We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My second stay at the St. Regis was even better than the first. I stayed on points and my friend and I were in room 111....a fantastic, large room overlooking the Arno with a view of the Ponte Vecchio from the balcony. We sat on that balcony each night and had a glass of prosecco and reflected on our beautiful days in this incredible city. As was my experience on my last visit to the hotel a year ago, the staff was cordial and efficient. The newly renovated St. Regis can be intimidating when you first enter the opulent lobby. But, in fact, everyone is very down to earth and friendly. The restaurant/bar was quiet and not very interesting the entire time we were there. Our waiter at the St. Regis said that changes were in the works for the restaurant and bar there that would liven things up a bit. But for now, if you go across the piazza to the Westin Excelsior and go to the rooftop, you will find a vibrant nightlife scene and be treated to one of the most magnificent views of Firenze I have ever seen. There were a surprising number of Fiorentini there....they might have actually outnumbered the tourists. Highly recommended extremely high end hotel experience. We balanced this with a stay at a very modest b&b in Lucca and a week at a villa in Forte dei Marmi, so we had a nice taste of all levels of accomodation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    120
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
260
631
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Hotel is overpriced if we comsider only hotel quality, if you expect isolation from "poor people out there on the street" that hotel is what you need. In room service menu most of psitions are dom perignom champaigns, people staying there are high class in every way. If you dress causually you can feel uncomfortably even just in lobby. Excelemt cuisine for top restaurant prices 100 € dinner. I short style for bold and beautiful in its best.

Still some improveemnts are necessary, internet had ridiculous price, tv didnt work, room required some minor repairs, you could wait 10 min for hot water in bathroom if you used it after night, in standrad room, window view is terrible, location is not excellent, too litle bathrobes on arrival, fitness was absolutely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike11746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Thank you to the entire team at st regis Florence for an amazing stay. The Arno deluxe premium room was huge by any standard, the bathroom with separate shower perfect and the service awesome. Thanks to Reynaldo our amazing butler for making our stay that much more special. Brekfast was excellent and well worth the premium. Morning coffe from the butler a very nice touch. Dinner was excellent. Top notch experience. Would agree that at times the concierge was a bit short but not a deal killer by any means. Strongly suggest walking over to the Westin and having a drink on the roof. Very special views of the city in 360 degrees. Well done Statwood!!

Room Tip: Well worth the premium for deluxe room. Arno view nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the St. Regis Florence and were so very pleased with the accomodations, service and especially the Concierge. Concierge made fantastic restaurant recommendations, that just got better each day (Il Profeta for Pasta, Buca Mario for the absolute best steak (florentine) I have ever eaten). I am Platinum Starwood Preferred Member, had booked a standard room, was upgraded to an Arno River view Junior Suite, which was spectacular, spacious and luxurious. Butler service was a nice touch. As previously referenced in other reviews, such a pleasant experience to return after a long day of touring Florence and Tuscany to the luxury of the hotel. Concierge arranged for a full day tour (8 hrs) with car and driver, which was great....very customized. Visited Siena, San Gimignano, private wine tasting at small vineyard (San Appiano) with lunch in the cellar (highly recommend, the wines were delicious as was our light lunch). Would definitely chose the St. Regis on our next visit to Florence.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with Arno River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A very pleasant stay at the St Regis. The concierge was excellent for recommending restaurants and bars for the Saturday evening near the opera we were attending.

We were staying in a premium deluxe room and paid extra for a river view. I personally would not recommend paying the extra as the view was nothing special and the terrace was too small fr practical use.

Rooms were of a good standard (as to be expected) but a little on the small side. Additionally it was disappointing that all spa facilities cost extra.

Solid stay for a trip to Florence and a good location but unfortunately the hotel did nothing to blow me away.

Room Tip: Not room 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byrneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This property is still working out the kinks but in the intrim I say give them a chance you won't be disappointed. Their location (right on the Arno) service (Andrea -concierge and Andrea - bartender in the winter garden) were tops, check-in very profesional, the room was amazing.
High ceilings with al fresco paintings and the bathroom fit for a queen. We were thrilled to be in this property. Breakfast was very good (they need to tighten up their service) dinner on the other hand was top notch (presentation and attententiveness were top notch)!!! Thank you Antonello. Concierge will get you tickets and reservations to pretty much anything you request. They also exchange cash into euros at comparable prices. Negatives is the parking 3 days cost 124 euros...overall a pleasant experience... if in the area we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Wonderful to go back to this Hotel after a day site seeing in Florence and behold the peace and calm. Beautiful rooms, amazing bathrooms , marble of course, Great views of the Arno. Polished staff who instantly knew your name and were there for you what ever you needed.Excellent location across the river within walking distance to virtually everywhere. The hotel sent a bottle of champagne to our room, which I appreciated. I will definitely be a repeat guest here.

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prabsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing