We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #49 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, MD, USA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Centrally located and clean”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had booked this place for 2 nights based on a Trip advisor research. The hotel is clean, quiet with good Wi-Fi reception and close to Duomo; plus the staff was very friendly and the mattress is solid giving you a good nights sleep. There are a few negatives as well: no elevator for luggage, no coffee machine in room, (cheap looking) tiled floor in bed room, very little shelf space in bath room to keep toilet bag etc., and a very uninspiring breakfast that had ample variety but lacked freshness. The coffee machine in breakfast room dispensed luke warm coffee. Overall, for the money charged I thought this was not as good value compared to my stays at Venice and Rome, and so my rating would be closer to a 3.5 (not 4)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanD1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We thank you for the suggestions.
We apprechiated it very much.

We can not change the fact that we don't have an elevator. In an historical building (like our building) is not easy to get an authorisation to put a lift.

We will think about offering a better braakfast and we will do it ...for sure !! Thank you for let us know.

We hope to be albe to show you in the future that a stay at the Macchiaioli is absolutelu Worth for the money :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    255
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
182
467
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We arrived early afternoon to the busy city of Florence. This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the railway station through the crowded streets and bustling pavements.
It is situated in a great location for easy access to all the sites, just a short walk to MichaelAngelos David, the duomo, and ponte vecchio!
The hotel is situated on the 2nd floor with a shared access with other businesses.
The reception gentleman was very polite friendly and helpful offering help with our luggage, a street map and recommendations of sites to visit.
The room itself was spacious and clean, modern but a bit bland, and had a disabled bathroom, with no balcony.
Breakfast in the morning was a self service affair with cake, pastries, cheese, ham juices and a coffee machine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylou36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you !

The "reception gentleman" says thank you too :)

Kind regards


Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved our time at the Hotel die Macchiaioli! Fabulous location, strong AC (we travelled in July, so this was essential) and a spacious and beautiful room. The breakfast is good and the Wifi was the strongest we experienced in Italy. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLovesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you !!

Wow, the stronger WiFi you found in Italy :)
Our WiFi is brand new !!

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

It was clean and in a good location. Some of the staff however on the reception seemed a bit rude and uninterested in they're work. Breakfast was average for the amount you pay for the hotel. No cooked breakfast or fresh fruit except apples, quite a lot of packets. The coffee etc was self service from a machine. Overall although a good location and nice building we felt they knew this and so minimal effort was given to the actual service . However you are paying for a fantastic location and it does have everything you need but not the wow factor.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Billemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are sorry that we weren't able to let you feel the " WOW factor" and we are also sorry that you have had the impression that our effort is minimal just because our hotel is in a great location.
We don't know what went wrong during your stay but we really hope to welcome you again to give us the possibility to repair what was wrong :)
We do always our best to let our guests feel the WOW factor :) .)

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel 3 hours before booking in as we decided to visit Florence after Rada and this was the best decision we could have made, just from the trip advisor comments. Minutes to the Florence Domo and all the other attractions so it is in a great location. Staff were great and the rooms were modern and spacious. We were moved to another room after the first night and scored one that was larger and with a balcony (okay over looking an inside court yard). The paintings on the ceilings were great to admire over breakfast, which was plentiful. No complaints at all and deserves to be ranked higher. Would stay here again if we ever return to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bricari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
WOW , thank you

Thank you for sharing your experience :)

Wish you all the best .

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in total, first for two nights and then one night after an overnight trip to Volterra. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were extremely helpful, especially when we had lost our luggage and needed to contact the airport throughout the day to track the bag. The breakfast, though simple, was very acceptable and the coffee from the bar (not from the machine) helped give us a good start to our day. The rooms were quiet and the bathrooms were clean and modern, though the shower was small for the average adult. The only problem that was not within the hotel's control was the presence of mosquitos in our first room--we spent an evening killing them as we didn't want to be eaten alive while we slept. The location was definitely a plus, as it was very close to the Accademia and the Duomo. Would definitely return in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Classybabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Proprietario at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you !!

We are sorry for the mosquitos :(

Hope to see you again :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I selected this hotel based on the positive reviews, and we stayed here for 6 nights in June. For the most part we agree with the reviews, though we did have a few problems.

The biggest plus for this hotel is its great location, which is easy walking distance to many tourist sights and good restaurants. It's close to the train station but we decided to take a cab since we did not want to walk with luggage; the taxi cost 8 euros.

Although other reviewers said that someone came down to help carry their luggage up the stairs, that did not happen in our case--maybe we should have called to let them know we were on the way. In any case, it is 4 short flights of stairs to the lobby, which was difficult with luggage and when we came back from long, tiring days of sightseeing (even without luggage). We are in our 60s and I have knee problems, but the stairs would not be a problem for those who are younger and/or more physically fit.

The hotel is in a former palazzo and has nice public rooms, especially the breakfast room. The public rooms (sitting areas) do not seem to be air conditioned, but this was not an issue until the last couple of days of our stay. It wasn't a big deal because we didn't have much need to sit in those rooms, and I didn't see other people sitting in them either (other than at breakfast, when it was comfortable).

Our room was not fancy and the decor showed signs of age, but it was spacious and comfortable. We had a king bed (2 twins pushed together), and as another reviewer noted the pillows were flat, which made it difficult to get comfortable the first night. The next day we asked for extra pillows, and after that we slept well (except for the last couple of nights, when a family group of 11 people arrived and made a lot of noise coming and going late at night and very early in the morning--but that is not the fault of the hotel). The room faced a courtyard, which was quiet at night but sometimes had what sounded like construction noise in the daytime. The noise didn't start until after we got up, so it was not a problem. However, one problem that may have been related to the courtyard was a bad smell that we noticed at times when walking in the corridor to our room. We mostly noticed it when the windows to the courtyard were open, and also in our room if we opened the bathroom window that faced the courtyard. If we kept the windows closed and ran the air conditioner in the room, we did not notice the smell. Since it was warm outside, we didn't mind keeping the air conditioner running, and it worked well for most of our stay (although the last couple of days were hot outside and the a.c. did not seem to be as strong).

The room had a large closet with hangers, but there was not much drawer space. It's enough for a short stay but not for a longer stay like ours, but you can keep your clothes in your suitcase on the luggage rack. There was a mini-fridge in the room with items for sale--we didn't take anything but stored our water bottles there.

The bathroom was large but we did have a few problems with it. The biggest problem was the shower, which had unpredictable and frequent temperature changes--no matter where the handle was set, it would suddenly get extremely hot and you could get scalded if you didn't move out of the way quickly. But the shower was quite narrow so it was hard to move out of the way. Another problem with the shower was that the rack for soap and shampoo was too high for me; however, I am very short (under 5 feet) so this would not be a problem for taller people, although I think they should set the rack lower to accommodate various heights. (The toilet was also uncomfortably high for me.) A final problem with the shower is that it sometimes leaked onto the floor, creating a puddle on the bathroom and bedroom floor that I almost slipped on the first time it happened. It first happened in the evening and we did not report it then because we were tired and did not want to have to repack and change rooms; we should have reported it the next day but forgot.
The bathroom sink is large but the surfaces slope down so it is hard to set your toiletries on it--instead we put most things on a small stool that was between the shower and the sink. If you plan to do handwash during your stay, bring something to cover the drain--the drain does have a stopper but it does not seal tightly. They do have a laundry service (sent out), which was 10 euros for a small bag (3 kilos). I felt the cost was worth it to avoid losing sightseeing time, and the service seemed to do a good job although a couple of items were not completely dry.

The buffet breakfast has a lot of choices, including juices, hot drinks (a nice assortment of teas), breads, croissants and other pastries, cereals, meats and cheeses, and fresh fruit.

All of the staff is very accommodating to your needs and requests, and Paolo was particularly helpful (for example, explaining how to get tickets for the bus to Fiesole and where to get the bus).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you for the review !!

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,288 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
534 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 411 in Florence
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#74 of 411 in Florence
1,145 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing