We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Feel charmed and excited with these accommodations on the piazza on the Arno River in the center of Florence. Service is friendly and prompt; rooms are exceptional; food is delicious. Stay here and you will have marvelous memories.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the Arno River side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernpolaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    120
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
260
631
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

As advertised, opulence has been restored on the Arno. The St. Regis is re-opened for 5-star luxury and 5-star room rates. I was most impressed by the gorgeous vistas from the Arno River view rooms, the decadent bathrooms, and the quiet rooms. I slept so soundly that I could barely get out of the bed in the morning. I was among the first guests to try the spa, and found the treatment rooms to be a cocoon of comfort. One minor flaw - compared with the modern luxury of the lobby, I found the restaurant and bar area to be quite stuffy and subdued. Fortunately, during the warmer months, there is an outside patio to unwind. For a central location, St. Regis seems to be the top luxury choice in Florence.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Arno River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 with teenage kids and every renovated inch of this hotel is grand and fabulous - the rooms, bathrooms, hallways, lobby area. Furnishings are in the traditional grand Florentine manner with a modern twist. Staff are smiling, happy and helpful. The beds were incredible (hard to find in Italy, even at 5 star hotels!). And it was so comforting returning to the hotel every evening, like coming home to a very chic house with the best help.

Room Tip: Get the Arno view with a balcony, and get ready for unbelievable sunrises and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here using starwood points Oct, 2011. The rooms were beautiful , great location overlooking the arno. We had butler serive which was great. The concierge is my only complaint. They gave us misinformation several times which messed up our entire itinerary. If I was paying full price for this hotel, I would say it is overpriced. We went into the Westin across the street which was lovely also. Food was good at the St Regis, but very pricey. A cocktail will cost you $20.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abattisti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiavari, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I spent a couple of days in Florence after Christmas and decided to treat my wife to a really nice Hotel.
Everything exceeded my expectations. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite overlooking the river Arno. The Hotel, only recently renovated, combines the luxury and grandeur of an old and beautiful Italian palace with cleanliness, organization and comfort .
The staff was friendly and helpful and the butler service was overwhelming
The hotel public areas are also fascinating and the location couldn't be better.
Definitely the place to go if you want to pamper yourself

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennista1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

In September, my wife and I took all the miles and points she earned from traveling for work and set off to Europe to celebrate our anniversary. Florence was the third stop on our four city adventure, and it was definitely our favorite..thanks in large part to the St. Regis Florence.

When we made the reservation, we noted we would be celebrating said anniversary, we knew it was a long shot to get any special treatment, but what the heck. When we arrived, the check-in process was smooth...we got some recommendations for dinners from the front desk and concierge and headed up to our room. Wow. A view of the river and square looking down towards the Piazza Michelangelo. Truly spectacular. We almost did not want to leave our room. Everything was spectacular..from the beautiful art, amazing bed and luxurious bathroom-- we felt so spoiled and lucky. While we can't guarantee we were put in this prime room because of our anniversary, but it must have had something to do with it. We will always remember this gesture..including the bottle of champagne to boot.

If you can afford it, or have pts to use, stay here. By far the nicest starwood property we have ever stayed in. It had just been renovated and they hit a home run.

Thanks for the memories, we will always cherish our time in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeybooyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel in December 2011, hotel had been refurbished, staff were very friendly and very attentive, great food, we had a really wonderful, relaxing stay. Next time we are in Florence we look forward to staying in this hotel again and we will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing