wish you all the best :)

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff is very friendly and one member, Paolo, is a certified tour guide. He took us on a 3 hour walking tour of Florence. It was well worth the time and money, he is very knowledgeable and goes at your pace. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the sights, but still quiet in the evening. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. Would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Mention Rick Steves and you can get a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IndyLaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review !

Thank you for let us know that you have had a nice stay with us.

We are also happy that you mentioned the Walking Tour you have had with Paolo, we apprechiate it , thank you .

We wish you all the best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#68 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,362 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#47 of 410 in Florence
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#60 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#88 of 410 in Florence
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing