We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #378 of 422 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A decent stay in Florence”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is located a little bit away from the main attractions of Florence - around 20-30mins walk or a 10 min bus ride. However, we chose to stay here due to free onsite car parking. The room was large and clean. It was fairly pricey, especially given the location - but we had found Florence to be a bit more expensive that other Italian cities we visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kals9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    46
    113
    96
    103
See reviews for
58
143
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel, as the staff were friendly and helpful and my room was very large. It is a decent walk into the old town centre but it's on a bus route if you're not a fan of walking. Also the shower was very small but this seems standard for Italy. Not super cheap but was good value for money. Spent six days here and would use it again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

It was the worst hotel witch i have been there, the water spread on the floor when i took a shower and the air conditionar was so terrible that i must wet a towel and drawed on my face during the day .the staff was so angry that when i was eatting breakfast ,she put the dishes in the basin and caused some noise in the area .there were terrible insects in the room and i had to take my wife to the hospital.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farhad791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Co. Durham, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I spent four nights in this accommodation - it was far out of town but on a main bus route to the centre. Our room was damp with mould up to 50 centremetres high - continental breakfast was very continental but what do they live on ?!!! Staffing was understaffed and very obliging - not !!
Situated well out of town in a very Italian area !!!
Over priced

Room Tip: It must be less damp upstairs !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We only booked this hotel the night before. It provided us with a secure car park out the back and a quick bus trip into the main train terminal. Staff were helpful and printed out entry vouchers for us. Breakfast was OK and the lady running it was efficient. Rooms were average but comfortable and suited our needs as we spent maximum time in Florence sight seeing. The bathroom was small & clean. We couldn't get the bar fridge to work but a lady arrived quickly and fixed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I didn't expect a luxurious room, just standard and clean, we didn't even get that.
Upon arrivel they were not friendly, we got a room with mold on the walls, also in the shower, window couldn't close so the cold air got in th whole night. The airconditioning was a hole in the wall, couldn't turn it into heating.
We asked for another room but ofcourse there was nothing available, we couldn't turn of the ceiling fan so they were going to send someone, still waiting for them!
I've slept in cheaper hostels and they were nicer! so all in all, avoid!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Just back from a 10 day trip to Italy were we had booked three days in this hotel based on average reviews. First room was next to main air conditioning unit in the hotel which ran LOUDLY all night long, bulbs missing from lights, holes in ceiling, cotton sheets rather than proper towels in bathroom, shower curtain torn and about a foot too short so water flooded floor. Following our complaints, we were moved to a new quieter room, but, again: missing lights, bathroom not very clean and shower drain clogged (more flooding on floor), shelf above sink placed so low that we couldn't operate the taps properly, toilet paper not replaced. Breakfast very very basic. This hotel doesn't even rank 1 star. Only good thing was the relative proximity to main city and train station - about 30 minute walk or 7 - 10 min bus ride.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#192 of 422 in Florence
627 reviews
Diva Hotel
#284 of 422 in Florence
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 422 in Florence
400 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#258 of 422 in Florence
523 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#283 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: Via Maragliano 101, 50144, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing