We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria dall Oste

Trattoria dall Oste
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Trattoria dall Oste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$65
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Italian, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: An Osteria should not be missed to let people appreciate Tuscan cooking, specialty REAL FLORENTINE STEAK. 'Trattoria dall oste is located just near the Dominican Church of Santa Maria Novella and the Central Railway Station. When at the Trattoria , customers are surrounded by a modern atmosphere matching with old pieces of furniture, which convey a sense of comfort, peace and hospitality.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Mouth watering steaks and fish.We ate there twice during our 4 day visit and both times chose the table d'hote option which was 2 courses plus wine and water. good value for money and food superb. Service was friendly. On our 2nd visit the owner recognised us and we were given a free drink each. People were queing to come in by 8.30. Convenient location opposite train station and good atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,564
    712
    135
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
467 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Dining alone and searched high and low on trip advisor for a great steak for one person. Hard to find as most restaurants only serve larger steaks for two. Came here based on trip advisor recommendations and was not disappointed.

Has the 25 Euro meal which included mixed crostini starter, steak and potatoes, water and wine. Excellent value.

The crostini was excellent with some of the most flavorful tomatoes I have had in all of Italy. The steak was the best steak I have ever eaten, and I have had great steaks. The potatoes were average. House wine was good. Overall a great meal at a great price!

Helpful?
Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Good steak! Good value for money. Staffs are friendly for Italian standards. The only thing I didn't like about the place is that we were not allowed to stay a bit longer because there was a group waiting to be seated. The place is conveniently located just across the train station. S if you have an hour to spare before your departure, it would be good to come and eat at this place before you say good bye to Florence. Or if you want to have a good first impression of Florence, this would be a good place to start too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TAGT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We visited here on our last night in Florence (5/22) and were impressed. I was not sure of the place because of the location but was pleasantly surprised. We ordered the fish and steak and both were great. The pasta in boar sauce was magnificent. Service was attentive and friendly. Great food for great price. When we left there was a line to get in.

Helpful?
Thank TexasMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Place to have a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location : hard to find better for the traveller,just at the doorstep of railway station.
Place is unassuming,modest in decor,but always full of customers.In the evening it is not uncommon to see people bouncing off the door.
Service is apt mixture of experienced waiters and young trainees,organization - exemplary.Clean,well positioned tables (2 to 6 and more person),no fireworks,just what is required to serve a honest meal.
Lunch time the place is overflowing with people from adjacent offices,evening - see above.
Recommended : trippa alla Fiorentina ( for adventourous) and bistecca alla Fiorentina (but for two,single is not as good as double).
Wine list is modest,but adequate.
Bon appetit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boguslaw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria dall Oste also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria dall Oste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing