We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment
Ranked #267 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Platinhome in early October on our honeymoon and we absolutely loved the place! Don't be put off by the lack of reviews, this is probably one of the best places you will find in Florence. It is in perfect location - close to all major attractions like the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio and a stone's throw away from shopping, bars and restaurants.

We stayed in the Strozzi apartment which was stylishly modern, beautifully furnished and really spacious. One of the best features of the apartment was the luxurious shower in the middle of the room. There isn't a thing we could fault with the apartment and only wished that we could have stayed more days in Florence so we could enjoy the apartment more.

We loved everything about our stay in Florence. Some things we would recommend - for food, we found that most of the restaurants in the major piazzas were disappointing and very touristy; we stumbled across some amazing little restaurants in backstreets on the other side of the Arno which seemed to be more chilled out. In particular, Piazza della Passera has some fantastic options but make sure you book for dinner as the restaurants get very busy!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platinhome, Director of Sales at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a beautiful review, we are really glad to gere that you enjoied your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in Platinhome one day.

Best greetings from sunny Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed only for one night in September 2012 but wish we could have stayed forever. Truly unique; the view is indescribable and the apartment is HUGE. Location was simply perfect, service was superb and the roof terrace... pure excellence. There's no better place to stay in Florence - or in our opinion, anywhere. Have travelled quite a lot but never have we come across anything like this. Love the decors and fell in love with Florence. Gonna come back one day. Fantastico!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platinhome, Director of Sales at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a beautiful and positive review, we appreciate very much your expert traveller opinion and hope to see you back soon.

Best greetings from Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We arrived in Florence after several delays (don't fly Swiss Air if you can help it). Iva arranged for a gorgeous charcuterie and aged cheese platter with champagne on the balcony with the breathtaking view of of the Duomo. The apartment was perfect, larger than I expected. There was a great sound system. The kitchen was well-equipped with a refrigerator full of wine, beer, water, sodas, and juices. There were lovely dishes organized well in modern cabinetry. The rain shower in the middle of the apartment was warm and therapeutic, and the toiletries provided were luxurious. The linens were exceptional and the bed was comfortable. The location couldn't have been more convenient: Just downstairs are four great restaurants, and the apartment is minutes from the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi and Accademia galleries, and unique shops. The check in and check out processes were seamless, and the apartment staff were easy to reach by email if you don't want to incur hefty roaming charges. We are already making our arrangements for next year. I can't compliment them enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Duomo apartment, which had a gorgeous view. I believe any of the apartments would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We much prefer the service apartment-type accomodation like Platinhome than a traditional hotel. The apartment we stayed in had a kitchenette and balcony to the rooftop which you can see the Duomo. The location is very very central and we are a few minutes away from the key Firenze shopping areas and only 10 mins walk from the railway station (where we arrived from Milan). You wont get room service or doorman to help you with luggage, but then the price for staying here is also cheaper as opposed to a fully serviced hotel- and the rooms are nicer than a 5 star hotel anyway because its an apartment. I also much preferred the spaciousness that came with this apartment. Its fully furnished with nice furniture and had a very large rainshower/tub. Our bathroom amenities were refilled and our beds were done daily and thats all we needed. We find Firenze as a great base for venturing out to Tuscany and will continue to prefer staying at Platinhome going forward. Only complaint is if you live on the rooftop apartment suites, you had to carry the luggage up the staircase which is rather inconvenient

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed 6 nights early November 2011 in the Ponte Vecchio Room, Repubblica. Agree with all the other reviews praising Platinhome; unbeatable location, Marianna our host was terrifically friendly with great restaurant suggestions and arranged an outstanding guide (Elizabetta) to take us to the Uffizi. Small but functional kitchenette meant we could have the occasional breakfast and simple dinner in, instead of always eating out. Super comfortable bed, excellent hanging space so you can fully unpack the suitcase, free WiFi internet, great view of the Duomo. No English language cable TV, but you know what, does it really matter when you've got wireless and you're in one of the world's most beautiful cities? This is a fantastic place, we'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singapore_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Beautiful suite in the center of Florence. We stayed in the Duomo suite and it was exactly as pictured on the website. Modern and clean. The location was fantastic! Right in the middle of it all. The terrace was a really nice touch. It was great to be able to relax and enjoy the weather and a little privacy. The staff, while not on site 24 hours a day, were as attentive as if they were there. I made a couple of calls for assistance and they were answered immediately or I was called back within minutes. This includes evening calls. Staff and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJohnston1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in the Palazzo Vecchio suite which has a roof terrace with an amazing view of the Duomo and the rooftops of Florence. It was great to have an apartment rather than hotel room as gave us greater flexibility with our stay. The apartments are accessed through the most amazing front door in the piazza, felt like they were 20m high. The shower in the middle of the room is fantastic and a wee bit naughty! Francesca the manager was extremely helpful - organised a special restaurant booking for our anniversary, and looked into various tours for us. She organised breakfast on the terrace one morning - which is brought up from Cafe Gilli down below in the Piazza della Repubblica. The suite was very boutique in feel with all the mod cons. But frankly it was all about the view! Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: Palazzo Vecchio and Duomo suites have the front/side view of the Duomo - the other two are on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaTpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,891 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
Duomo
Domux Home Ricasoli
Domux Home Ricasoli
#131 of 659 in Florence
67 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#151 of 410 in Florence
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly Platinhome)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £163 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hearth of the famous square in the hearth of Florence, Domux Home Repubblica offers four beautiful bright open-space with amazing view on the Dome of Brunelleschi and equipped with the latest comfort and amenities. A perfect setting for special occasion, anniversary, long stay, honeymoon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing