We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Ranked #139 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good central location”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a good central location in the city which makes most everything an easy walk. The rooms are quite lovely. No air conditioning until May of each year. Breakfast is quite lovely. You will sleep with windows open in the spring when warm and the street noise can be a bit much so bring ear plugs for such situations

Room Tip: If you travel in March or April before the AC is turned on you will want to stay away from street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nofatboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    126
    53
    28
    13
See reviews for
100
247
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel is greatly located in the center of all attractions. The Duomo and the other museums are all within 10-15 mins walking distance and the main Florence SMN station is also within walking distance even with large suitcases. The room that was assigned to us was a bit worn (as seen with the dark marks on the carpet) and in winter the hotel turns off the A/C so the room could be pretty hot and stuffy (at least for our preference). The staffs are great and are very helpful in assisting our trip in Florence.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranSSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This was the finest hotel we have ever stayed in. I do not have a single complaint or bit of constructive criticism. Upon arrival, we were upgraded (as American Express members) to an apartment on the top floor that had a bedroom, living room, beautiful entry foyer, and two bathrooms! It was a perfect conclusion to a wonderful trip to Italy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived on October 17th, we spent a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel. The whole staff has been great with us, they gave us a very nice room even if quite dark but suitable for us since we were in four. We will never forget our stay.... in all sense.......

Upon our arrival the very polite staff, asked us the passports and the credit card for the registration. We are not used to leave our credit card number around but we know that is a regular hotel procedure. We decided to leave 100 euros as deposit and the Gentleman with the two gold keys on the uniform (i guess the concierge Alessandro) left us a receipt with his initial or signature (we still have it)......until that moment was all perfect but when we realized that our two years old son's passport was lost (at least we believe so), we fell into a deep anxiety. We've been able to have a copy of the passport from the previous hotel at Rome but our stay in Florence was becoming a nightmare. In few words we've been forced to cancel some of our tours booked months agò, and come back to Rome at the consulate of our country.....we left Florence early in the morning and came back late in the evening!....but the problem was solved.

Few days ago, at home, our older son was playing with a coloring book carbonless and he told us: "I have to use my passport "as thick" to keep the under pages cleaned".....we were shocked, suddenly we remembered what had really happened at the hotel in Florence, the concierge or the Front office manager (a young man about 40 years old with glasses) used our passport "as thick" using the booklet of receipts of payment!!. (they did not realizing it!)

We have almost forgotten the incident, but we want to tell everyone that it "is better to use the credit card"!

Ahmad Oneisse

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel has an excellent location!!! If you are planning to walk and see as mach as you can, this is the best place to stay!
The staff is polite and helpful.
Rooms are clean with lots of antiques. Only one thing we missed in our room - tea/coffee pot as we already get used to it in other similar hotels :)
Our bathroom was very big with two mirrors, shower, jacuzzi, lots of towels and all kind of kits.
Breakfast was simple but ok and of course, if you want, you can choose whatever you want from the menu, prices are not so high for this hotel's level. The only thing you won't like - tiny room for breakfast. Pls don't get upset, just come to the waiter, say that you will wait in the lobby and he will prepare the table for you as soon as it will be available, meanwhile you could sit in the lobby having your morning papers or just admiring this beautiful hotel.
Safety boxes are free of charge, you just need to take the key from the receptionist.
We will definitely come back there! :)

Room Tip: If you want silent room try to avoid having the room from the Strozzi squire side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowGirlVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

There is good reason for this hotel to be ranked all the way down at 100 in Florence. For those travelers not on prearranged group travel you should pay close attention to the ranking. We felt this hotel is tired and stale. And if your travel agent makes the recommendation ask them for some solid reasons why. How did we end up here? We bid a charity package up for the RFK Center for Justice, so we did not do our research, and really just wanted to bid the package higher to make them some extra money. What can I say, we won....

While service is consistently good and the location is central, the hotel is very dated. Let's start with nearly threadbare carpets in the "grand" staircase and hallways. Actually, the worst carpets we have seen in any hotel property, including those one would term historic.

Our first room #153 was a complete disaster. Again, carpets that needed to be pulled a long long very long time ago, faded red upholstery on the chairs that also showed wear from years gone by and all complimented by upholstered walls also in need of replacing. Small square TVs. Balcony railings outside the windows need to be sanded down and repainted. We assumed all the rooms were as bad as this. When we were kept up until 3:30 am due to the two bars in the small piazza in front of this room, we asked the desk to move. Room 336 was a small suite and the upholstery on furniture and the walls has been updated and replaced, making the room much more acceptable. Also, there was absolutely no noise to contend with.

Guests staying here should ask for a renovated room...to be sure you should think nothing of requesting to view it first! If you are a light sleeper, remember noise at the front of the hotel may be an issue. Bathrooms are tightly arranged and we noticed amenities very average in quality. Continental breakfast in the morning was fine. Charging for Internet even in the lobby absolutely ridiculous. We simply went elsewhere and connected for free in a variety of locations.
The best part of our visit was moving to the St Regis Florence...world class in every imaginable way. For those of you who are interested, we suggest stopping by their picturesque location on the Arno river and ask to view a room or suite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
334 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Helvetia & Bristol. The location of this hotel is outstanding. Our room was nice, with lots of antiques. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was rather small. We had to pay to use the WiFi...the only time that happened throughout our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
992 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,185 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#83 of 422 in Florence
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#33 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 422 in Florence
956 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia & Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Property: Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Address: Via De' Pescioni 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Florence
#83 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Family Hotel in Florence
#106 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Helvetia & Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helvetia & Bristol, a historic property located amongst Florence's many cultural treasures. The Hotel Helvetia & Bristol is undoubtedly the only place to stay when in Florence. As a World Heritage site and magnetic cultural destination, it is the focal point for any visitor, and we are blessed by being at the heart of it all. Our front door opens onto the Palazzo Strozzi, a masterpiece of Florentine Renaissance architecture, along with an enviable location in the luxury shopping district. Our rooms and suites offer tasteful colour palettes and the carefully chosen antique furniture, objects d'art, paintings and rich furnishings are our hallmark in design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Helvetia & Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia And Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing