We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bistrot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Desco Bistro

Il Desco Bistro
Reserve with
Il Desco Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 2,679 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent bistrot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Il Desco was our personal favorite during our short time in Florence. The waiters were very happy and extremely accommodating. Price was reasonable and needless to the say the food was absolutely fantastic - the owners bring in the fresh organic produce from their very own farm in the countryside! My partner had the fresh chitarra spaghetti with kale pesto and pine nuts and I had the special boar ragu! We shared a mixed chicory salad with citronette sauce. The waiter helped us pick out two particularly delicious wines to go with our respective dishes which were divine! It's my number 1 recommendation to fellow travelers heading to Florence. Lived up to the hype big time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    202
    40
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Popped in for a drink and were very impressed with the friendly service, had a delicious bruschetta with our beer and would have been back for a meal if hadn't been about to leave Florence.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outdoor lunch in February!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful extended lunch in the sunshine here in February with 2 friends, just heavenly! Gluten free easily handled despite small menu, personal friendly service. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkstown, Ireland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I ate lunch here. Very, very good. A strong and clear commitment to Organic and quality ingredients. I had Spelt soup, Tripe ( this was the first time I've eaten tripe in decades. We had it every Thursday growing up and I hated it). They cook it in a tomato base. I liked it and I've not about to have it every Thursday. Dessert was an out of this world Cheese cake which they make on the premises. Chianti Classico at 3Euro .50 was both were smooth and great value. Service was outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajfharnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Had a very nice lunch here. The produce is apparently produced on a farm the owners have outside of Florence and the offerings reflected this with a focus on vegetables. We shared a delightful antipasti of broccoli flan with ham and then had the ravioli stuffed with potato and spaghetti with a cavelo nero pesto. Both we're delicious.

Considering the meal with two small beers, mineral water a bottle of wine and coffee was only €50 it was also a bargain in the otherwise tourist trap district. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdub0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Desco Bistro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing