We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there ... but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #9 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Almost there ... but not quite”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hotel is well located on the banks of the River Arno and a short walk from the centre of Florence. It has been refurbished recently and our rooms and the public areas were all fresh and well maintained. The rooms were grand but also very comfortable - not too large but more than enough room. The public areas were bright and lively without being noisy or crowded. The Library at the front of the hotel was a particularly nice place for an evening drink as was the terrace on Piazza Ognissanti. Service was mostly good but on occasions was a let down particularly given the cost and rating. Additional costs such as breakfast and internet were high.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    126
    31
    16
    4
See reviews for
278
658
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This hotel is wonderful. It reopened in May this year with the St Regis logo and was the Grand Hotel before the renovation which it truly is. The concierge services are outsatnding, the breakfast in their grand winter garden with its most amazing chandelier is alacarte but served with flair and attentiveness. The location is very central to all attractions and a maximum 15 minute walk from them. The view from our rooms overlooked the Arno and the quality of the suites and rooms is luxurious as one would expect from St. regis.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaheshKhubchandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the end of Sept and could not have been more pleased with our experience. We stayed in the Michelangelo Suite which is absolutely amazing. Our room had 4 floor to ceiling french doors/window that opened revealing the square and river below. The service was incredible and every detail attended to. The staff was very attentive without being stuffy or invasive. While the hotel is pricey, it is very much worth the money for the location, service, and beauty. One recommendation, don't eat breakfast at the hotel. It is a very nice restaurant but it takes a long time and is not a great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthL8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Hills, KS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The St. Regis Florence has recently been renovated. The status of this hotel has been elevated to the level of world class hotels. We found only comfort, hospitality, and high quality at the St. Regis during our stay. Here are some of the highlights:
1. Location- The hotel is next to the Arno River and within walking distance of all the major attractions, including the train station.
2. Renovation- The hotel has just undergone a complete renovation. It's beautiful! The lobby, restaurant, and rooms are stunning. We were given a suite on the second floor with butler service. Our room was picture perfect with frescos throughout. We had two bathrooms and a view of the Arno. The bed was one of the most comfortable.
3. Service- Checking in was a well timed event. After providing passports and credit card, we were taken to our room where we were greeted by our personal butler. Concierge and maid service was outstanding.
4. Attention to Details- Everything in the hotel was picture perfect and way above standard. The bedding, Bose System, two large TV's, furniture, closets, and bathrooms were top notch. The overall service provided was some of the best we have ever received. We love the butler "anytime" coffee and tea service.
The following are some helpful hints while in Florence:
1. Walk to the hotel from the Train Station if you're able. It's about a 10 minute walk. Head right as you exit the station and toward the Arno.
2. Take a few day trips from Florence if you're there for more than three days. Try WalkaboutFloremce.com for a trip to Cinque Terre or Tuscany.
3. Some high points you should not miss include David at the Galleria de'Accedemia, Duomo, Pitti Palace, Biboli Gardens, Ponte Vecchio, Ferragamo museum, & Uffizi.
4. If you love shopping and a bargain, take a shuttle to the Outlet Mall. The shuttle will pick you up/take you back from/to your hotel and allow you three hours of the best bargain high-end shopping in Florence for a 25 Euro driving fee. You leave at 9:30am and are back by 2:30pm.
5. Enjoy the beautiful quaint hotel lobby and delicious restaurant. Make sure to have a signature Bloody Mary. Sit outside in the small hotel front terrace if the sun is shining for good people watching.
If I had to provide one constructive comment to the hotel it would be that the hotel has lost some of it's old world charm in the renovation. The use of stark white throughout the hotel from the charm of old world architecture. Softer and richer tones would add to the ambiance that Firenze exudes. Overall, this is one of the finest Starwood Properties anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Loved our 3 nights at this hotel, the rooms were very regal and the location very central. Our family loved the whole experience. Will love to go back!

Room Tip: We had breakfast at the hotel on one of the mornings, but after that across from the hotel there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aristoninsurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We initially stayed across the street at the Westin (see separate review) and also stayed at the StRegis to see the difference)..had a junior suite and room was marvelous and lavishly designed! You would walk into a bottom floor which had full bathroom, then there is a living room area with working desk. Then a few steps up to the second floor is another dual sink full bathroom with bathtub. The bedroom (King bed -joined by two twins ala European style) was also on this second floor).

As this is a suite it had butler service which included 24 hr complimentary hot beverage service (coffee/tea), 2 free garment pressings, shoe shine, and packing/unpacking luggage. They also were available for anything else a guest may need (fees apply).

Our room was on the 1st floor so when you looked out..the river was pretty much in your face, so view was not as marvelous as out higher floor suite view at Westin!! Would suggest future guests request higher floors with river views for best look out of city. The bed was the most comfortable compared to even the already comfortable Westin across the street..

Utilized concierge once was was totally disappointed by their subjective opinion and biased recommendations: had asked for route somewhere using public rail..and both of the guys present said public transport was not safe, then proceeded to upsell us to hire a personal car with driver in a Mercedes for $390 euros an hour!! We have been on Italian trains during this trip and previous ones and know that they are very safe and convenient to get around the country economically and fast...These concierges probably assume that when one is willing to pay for the St Regis they are willing to pay a price to go about in stlye and pay 300 times as much to get a driver...I hate the feeling of being deceived, and the fact they told me public transport is not safe (again we utilized the train system and they are among the best in the world we used). In addition the fact they tried to upsell us the whole car and driver deal without offering other sincere options..cab, train, bus, etc--that was very deceptive from concierges visitors may come to trust at this category of hotel!

Overall, the hotel-amenities- and rooms were 1st class. Checkin and butler staff we encountered were great..concierge that one may come to trust were below average and acceptable standards. Recommend travelers research their destinations, food choices, and the city of Florence first before consulting and relying on the concierge as they are deceiving..(3/5 stars based on this and for value paid for hotel)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at the Florence St Regis for 3 nights in a beautiful large junior suite-the furnishings were gorgeous and the bed amazing. There were a couple of things missing for such an upscale hotel-there was no shelf in the shower for soap, shampoo, etc-we had to keep everything on the shower floor. Also, the full length mirror was in the closet-you had to stand so close to it that it was not useful-I know I'm being picky but I expected perfection from a hotel in this price range. We were disappointed with the butler service that they made a big deal about at check in- we met our butler when we checked in and never heard from or saw her again. I'm not sure we really needed a butler but they led us to believe that this was going to be an amazing personalized service experience. The concierge service was fine-nothing spectacular-willing to make dinner reservations but did not offer too many suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 422 in Florence
1,456 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
503 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing