We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #12 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

When I contacted the hotel last NOV to ask for the same room we stayed in 9 years ago, I thought they wouldn't be able to guarantee it, but they did. We stayed only two nights but should have stayed for more. You will not be disapointed. The location, the decor, the service makes you want to take up residence at this hotel. Having a nice hotel makes the travel experience even better. We made a huge mistake when in Rome by getting a hotel that was cheaper by saying,"Well, we won't be in the room anyhow", and that was a horrile experience and almost ruined our trip. In reality, people are in their rooms alot of the time, sleeping, waking up, getting ready for the day, eating.... For a little more per night this hotel was more than worth it for us. What a wonderful experience. We hope to return soon to this hotel. Oh, and by the way, it was my birthday, and the champagne and chocolates were just perfect.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Arno, but I am sure every room is just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizPapay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear LizPapay,
First of all allow us to thank you for choosing for the second time the St. Regis as your exclusive address in Florence. Allow us also to tell you that it’s really rewarding for us to know that you appreciated all our efforts in giving you the same room you had during your last stay with us: we always try to pick up our guests’ wishes, even the most secret!
We hope to welcome you back at The St. Regis Florence once again the near future!
All our best regards,
Ombretta Comito
The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    126
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
284
666
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Fabulous! Treated like royalty. Easy to get to by car. Great location. Able to walk all over Florence from here to see the sights. Never needed a taxi or our car to get anywhere.
Had a beautiful view of the Arno River. Our room was more than spacious and the art work was lovely. The bed was so very comfortable. Very good after over 30 hours without sleep. We had Butler Service included with our room. Only used it for our morning Cappucchino and coffee but very nice. Service is top notch. The only bad thing was the WI-FI, while it was free to use in the lobby there is a fee to have it in your room. We would definitely go back here in a heartbeat!!! ***** Stars!

Room Tip: Try to have a Arno River view room. We were on the 4th floor and the view was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tantibaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We visited Florence in September for a long weekend, the first time in the city, though not the first time at a St. Regis.

The location of the hotel is simply excellent, right on the Arno river, with all sights literally around the corner. To get there (by car) though is a bit tricky as the GPS system did send us through one way streets, not sure if there was recently changes, also, you have to enter despite not being authorized, as usually you would need a special permit. Once at the hotel, the concierge however arranges that and the car gets parked in a parking lot (steep price of 41 EUR per day).

We checked in at a busy time I guess, as the bellboys were a bit overwhelmed and we took our luggage ourselves, which was no problem as it was only a bag for the weekend.
Stephanie at check in was fantastic, very friendly and also did call us once we were in the room to check if everything was fine.
The lobby itself is beautifully decorated, stunning.

What I would suggest to improve at checkin is the mention of the Butler Service. We stayed at St. Regis hotels before, and not every hotel does offer butler service in every room category, so I think this is an information every guest should receive, whether he has booked a butler service eligible room or not.
When I asked it turned out that our room category was not eligible, and also as the hotel was sold out there were no other rooms with. No big deal, just would have appreciated the information upon check in.
A bit confusing was furthermore, that there were signs in the room to call the butler for ice, or secretary services etc etc.

The room was nice, I think it was the florentine style rooms, with high ceilings and frescos on the wall. A very comfortable bed, and lots of storage space. We had a bathtub with integrated shower which was fine for us, and the bathroom mirror has a TV integrated.
The room viewed the interior patio, so also very quiet.

We had drinks one night and dinner the other night at the restaurant, which was outstanding. Unfortunately I do not remember the names of the waiters, but they were very attentive and genuinely friendly.

Breakfast is in the stunning hall of the hotel, a la carte downstairs and buffet upstairs. The first day breakfast service was excellent, waiters attentive and quick (we were there around 10am). The second day we were earlier, maybe there was more guests at that time, and the service was not the same as the day before, but till, very friendly staff.

We would definitely book the hotel again, though probably a butler serviced room.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, pick interior patio, although I guess the view over the Arno must be quite stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Simply excellent!!
Great location. Easy to walk all over Florence historical district.
Amazing service since you walk in.
Extremely helpful concierge.
Beautiful hotel.
A spacious and well rounded room and bathroom with views to the Arno River.
Great breakfast buffet.
My place in Florence.
Arrivederci !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enriquedemarchena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear enriquedemarchena,
Arrivederci! What a beautiful word. It means "See you soon" and that is exactly what we hope: have back soon guests so enthusiastic as you are! Thank you very much for all the explosive words you wrote to us.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the nearest future,
All our best regards, Ombretta Comito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is literally the nicest hotel I think i've ever stayed at. I am a platinum SPG member and they treated us like royalty. They made us feel welcomed and wanted and were so helpful in everything we did. The room itself was ridiculously nice...seriously the best room I have ever stayed in. It had multiple levels, 2 HUGE bathrooms, 2 sitting rooms, awesome artwork, amazing hardwood floors, and the views were outstanding.

Even being platinum and getting upgraded often, this was by far the most amazing room I've ever stayed in. Well done SPG!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggbert34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Eggbert34,
I’m really grateful for taking the time to express yourself by writing this review. It’s so helpful for us to know how our guests, and especially our Starwood Preferred Guest as you are (even Platinum!), perceive our services.
I highly appreciate your compliments about the amazing room we gave you and I’m glad to read you felt welcomed.
Thank you once again for staying at The St. Regis Florence. It would be my distinct pleasure to personally welcome you back for your future holidays.
All my kindest regards, Ombretta Comito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel was by far the fanciest and most elegant hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in.

Without any request on our part, we were upgraded to a different room than we booked. To say the "upgrade" was significant would be an understatement.

From the "butler service" on the floor to the amenities in the room to the enormity of the bed, we were stunned and impressed. The room was extremely elegant, we overlooked the Arno River, and we had every need and request taken care of often almost as soon as we requested it!

I would DEFINITELY stay here again (upgrade or not) and was duly impressed with the quality, courtesy, helpfulness, and professionalism of the entire staff at the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langley_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Langley_BC
You've just made our day with this wonderful review sharing your pleasurable discovery at The St. Regis Florence! It’s an honor for us to know you found the hotel as the fanciest and most elegant you ever stayed, and most of all to know you were duly impressed with quality, courtesy, helpfulness, and professionalism of the entire staff!
Do let me know when you're planning your next trip so I may help with any of your reservation details prior to arrival. I look forward to meeting you and welcoming you all back soon. Ombretta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel was absolutely amazing. There are even TVs in the mirror. I was very lucky because when me and my grandparents went we got upgraded to a amazing suite. It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bed was extremely comfortable and in my rooms the smaller of the two I had a huge TV. The only sad thing was that the main channel that had the Olympics was Euro sport Deutschland which was in German. I also had the best dinner of my life at the restaurant. The breakfast was very good as well. The service was also very good. It is also in a very good location and you can see the Ponte Vecchio.

Room Tip: Just email them to see if you can get a free upgrade. My grandpa's trick is to tell the hotel th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,488 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,754 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 411 in Florence
783 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 411 in Florence
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing