We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Renovations at a Classical Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #12 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Renovations at a Classical Hotel!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed two nights at the newly re-opened St. Regis in Florence. Great staff and very good service - the concierge was even able to find my BlackBerry which was lost in a taxi cab somewhere in the Florence!! That was amazing! Rooms are greatly decorated with some original art work. The are working out some kinks but all in all first class! Special thanks to Stephanie - a great front office manager.

Room Tip: Try river view rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_SanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    126
    32
    17
    5
See reviews for
292
669
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights from last week (during the last leg of our 14 day stay in Italy) using Starwood points. The hotel sits on small, but nice piazza right on the Arno River. We had originally just booked a Deluxe room, but upon check-in, we were upgraded to a Junior Suite with a river view. Absolutely stunning!! The room was on the side of the hotel that was just re-opened 29 days ago. Our bathroom mirror had a TV in it!! Our Butler service was perfect and brought us coffee, hot chocolate, breakfast, and the newspaper everyday. The concierge service seemed to bend over backwards to get things done - you just ask them for something and it was considered done - and done promptly. One of my husbands shirts was ruined by the ironing service (simple mistake - it was one of those dri-fit shirts that needs to be ironed on a low setting), but the hotel took care of the cost of the shirt without even asking. Every single person in the St. Regis was polite and willing to do anything & everything to make our stay more comfortable. And I mean every single person. If you have a chance to stay at this hotel - either using starwood points or paying $$ for it - it is DEFINITELY worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxdrmta98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

After visiting this property ten years ago when it was the Luxury Collection Grand Hotel, we had high expectations for the St. Regis Florence and we were not disappointed. This may be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Lobby and Entrance area were beautiful reflecting the tens (if not hundreds) of millions of $ of renovations.

You can't be the Arno Riverside location in the Piazza Ognassanti. This hotel (and it's sister the Westin Excelsior) are walkable to almost every part of Florence including the Uffizi, Accademia, Medici Palace and Chapels, and the Oltrano (the Left Bank of Florence if you will).

Not a penny was spared in fixing this hotel up and the Butler Service is impeccable. We also enjoyed the small fitness area and we understand the spa is opening soon.

Prices are commensurate with such luxury but in one of Italy's most expensive city (right up there with Florence), you already know you'll be paying an arm and a leg to stay here. This hotel has similar pricing to Four Season Florence or Helvetia Bristol but with much better view and Arno riverside location.

This is what it feels like to be a Medici family member in the centre of the Renaissance Capital.

Room Tip: Request an Arno facing room for the Ultimate Florence experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were traveling throughout Italy for 12 days in August and spent 3 of those nights at this simply superb hotel! The concierge service was above and beyond all the other Starwood Luxery Collection Hotels we stayed in! From helping us plan our trip to Tuscany and obtaining a rental car with automatic transmission, to the restaurants they recommended, to booking our train, even which gelato place to go to, they never steered us wrong! The decor of this hotel was done by a designer with impeccable taste! The staff in the dinning room for our breakfast could not of tried harder to please! I know in my future travels I will always compare everything else to our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

There is simply no faulting this recently renovated hotel. The service was phenomenal and our room was a star. The location is excellent and the view of the river was to die for. We had a suite with 2 bathrooms a large sitting room, frescoes on the walls, 2 large flat screen TVs and a Bose stereo. Best thing is we got this with our Starwood points!

Room Tip: Go for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We just checked out today, and I think it's the most beautiful room that we have ever stayed in. We did get upgraded to a suite, so we had marble stairs leading up to a bedroom and bath, separating that area from a living room and another full bath. There were hand-painted frescos on the walls, a TV in the bathroom mirror, and the service was outstanding. Starwood did an incredible job updating this hotel, as we had previously stayed at The Grand, and this was a major upgrade. It was a very special experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfedoryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I just returned from a fourteen (14) day trip to Italy -- Rome, Positano, and Florence. This was, by far, our favorite hotel! The room was beautiful and spacious, but more importantly, the service was impeccable! The concierges were very helpful in recommending wonderful restaurants, and the remaining staff seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that we had a pleasant stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
800 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing