We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #12 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A charming well located hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel has an amazing location with views over a quaint square and the river. The old town is within walking distance and is just like a film set. The hotel is very traditional but very comfortable. The hotel I believe dates back to the early 1900's and the original charm has been retained. My room was internal facing and very small, but it had a four poster bed and period furniture. My room only had a shower which was a slight disappointment as I love a bath. They also charge Euros 15 a day for wireless Internet access which I also have to moan about but apart from that everything was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARCHIE0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    126
    32
    17
    5
See reviews for
291
668
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Wrapped up a 3 night stay here recently and as is the case with all St. Regis properties, we had a tremendous stay in Florence. The location is first rate, the lobby entrance is immaculate and our premium deluxe room was everything we could have asked for and the daily b'fast was fantastic. Decorated in an opulent, renaissance style the hotel lives up to the image and expectation that we have come to associate with the St. Regis brand. Everything was spot on during our 3 day stay and even the weather in Florence cooperated 100% of the time. Yuri at the concierge was the stand-out individual for us because he went above and beyond the call of duty to help us out whenever and wherever. I have reduced 1 star because there was a drainage problem in the shower / tub where we'd find yourselves standing in 4-6 inches of water approx 5 minutes after the shower was turned on, and, although the sleep quality was fine, we could hear our neighbor in high heels upstairs from time to time, and our neighbor next door whenever they accessed their closets and slammed the doors shut. Overall we loved our stay here and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone thinking of staying in luxury in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wong561hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

2 night stay Winter 2012. We live in Japan and travel back to see my family once or twice a year, on the way we make city breaks across Europe. We save our pennies and hope to be wowed in some great hotels in great locations. I thought we'd done pretty well over the years but think we may have reached a new level with this hotel. In fact it sets up a bit of a problem as I've handed five-star reviews to various excellent hotels over the years but this one is clearly better yet gets the same five stars, either Trip adviser needs a new '6' category or I need to, retrospectively, downgrade the earlier reviews.
After their recent renovation everything that you see and touch is of the highest quality, well maintained and that allied to the location, a comfortable walk to all the sights, would be sufficient to recommend it, frankly they could slacken off on the service and still be a good hotel but quite the opposite, they are clearly working hard to bring service up to the level that the renovation challenges them to.
We were given room 308 (Galileo room) which sits on the facade of the building looking out over the piazza and the Arno river. Great views of the long shadows of the sunrise and sunset. Room was long and narrow but not at all claustrophobic. Room service was excellent, whatever we ordered there was something extra that came wth it. Concierge was excellent not only ensuring that we had all the tickets we had pre-arranged but checking back the next day to ensure that all had gone to plan.
Only problem we had was on checking out their system refused to process my credit card, the card hadn't been a problem before and hasn't been a problem since so I don't know what that was about. All the same I'd recommend you don't forget your other card.

Room Tip: 308 gives great views of the square in front of the hotel and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We walked into the beautiful St. Regis Florence and never wanted to leave. The lobby, dining rooms and common areas are luxurious without being fussy, and the rooms are spectacular. Our king room had frescos on the wall and furniture that was both modern and old world. Our children's room, which was adjoining, was slightly larger than ours and even more opulent. Our butler was kind and helpful, and we all enjoyed the complementary morning beverages.
The concierge was very knowledgeable and helped us with priority admission to the sites as well as recommending some outstanding restaurants.
I would go back to Florence just to stay at the St. Regis again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler9724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff were all very friendly and speaking English was no problem for them.
It has to be one of the best run hotels I've stayed that I can remember. Bedding and towels comfortable. Bathrooms beautifully appointed too.

The only thing I'd like to have seen would be something other than the usual News channels for English speaking guests, but this is nothing unusual as anyone traveling knows - Someone give us some BBC or ITV !

I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_native_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The luxury in this hotel is really amazing. The design, the royal athmosphere and the outstanding view from the room as well. The location is perfect and you can make a nice walk by the river to Ponte Vecchio.There were a few things that supprised me at this place thou. I ordered a salad from the room service and what came was very far from a 5* experience. I know the restaurant is very gourmet, but why the food delivered in the room should be so basic I didn't understand. I also found the service to be a little cold and may be stressed by severe management or something.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflowera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

From the doorman, to the reception to the concierge, they will all make you feel like a King or Queen. Their service was simply over the top. If you are a Starwood Platinum member, the upgrade options are absolutely wonderful. The luxury in this hotel was the best i have ever stayed at. the Garden Room for breakfast and dining was a simply beautiful room, with great food and service once again. this hotel is located within as easy walk to many sites and shopping. The Bottegga Veneta Suite is to die for!!

Room Tip: If you are to splurge on a hotel room, do it here. They are beautiful ordained rooms, unlike anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGSSpeedyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,778 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
799 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing