We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Old World Splendour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #9 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Old World Splendour”
Reviewed 13 January 2008

We stayed there for a short winter break and had an excellent stay. They upgraded us (family with 9-year old) to a "Junior Suite" which worked out fine. We could see the duomo from our window.

Comfortable room, well maintained. Friendly staff. Good price.

Excellent included breakfast, which is unusual for an Italian hotel, but get a capuccino/espresso rather than the coffee in a pot.

It's slightly out of the centre, being close to the train station, but not more than a few minutes walk from all the sights.

  • Liked — Good room
  • Disliked — Slightly out of centre
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inner_city_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    126
    31
    16
    4
See reviews for
278
658
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mts.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Gorgeous room in a lovely well located hotel. On the river and within easy walking distance of all the bridges. The beds and linens were the most luxurious and most comfortable that we encountered in our 14 days in Italy. Loved the breakfast buffets too.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank slucarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Excellent hotel, extremely service oriented, beautiful room with best shower, Aldo the concierge is wonderful! We were there for our honeymoon so they upgraded us and sent champagne. Great experience, quite pricey so we were very fortunate to be able to stay there on points!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank madsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

Had booked a one night stay in a Premium Deluxe Arno River view room. With breakfasts included in the package, the price for low key December is a whopping 498 euros! Not cheap, even by Italian standards ... but read on, this hotel is worth every euro!

Being a Starwoods member, we were upgraded to a Renaissance suite, with bedroom, sitting hall and two toilets on two separate levels (merely 3 steps from one level to the other level). What really amazes me is there are at least 5 different sets of frescoes on the walls, depicting different scenes of medieval life.

The views of the Arno River, its bridges and a water dam nearby are really quite amazing from this 4th floor suite's windows and balcony. Bed is big enough but a tad too hard for me. Two TVs of the Philips brand, very good quality. Breakfast quality and variety were all very good indeed, one of the best we have had in all of Europe. Staff that we encountered all offered a genuie smile whenever we meet them.

Now, the small negatives. Location is a tad far from all the sights of Florence has to offer. A taxi ride to/fro the train station is a good 5-6 minutes. Lobby is small and not as impressive as its sister hotel, the Westin Excelsior, which is right across the square (but walk deeper into the Grand Hotel and you would be admiring its beautiful saloons, grand staircase, arches, stained glass ceiling etc). Lastly, the hotel being near a traffic bridge, is quite noisy at times. But close the windows and the room will be quite enough to sleep in (in winter, remember to ask for a fan to circulate the air in the room, or else, it could be a little stuffy).

Overall, this is truly a Grand Hotel in terms of room decor, quality of furnishings, breakfast choice and quality and staff's genuine smiles. Hopefully, we would be given an upgrade like we did this time, and we certainly would not mind staying at this beautiful Hotel, again and again.

  • Liked — Renaissance frescoes, view of the Arno from the Balcony, Breakfast quaity and choice.
  • Disliked — Noise from the traffic bridge, hard beds and location.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

Upgraded to a two bedroom/two bathroom/two level suite with a balcony overlooking the Arno. How could you now love it!

Everyone was outstanding - use the concierge - they know their stuff!

No WiFi (unless you want to pay) which surprised me at such a high end hotel, but I wasn't here to use the internet!

Top end finishings throughout.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryHauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

The Grand Hotel Florence truly is a grand hotel as others have noted. My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights in Oct., 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The room was large and elegantly appointed. The bath was huge, the dressing area and entry hall a decided plus. Neither noise nor light were a problem - sleeping on the fantastic canopied bed was really a dream.

Breakfasts in the wonderful winter garden were outstanding and the entire staff - bellmen, doormen, housekeeping, reception and the wonderful concierge desk - were not only helpful and cheerful, but seemed to constantly try to find ways to increase our enjoyment of our stay.

The location is so perfect that the only time we needed a ride was to and from the airport - all of the museums and attractions of Florence are within a short walking distance, loads of fine restaurants (ristorente, trattorias, osterias, pizzarias, pasticceruas, etc.) all with a few minutes stroll, yet never a crowd on the piazza Ognascenti in front of the hotel.

One of my finest hotel stays of the past 50 years!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

This was the first leg of our first trip to Italy. The Grand was an absolute beauty. Our room was huge, our bath almost as big as room. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Concierge did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. Location directly on the Arno River was great, within walking distance to everything. The only downside is that any extras (water, soda, room service, etc.) is extremely pricey. Still I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Hotel service, location, size of rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JAZ425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 422 in Florence
1,456 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
502 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing