We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scam!!! Don't go here. ”

Gelaterie Sofia SRL
Ranked #216 of 217 Dessert in Florence
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scam!!! Don't go here. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

10 euro for a nice cream. Didn't think to ask because in the US you can usually expect businesses to be honest. Don't know what else to say except don't go here...

Helpful?
1 Thank skaterdav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    3
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SCAM - Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We asked for Price, they showed us the prices. Asked for the smallest cup, she filled up medium and gave to kids, who started eating. Then she asked for the higher price. We paid it as did not want to make a deal, but average Gilato for the most expensive price in Italy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mons1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“We were also scammed!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

When we asked the price for the gelato here we were shown a sign with the prices for small medium and large, we chose the medium cup and they charged for the extra extra large and then said they have more sizes than the 3.
Ripped off and this happened to 2 other couples while we were there, one even gave it back which they didn't want to take but when he told them to call the police they took it.
BIG TIME RIPOFF this Gelato!!!
I just happened to be cleaning up vacation papers and came across the receipt so decided to write my first and only review - imagine my surprise when I saw this list of people being scammed!!!

Hope they go out of business soon cause wow!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable got sucked in just like everyone else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Asked for the smallest size and got charged 8 euro. Just got used to paying maximum of 2 euro everywhere and didn't think about it. Did ask for the smallest cup size but goes to prove how easy it is for someone to rip you off. Never thought I'd need to check trip advisor before buying gelato. Lesson learnt.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A shop of scam artists who will rip you off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stay away form this place - conveniently located very close to Ponte Vecchio - because as you can see from the reviews, the shop keepers do their best to scam you.

We bought one lemon granita - and first of all, they immediately filled up the largest cup without asking. Oh well, we thought, not such a big deal, and it was hot after all, so we took it. Then they charged us 8 euros for it! We thought it was outrageous but since seeing other gelaterias charging 8 and 10 euros for their biggest serving, we didn't complain until we saw the price list (which is posted on the wall behind the counter with really really small print) that the "grande granita" should cost 5 euros, not 8! When we complained, they said "no no that is the price for the yoghurt, not granita!" I pointed out again and again that the price list clearly said 5 euros but they suddenly didn't understand English so I gave up...

Stay away from this place like the plague.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelaterie Sofia SRL also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelaterie Sofia SRL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing