We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment
Ranked #243 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Strozzi suite at Platinhome. Generally we were impressed with the suite. The location was fantastic.

The building itself is huge and the ground floor houses Cafe Paszowski and Cafe Gilli with an entrance between the 2. We were met at the door by a very friendly Russian girl - ?Elena who copied our passports and showed us up to the suite. It was 5 floors in the lift (past government offices) and then up a flight of stairs.

Within the suite there was a king size bed, living room, kitchenette and balcony. The main feature is of course the huge shower in the middle of the room. The shower comes with 2 showerheads with separate temperature controls, mood lighting and both steam and mist. It is definitely big enough for two although if you aren't feeling quite so friendly, it is possible to shield the bedroom and shower from the living room with a huge curtain.

The kitchenette had a sink, hob, microwave and fridge. There were a few bottles in the fridge (v. expensive - 6 euros for a small bottle of water when they only cost 1.50 euros in any bar) but nothing else and no coffee (despite the coffee machine).

We had to sign a tenancy agreement which seemed a bit odd and couldn't make the internet work. Cleaners came every morning, made the bed and replaced the towels. When we left we checked out about midday and were then allowed to leave our bags in the suite until we needed to go.

A few tips - bring some DVD's - there were no non-Italian television channels. Also, don't try going to either Cafe Gilli or Cafe Paszowski - over priced with very poor service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CityBreak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

Thanks to Platin Home Firenze will stay in my heart as the most romantic place on earth. The hotel is situated in Piazza della Repubblica which is the perfect place in Firenze for sightseen, and for shopping . The huge entrance door gives you a feeling to dive in into Da Vinci's time. The combination of the old city with great history and absolutely modern stylish, tasteful and perfectly and innovative designed suites with the best view in the Firenze is unique and amazing. The Duomo suite has also a big terrace, where you can drink wine, listen to the music and enjoy the view to the Dom at the same time. Beside the the highlight was the shower in the middle of the room with transparent walls, from you can see the Dom. Just unforgettable. The service is very friendly, personal. I forgot something in the room and they sent it back to me.
So if somebody asks me if one can buy happiness, I say YES! Platin Home!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papillona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

From the moment we arrived in the impressive, and eleganty appointed Republicca Square we were completely taken with both the vibrancy of city and the luxurious apartment that we thankfully opted to stay in. The Medicia exclsuive suite simply exceeded all expectations and provided us the perfect base from which to explore this special city. We had an amazing view of the Dome from our private balcony, which in the sun setting twighlight made it look almost mystical. And, what more could you ask for after a hard day trawling the winding streets and absorbing the Florentine history in the many museums than a HUGE, powerful and relaxing jacuzzi, which dominated the middle of our apartment. There is also a huge rainfall shower and even a selection of different lighting to suit your mood. The apartment was very spacious and provided significant wardrobe space and a comfortable kingsize bed. The kitchen area was useful and there was also a large dining table and chairs which we used daily to eat breakfast. The doors to enter the main building are about 30ft high and it makes you feel like you are staying in some sort of palace when you open them at night to get in! The location of the apartment couldn't be better, you can be anywhere in the centre of town within 10 minutes by foot.
The suites were managed by a very helpful lady called Maarja who was always available to ask questions, reccomend places to eat and drink and make reservations.
We enjoyed Florence very much and the Medicea suite really helped make the trip an unforgettably special and romantic experience. Finally, the icing on the cake came when I confirmed my booking and I was asked if there was any particular songs or artists that I would like to be playing when we entrered the room!! And, to my utter amazement, we were given a memory stik full of songs and artsists that we like which were indeed playing upon our arrival and which we kept to use throughout our stay. If you can stay here, do it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickbellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stellasalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canadalgonquin, Director of Sales at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Giovanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Direttore vendite at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Direttore vendite at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paoloxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Direttore vendite at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,881 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,984 reviews
Duomo
Domux Home Ricasoli
Domux Home Ricasoli
#134 of 659 in Florence
67 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly Platinhome)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £162 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hearth of the famous square in the hearth of Florence, Domux Home Repubblica offers four beautiful bright open-space with amazing view on the Dome of Brunelleschi and equipped with the latest comfort and amenities. A perfect setting for special occasion, anniversary, long stay, honeymoon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing