We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Ranked #139 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Helvetia and Bristol for three nights. The location is perfect-within walking distance of all the sights we wanted to see. The concierge was extremely helpful and arranged a private walking tour for us. They gave us good advice about sightseeing and restaurants. The room was beautiful and spacious. There was noise one night from the street, however, the other nights we slept very well. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and ate outside. The bar was nice and the staff very attentive. We would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Helvetia & Bristol for your trip to Florence and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
It was very pleasing to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the hotel’s excellent location within the historical center of Florence.
It was thoughtful of you to write your opinion concerning our staff and I shall be delighted to convey your kind words of appreciation on to them.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the not too distant future,
we thank you in advance for your support and send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    123
    51
    28
    8
See reviews for
88
234
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in an Executive Double room which was spacious, clean and very well presented.
The service from reception and the concierge were excellent they were extremely helpful and one step ahead at all times
Staff in the bar and restaurant were very on the ball and responded to every request in a polite and friendly manner; nothing was ever too much trouble even when they were busy
The hotel is a great location for exploring Florence as it is close to everything that you could possibly want to see; all are walkable.
We will return to this hotel it is a real gem

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilolilColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Helvetia & Bristol and for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was great to read that you had a wonderful stay as well as you appreciating your comfortable and well-appointed room. The hotel’s amazing location in the heart of Florence is indeed well placed for tourism being a stone’s throw away from many major sights, fashionable shopping areas and transport links.
It was certainly very pleasing and encouraging to learn that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our staff as they are a great asset to the hotel. I have shared your kind words with the team.
With renewed thanks for your review, we do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to the Helvetia & Bristol. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is an "old world" 5 star hotel with beautifully decorated rooms. This hotel is within easy walking distance of just about everything you'd want to see in Florence. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean, housekeeping does an excellent job. They did a great job at getting us some advance reservations. Great breakfast. And, dining at night at the hotel was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Helvetia & Bristol for your trip to Florence and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
It was very pleasing to learn that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the hotel’s ideal location within the heart of Florence.
Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for staying with us. We hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to the Helvetia & Bristol and Royal Demeure Hotel Gourp. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My first impression of Florence was disappointing. I was given a suite next to the lifts and this was very noisy. I did not need a sitting room anyway! I just wanted a quiet room. I had asked for that in my emailed request that was obviously ignored. I had the stress of having to request another room that was very nice but it too was near but not adjacent to another lift. Fortunately with the air-conditioning turned up high I could not hear the lift noises. Tour groups were booked at the same time and I heard comments from some of these travellers of noise from lifts making sleeping difficult. Don't expect too much for your money here unless you are fortunate enough to get one of the really good rooms away from lifts.

Room Tip: I do not know how you can chose a good room at this hotel. If you pre-pay as most guests do, then y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 323dawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly please let me thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. However, I was sorry to learn that your first impression of Florence was disappointing. Please accept my apologies for the noise by the lifts.
I hope you will pay us a return visit to the Helvetia & Bristol on your next trip to Florence, when I would like to assure you one of quieter rooms.
With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel is a short walk from the Piazza della Signoria, the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio. Our room was a suite with a reasonably comfortable sitting area and a nice sized bedroom with a large bed. The furniture could use an update, but it was clean and comfortable.The bathroom, while spacious, was not so well thought out for the storage of personal items. Also, it takes a while to figure out the shower. Nonetheless, the overall experience was pleasant. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The bar, while pricey, is open late. we would consider it for a return trip, but will also explore other venues. We were with a Tauck tour and so did not book the hotel ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpsphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was thoughtful of you to write your comments. We consider any impression or report concerning our hotel a great help for us to maintain the highest standard of our services, to the benefit both of our Clientele and of the Travel Agencies, who honour and support us with their patronage.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff and services have somehow contributed to render your time in Florence a successful one.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Contrary to other reviewers, we had an extremely spacious room on the top floor, which only contains two suites. Room 560 has an interesting terra cotta vaulted ceiling with two bathrooms, a large sitting area, and a large sleeping area with a king-sized bed. The bed was rather firm, but still comfortable enough. The bathrooms were well appointed with Penhaligon's products, heated towel racks, and lots of fluffy towels - everything was immaculate and in excellent condition. We had a difficult time keeping the room cool enough, but it was exceptionally warm during our stay and the top floor location probably added to that.

This is a smaller hotel, and the public rooms have less of a grand hotel feel, and more of a quaint, clubby atmosphere. The breakfast was very nice - not expansive, but plenty to choose from and of high quality. One recommendation - for those who stay for several days, it would be nice to vary the menu a bit from day to day. The concierge staff is helpful and efficient, though not as friendly as I've encountered in other hotels. They do seem to send guests to the same restaurants as other hotels - we recognized several other guests of the hotel at a few places. I would make a point to ask for something a little different, if that is a problem. The location of the hotel is ideal - walking distance to everything, yet on a quiet part of the street.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravellodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Management Assistant at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for staying at the Helvetia & Bristol and for your very nice review!
We are most grateful to you for your courteous words of appreciation and positive feedback regarding your sojourn at our hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services have somehow contributed to render your time in Florence a successful one.
We usually receive good valuations on our Concierge staff, therefore we are quite perturned to hear the contrary. We may think that the presence of beginners and the coincidence of the busy high season period may have caused some aloofness, for which we sincerely apologize.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

So I chose this property in part from all of the reviews, as well as my general preference to stay in smaller boutique hotels. I was also staying in conjunction with the Amex Fine Hotels & Resorts program which often includes excellent properties. I know this hotel has a lot of purported history and awards and etc, etc, but I found it quite average. On arrival, no promised room upgrades available. It is summer tourist season, and so I mostly understand. The Amex FHR benefits were barely explained and were minimal at best anyway. No complimentary bottled water. The two-room mini suite I had felt cramped and had poor lighting. The desk was too small and the furnishings dated (not 14th century dated and meant to be that way, just looking a bit worn and in need or replacement dated). The bed took up the entirety of the bedroom leaving no room to move. The bathroom was so small as to be laughable. The rainfall shower was nice even if it caused a minor flood with every use. The front desk and concierge staff were nice, but not super nice like I had expected and anticipated. They were helpful, but not super helpful as I had also expected. The bellman was cordial but could have been more attentive. The wait staff tending the morning buffet (adequate, but not spectacular) and evening cocktail service only improved when they saw that I actually tipped for good service. The housekeeping staff took care to clean the room well. The location of the hotel is excellent, within easy walking distance to all of the major attractions in Florence, and in the midst of many high end stores (Cartier, D&G, etc). There are several good restaurants, cafes and bars within two blocks; the neighborhood is a plus. Bottom line is that this is a really nice hotel, but at the rates they charge, I (and you) can rightfully expect something extraordinary. I want a room that is amazing. I want service that is exemplary. I want an experience that is memorable in all ways. This hotel fell short in this regard. When next in Florence I will find another place to stay that might meet my expectations. You should at least consider your options before you book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel unless you want to look our your windows and see nothing bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latitudes_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Assistant Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for having stayed at the Helvetia & Bristol and for your comments, even though we found them particularly negative.
We are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations, for wich we apologize most sincerely.
As you have been able to experience, the Helvetia & Bristol is a small de-luxe Hotel housed in a historical building just in the centre of Florence. It offers different types of rooms and suites with diverse rates.
Excluding the single rooms, their sizes go from 23 to 60 mq. All bathrooms are in Carrara marble. Even if all of them have been individually furnished and decorated, no two are alike, they all offer the same kind of facilities and amenities.
We also are quite perturbed to hear that our hotel did not fully meet the standards required for the Amex FHR program, and we must admit to a certain surprise, as one of our main objective is the continuing education and formation of our personnel, especially regarding any special program. Please be assured that now new actions have been taken to ensure that a similar situation does not re-occur.
However, we regret that in your particular case, in spite of our most continuous attention to our Clients’ comfort, we failed to make your stay as pleasant as you had anticipated.
Please be informed that the Helvetia & Bristol is in the process of a partial refurbishment program, conceived with the aim of improving the Hotel.
We trust you may pay us a return visit in the near future and give us the opportunity to revise your impression of the Helvetia & Bristol.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#101 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia & Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Property: Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Address: Via De' Pescioni 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#100 Family Hotel in Florence
#106 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Helvetia & Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helvetia & Bristol, a historic property located amongst Florence's many cultural treasures. The Hotel Helvetia & Bristol is undoubtedly the only place to stay when in Florence. As a World Heritage site and magnetic cultural destination, it is the focal point for any visitor, and we are blessed by being at the heart of it all. Our front door opens onto the Palazzo Strozzi, a masterpiece of Florentine Renaissance architecture, along with an enviable location in the luxury shopping district. Our rooms and suites offer tasteful colour palettes and the carefully chosen antique furniture, objects d'art, paintings and rich furnishings are our hallmark in design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Helvetia & Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia And Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing