We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #43 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in total, first for two nights and then one night after an overnight trip to Volterra. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were extremely helpful, especially when we had lost our luggage and needed to contact the airport throughout the day to track the bag. The breakfast, though simple, was very acceptable and the coffee from the bar (not from the machine) helped give us a good start to our day. The rooms were quiet and the bathrooms were clean and modern, though the shower was small for the average adult. The only problem that was not within the hotel's control was the presence of mosquitos in our first room--we spent an evening killing them as we didn't want to be eaten alive while we slept. The location was definitely a plus, as it was very close to the Accademia and the Duomo. Would definitely return in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Classybabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you !!

We are sorry for the mosquitos :(

Hope to see you again :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    249
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
453
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
267 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I selected this hotel based on the positive reviews, and we stayed here for 6 nights in June. For the most part we agree with the reviews, though we did have a few problems.

The biggest plus for this hotel is its great location, which is easy walking distance to many tourist sights and good restaurants. It's close to the train station but we decided to take a cab since we did not want to walk with luggage; the taxi cost 8 euros.

Although other reviewers said that someone came down to help carry their luggage up the stairs, that did not happen in our case--maybe we should have called to let them know we were on the way. In any case, it is 4 short flights of stairs to the lobby, which was difficult with luggage and when we came back from long, tiring days of sightseeing (even without luggage). We are in our 60s and I have knee problems, but the stairs would not be a problem for those who are younger and/or more physically fit.

The hotel is in a former palazzo and has nice public rooms, especially the breakfast room. The public rooms (sitting areas) do not seem to be air conditioned, but this was not an issue until the last couple of days of our stay. It wasn't a big deal because we didn't have much need to sit in those rooms, and I didn't see other people sitting in them either (other than at breakfast, when it was comfortable).

Our room was not fancy and the decor showed signs of age, but it was spacious and comfortable. We had a king bed (2 twins pushed together), and as another reviewer noted the pillows were flat, which made it difficult to get comfortable the first night. The next day we asked for extra pillows, and after that we slept well (except for the last couple of nights, when a family group of 11 people arrived and made a lot of noise coming and going late at night and very early in the morning--but that is not the fault of the hotel). The room faced a courtyard, which was quiet at night but sometimes had what sounded like construction noise in the daytime. The noise didn't start until after we got up, so it was not a problem. However, one problem that may have been related to the courtyard was a bad smell that we noticed at times when walking in the corridor to our room. We mostly noticed it when the windows to the courtyard were open, and also in our room if we opened the bathroom window that faced the courtyard. If we kept the windows closed and ran the air conditioner in the room, we did not notice the smell. Since it was warm outside, we didn't mind keeping the air conditioner running, and it worked well for most of our stay (although the last couple of days were hot outside and the a.c. did not seem to be as strong).

The room had a large closet with hangers, but there was not much drawer space. It's enough for a short stay but not for a longer stay like ours, but you can keep your clothes in your suitcase on the luggage rack. There was a mini-fridge in the room with items for sale--we didn't take anything but stored our water bottles there.

The bathroom was large but we did have a few problems with it. The biggest problem was the shower, which had unpredictable and frequent temperature changes--no matter where the handle was set, it would suddenly get extremely hot and you could get scalded if you didn't move out of the way quickly. But the shower was quite narrow so it was hard to move out of the way. Another problem with the shower was that the rack for soap and shampoo was too high for me; however, I am very short (under 5 feet) so this would not be a problem for taller people, although I think they should set the rack lower to accommodate various heights. (The toilet was also uncomfortably high for me.) A final problem with the shower is that it sometimes leaked onto the floor, creating a puddle on the bathroom and bedroom floor that I almost slipped on the first time it happened. It first happened in the evening and we did not report it then because we were tired and did not want to have to repack and change rooms; we should have reported it the next day but forgot.
The bathroom sink is large but the surfaces slope down so it is hard to set your toiletries on it--instead we put most things on a small stool that was between the shower and the sink. If you plan to do handwash during your stay, bring something to cover the drain--the drain does have a stopper but it does not seal tightly. They do have a laundry service (sent out), which was 10 euros for a small bag (3 kilos). I felt the cost was worth it to avoid losing sightseeing time, and the service seemed to do a good job although a couple of items were not completely dry.

The buffet breakfast has a lot of choices, including juices, hot drinks (a nice assortment of teas), breads, croissants and other pastries, cereals, meats and cheeses, and fresh fruit.

All of the staff is very accommodating to your needs and requests, and Paolo was particularly helpful (for example, explaining how to get tickets for the bus to Fiesole and where to get the bus).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you for the review !!

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a great hotel! It is a short walk from Palazzo Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. The staff was very cheerful and able to call us a taxi and offer restaurant recommendations. We felt very safe when entering and leaving the building, as well as inside. The breakfast did have a good selection and was tasty. The rooms had plenty of space and were air conditioned. It is up 3 small flights of stairs, so if you come with large bags (as we did), just be prepared. There are not a ton of rooms in the hotel so book early!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review !

Yes, 3 small flights of stairs...32 steps and yes, book early is a very good idea :)

Best regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Delightful property and awesome staff! Having walked from the train station (only 10 mins. walk if you know where you are going…20 if you don't) we stopped in the small doorway and peered up a flight a stairs with 3 rather heavy bags. Before we could even drag our bags in the hallway, a very pleasant gentleman appears and promptly gathers our 2 largest bags and welcomes us! He was heavenly! Helpful, always smiling and great advise on restaurants, etc. We had a corner room with lots of light and a large bathroom. Our only complaint was that because of our distance from the lobby, our WI-FI was difficult and slow. Would stay there again and believe the value is awesome. My daughter (19 yrs. old) was finishing her 2nd semester abroad and we spent 3 weeks traveling around Italy and France and England. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Correct !! There are only 32 steps to check -in :):) and we will help you if we see you arriving.
The heavenly gentleman who helped you says thank you !!! :)

Thank you very much for your review .

Friendly regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 2 nights alone at this hotel and felt extremely well-cared for and safe. The staff was very accommodating, pleasant and knowledgeable. The room was clean and air conditioned, the bathroom was excellent, and the breakfast offered something for everyone...all under a beautifully painted ceiling. The location is within a few minutes walk to the Duomo and many other major sites. Although my stay was short, it allowed me to do all that I wanted to do and then some! I will definitely book this hotel for future visits. Thank you so much Hotel dei Macchiaioli!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore generale at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review !!

We hope to welcome you again :)

Best regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We traveled to Italy with the entire family, so that's three couples. I needed three rooms for two days at a reasonable price, well situated. This hotel is it. Located just two city blocks from the Duomo, the hotel provided three clean air conditioned rooms at a very good price. Breakfast is included and was well presented each morning. Not a luxury hotel, but everyone in my party was extremely satisfied. Staff was also uniformally helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We thank you so much for your review !!

It is very important for us to know that you liked your stay with us.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This charming hotel was excellent for our first trip to Florence. The staff was extremely accommodating, there were no language barriers, and the room was very comfortable. The building is beautiful; the dining area has panels on the ceiling of original works of art. Breakfast was delicious, and the view made it especially nice. Paolo was exceptional. He gave us a walking tour of the city and was extremely knowledgeable. His passion for the city, its architecture and history made it come alive for us. He also booked us tickets to the Accademia and Uffizi Galleries, which helped substantially to avoid wait lines. We purchased purses from the Leather School, which was fascinating. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckerptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you !!

We are happy to know that you have had a nice stay with us.

Paolo again :) wow , he and his tours are becoming very popular :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing