We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - after changing rooms TWICE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Ranked #144 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - after changing rooms TWICE!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My husband arrived to the understated lobby of Helvetia and Bristol at approximately 12:00 Noon on our day of check in. Our room was not ready yet so the front desk staff arranged for our luggage to be stored for a couple of hours while we went and explored Florence! Upon our return we were shown to our room where the Air Conditioner didn't work and there were dead bugs on the walls in the room. We called downstairs and informed them as such and we were shown to a second room. Same problem, the air conditioner didn't work and the room seemed very dingy and not clean. Finally, upon being shown to a third room, we found it to have a functioning A/C Unit and we were able to make it cool in there. Once we were in this room we found it to be extremely comfortable but I still would not classify this as a 5 star hotel. It is boutique like at best with a very "at someone's home" sort of feel. Not 5 stars at all!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaunaS0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    128
    53
    28
    13
See reviews for
101
248
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Stayed at this fine hotel for a week in late March. the staff are excellent to say the least the room on the fourth foor which i had was fine big and comfortable.Did not take dinner in the hotel but the the staff recomended a fine eating place near bye not a rip off like some places in florence but a wonderful eating place. Had breakfast as part of my package with Classic Collection[ a great company]was excellent plenty to eat both cooked and uncooked .i would say this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in as good as my favourite the Cliff Bay in funchal different in style and location but in the same great class.

Room Tip: wonderful reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We arrived at the hotel on the afternoon of Friday the 18th of March 2011 for a weekend in Florence.
It took only a couple of minutes to check-in to our suite on the first floor.
The suite was beautiful with elegant furniture and Italian decor, and the huge bathroom covered in Italian carrara marble. We had lunch in the Hotel Restaurant before we went to the airport for our return home, and the service and quality of the dishes was really excellent.
Ask the staff at the desk where to go for diner. The places they recommended where fantastic and really friendly and nothing to do with touristy rip-offs.
Everything you need or want to see and visit is never more than 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

I would highly recommend the Hotel to anybody who thinks of visiting Florence, for its exceptional, professional, and friendly staff and the beautiful tranquillity you have in the middle of a bustling city.

My only gripe was that the room was a bit too hot even though Florence was very cold that weekend, but better hot than feeling cold.
A really excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel is lovely. Great service. Good breakfast. Good location. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We arrived at the hotel for a nine day stay for Christmas and New Years with no luggage (Air France lost it and it is still gone). The staff is extraordinary. The reception desk and the concierges are one and the same and they are all knowledgeable and super accommodating. They had great suggestions for restaurants and wwere helpful with arrangements for museums, etc. The room was elegant, clean and exquisitely appointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Before my Mom and I left on our trip to Italy I did alot of searching for the right hotel ie..location, comfort, 5 star and elegant, we found it at the Helvetia & Bristol. Our suite was huge, we had a wonderful sitting room, a beautiful, large bedroom and a great, spacious bathroom. The staff was wonderful and attended to all our needs.

The location was perfect, great restaurants and shopping. Almost everything was within walking distance.

I for one will be back and will recommend this little gem to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebvqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Here is what we wrote to the general manager upon our return home:

Thank you so very much for your hospitality during our recent stay with you, Mr. Venturi.

Your hotel is exceptional, not only in its comfort and aesthetics but more importantly in its staff. Everyone that we encountered was helpful, courteous, pleasant and extraordinarily well trained in servicing clientele. It is difficult to single anyone out but Alessandro, your concierge, was especially helpful as was the entire reception personnel.

Our dining room experience was memorable also.

We cannot wait to return to your gracious environment.

Sincerely,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katten41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
994 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#90 of 422 in Florence
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
960 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia & Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Property: Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Address: Via De' Pescioni 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Florence
#84 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Family Hotel in Florence
#106 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Helvetia & Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helvetia & Bristol, a historic property located amongst Florence's many cultural treasures. The Hotel Helvetia & Bristol is undoubtedly the only place to stay when in Florence. As a World Heritage site and magnetic cultural destination, it is the focal point for any visitor, and we are blessed by being at the heart of it all. Our front door opens onto the Palazzo Strozzi, a masterpiece of Florentine Renaissance architecture, along with an enviable location in the luxury shopping district. Our rooms and suites offer tasteful colour palettes and the carefully chosen antique furniture, objects d'art, paintings and rich furnishings are our hallmark in design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Helvetia & Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia And Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing