We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee and lunches”
Review of Caffe Le Rose

Caffe Le Rose
Ranked #2,184 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great coffee and lunches”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife is a coffee lover and really enjoyed the cappuccino. We stopped twice for coffee in the morning and again for a nice light lunch. It is mostly Italian's who visit so you get a nice taste of an Italian caffe. They do speak English and we were welcomed. It is just across the street and down the block from Santa Maria Novella.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    10
    12
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level Contributor
216 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stopped there for lunch, they got the order completely wrong, brought the proper order then tried to charge us for both orders, 4 items, 2 that we sent back that were wrong.

What did we know just got there past the train station, where there was a Mcdonalds, should have eaten there instead.

Cheers

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atti2ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How to avoid McDonald's near the train station”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Come out of Station Santa Maria Novella, turn right. You'll see a McDonalds and a host of other fast food. Ugh. You don't want that; you're in Italy! Walk to the right, and around a corner and -- surprise! A quiet square, and the Caffe le Rose. You can sit outdoors. The staff is friendly and multilingual. The food is fine, better than McDonald's!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch at Caffe Le Rose”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Excellent lunch at Caffe Le Rose - we almost missed it, it is near the train station but on a quiet corner. Sat outside and had lovely pasta and vegetarian sandwich. Good value.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep walking...don't stop for lunch here.”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Had lunch here today, not impressed. Caffe Le Rose kept us out of the rain but little more. This place has a Trip Advisor sticker in the window for 2011, which is what tempted us inside...big disappointment, and I'm not sure where they got the sticker from.

Very small menu of mostly frozen re-heated dishes or cold items. I'm not sure if they actually have a kitchen. EUR20 for chewy penne with very little meat ragu and which tasted microwaved, tough dry bruchette with mozarella and tomato on it, and water. The mozarella was OK but everything else was utterly forgettable. Very small menu more focused on cocktails and ice-cream. Perhaps if we weren't after lunch it would have been better.

I don't recommend, keep walking.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Le Rose also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Le Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing