We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment
Ranked #332 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
576 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Platinhome

Look No Further!
We have traveled all over Italy in 4 different trips. This is THE BEST accommodation you will find anywhere! We paid more for much less in Venice, Rome, Lake Como, and the Amalfi coast. We were greeted promptly and amiably by Iva and shown to our apartment. This 3 year old luxury apartment is over the top! No expense was spared in furnishings.

First, the view: a small terrace with chaise lounges, a table for al fresco dining and a personal shower to rinse off if the summer heat causes too much sweat while sunbathing on the deck! The deck overlooks the Duomo, the Piazza della Repubblica, and most of central Florence. You are literally in the center of Florence. The hotel is in an office building so you have keys to the main entrance and also your suite. Our suite was on the 5th floor (apartment Vecchio)

The suite: Ultra luxurious king bedding with superb reading lights. Loads of space for hanging clothes and drawers and shelves. The very contemporary sitting area has a small dining table with two white leather chairs and a white leather love seat sofa rounds out the indoor seating. The kitchen is a masterpiece of design. It includes a Nespresso machine, microwave, dishwasher, waffle maker, pots, pans, dishes, silverware, glassware and serving pieces. The mini bar (fees for items) includes water, soft drinks, fruit juices, full size bottles of wine. Floors are marble and wood. The bathroom has heated marble floors, marble sink, toilet and bidet. The shower is a bit unconventional as it is in the middle of the apartment! Completely glassed in, It has capability for Irish mist, steam, or regular shower. (There is a curtain for privacy :-) We have decided we would NEVER stay anywhere else in Florence!


The 'little' extras:
Each apartment has its own flair but ours had
-two heating and cooling thermostats, one in the sleeping area and one in the living area
-a gas fireplace
-a wonderful telescope for close ups of the historical buildings or viewing the stars at night
-Your hostess will get you anything you want, from stocking the fridge with groceries before your arrival to securing tickets for museums to hiring a personal trainer! The list of possibilities is endless.
-Personal TV in the sleep area and full size in the sitting area.
-Phillips CD stereo

Room Tip: When you reserve, discuss your needs with your reservationist and she will get the best room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platinhome, Direttore vendite at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Good morning form Platinhome,

Thank you so much for such a beautiful and detailed review, it was a real pleasure to have you as our guests and we are more than gald you enjoied your stay in Platinhome. We are happy when our guests are happy, looking forward to have you as our guests again in the future.

All the best from Florence,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Platinhome in early October on our honeymoon and we absolutely loved the place! Don't be put off by the lack of reviews, this is probably one of the best places you will find in Florence. It is in perfect location - close to all major attractions like the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio and a stone's throw away from shopping, bars and restaurants.

We stayed in the Strozzi apartment which was stylishly modern, beautifully furnished and really spacious. One of the best features of the apartment was the luxurious shower in the middle of the room. There isn't a thing we could fault with the apartment and only wished that we could have stayed more days in Florence so we could enjoy the apartment more.

We loved everything about our stay in Florence. Some things we would recommend - for food, we found that most of the restaurants in the major piazzas were disappointing and very touristy; we stumbled across some amazing little restaurants in backstreets on the other side of the Arno which seemed to be more chilled out. In particular, Piazza della Passera has some fantastic options but make sure you book for dinner as the restaurants get very busy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platinhome, Director of Sales at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a beautiful review, we are really glad to gere that you enjoied your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in Platinhome one day.

Best greetings from sunny Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed only for one night in September 2012 but wish we could have stayed forever. Truly unique; the view is indescribable and the apartment is HUGE. Location was simply perfect, service was superb and the roof terrace... pure excellence. There's no better place to stay in Florence - or in our opinion, anywhere. Have travelled quite a lot but never have we come across anything like this. Love the decors and fell in love with Florence. Gonna come back one day. Fantastico!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platinhome, Director of Sales at Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a beautiful and positive review, we appreciate very much your expert traveller opinion and hope to see you back soon.

Best greetings from Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We arrived in Florence after several delays (don't fly Swiss Air if you can help it). Iva arranged for a gorgeous charcuterie and aged cheese platter with champagne on the balcony with the breathtaking view of of the Duomo. The apartment was perfect, larger than I expected. There was a great sound system. The kitchen was well-equipped with a refrigerator full of wine, beer, water, sodas, and juices. There were lovely dishes organized well in modern cabinetry. The rain shower in the middle of the apartment was warm and therapeutic, and the toiletries provided were luxurious. The linens were exceptional and the bed was comfortable. The location couldn't have been more convenient: Just downstairs are four great restaurants, and the apartment is minutes from the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi and Accademia galleries, and unique shops. The check in and check out processes were seamless, and the apartment staff were easy to reach by email if you don't want to incur hefty roaming charges. We are already making our arrangements for next year. I can't compliment them enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Duomo apartment, which had a gorgeous view. I believe any of the apartments would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We much prefer the service apartment-type accomodation like Platinhome than a traditional hotel. The apartment we stayed in had a kitchenette and balcony to the rooftop which you can see the Duomo. The location is very very central and we are a few minutes away from the key Firenze shopping areas and only 10 mins walk from the railway station (where we arrived from Milan). You wont get room service or doorman to help you with luggage, but then the price for staying here is also cheaper as opposed to a fully serviced hotel- and the rooms are nicer than a 5 star hotel anyway because its an apartment. I also much preferred the spaciousness that came with this apartment. Its fully furnished with nice furniture and had a very large rainshower/tub. Our bathroom amenities were refilled and our beds were done daily and thats all we needed. We find Firenze as a great base for venturing out to Tuscany and will continue to prefer staying at Platinhome going forward. Only complaint is if you live on the rooftop apartment suites, you had to carry the luggage up the staircase which is rather inconvenient

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed 6 nights early November 2011 in the Ponte Vecchio Room, Repubblica. Agree with all the other reviews praising Platinhome; unbeatable location, Marianna our host was terrifically friendly with great restaurant suggestions and arranged an outstanding guide (Elizabetta) to take us to the Uffizi. Small but functional kitchenette meant we could have the occasional breakfast and simple dinner in, instead of always eating out. Super comfortable bed, excellent hanging space so you can fully unpack the suitcase, free WiFi internet, great view of the Duomo. No English language cable TV, but you know what, does it really matter when you've got wireless and you're in one of the world's most beautiful cities? This is a fantastic place, we'll be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singapore_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Beautiful suite in the center of Florence. We stayed in the Duomo suite and it was exactly as pictured on the website. Modern and clean. The location was fantastic! Right in the middle of it all. The terrace was a really nice touch. It was great to be able to relax and enjoy the weather and a little privacy. The staff, while not on site 24 hours a day, were as attentive as if they were there. I made a couple of calls for assistance and they were answered immediately or I was called back within minutes. This includes evening calls. Staff and service were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJohnston1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Duomo
Hotel California Florence
Hotel California Florence
#247 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Domux Home Ricasoli
Domux Home Ricasoli
#253 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Duomo
ViaRoma Suites
ViaRoma Suites
#167 of 295 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Duomo
No photo provided
Affittacamere D.Alighieri
#121 of 295 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment

Property: Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly Platinhome)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domux Home Repubblica Luxury Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing