We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Eastergate, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A fantastic hotel, our room was like our own mini palazzo! Hotel interior felt very opulent yet cosy. Superb restaurant and complimentary champagne and canapes between 6 and 7 pm. We had use of a butler if we felt inclined and all staff were very approachable and helpful. One of the best hotes we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Sandra C, we have no words to add to your fantastic comment about our hotel, our opulent but cosy rooms and interiors, superb restaurant. One of the best hotes we have stayed in. Since you consider The St. regis Florence one of the best hotels where you ever stayed in, we trust to meet you again in the nearest future. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    120
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
260
631
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

St Regis is probably the most up class hotel in the old town of Florence. Located some 10 minutes walk from train station Santa Maria Novella and by the Arno River, it is about two blocks away from Ponte Vecchio and almost everything. I stayed 5 nights at the hotel.

The moment you step into the lobby you have the feeling that it is a luxurious hotel. A library, and reception counter where you have seats to take while checking in are on the left, and concierge is on the right. The reception staff has a high level of service. However, the concierge staff fell short of expectation level after a few day’s stay with the hotel. Most hotels in Florence are small size in general, and St Regis is relatively large. I have a room facing the river and the view is gorgeous in good weather. You hear occasionally traffic noise from the street but when you shut the window it is ok. There is a small road in front of the hotel so cars and taxi can stop easily. There is also a small square with a statute in the front. The hotel operates a small cafe just outside the front door. It is perfect having a drink in the café in the evening when it is not so hot and busy, overlooking the river.

The room has a very nice decoration giving you the Florentine feel and elegance. The key to the room is a traditional brass key but capable of being an electronic transmission device to open the door. The bed and comforter is very comfortable. Amenities is sufficient, TV, writing desk, mini bar, double washing basins, bathtub and separate shower, safe, etc. Bedding is very good.

Breakfast is on the first floor balcony overlooking the Winter Garden restaurant. Very nice decoration. Choice of fruit, cold cuts and hot dishes, not abundant but definitely adequate and delightful. There were not so many people in the restaurant as I have expected for breakfast, which is nice and quiet. Service is very good. Winder Garden on the ground floor is the fine dining restaurant and bar. Food quality for dinner is not as good as I had expected. But they do decorated very nicely with a big chandelier from the roof.

Overall St Regis is a every fine hotel where guests would feel absolutely good at it though it has something to polish to make it even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear CLau888, Allow us to thank you for sharing your detailed comments and kind words of praise. It is certainly a moment of pride to read that the reception staff showed you a high level of service and you enjoyed our elegant room in Florentine Style looking the river. We eagerly look forward to your return. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Europe and the Middle East. On the recommendation of a close friend, we decided to stay at the St. Regis in Florence. I am really glad that we did. I was thoroughly impressed with every single aspect of the St. Regis.

Upon arrival, we were personally greeted by the front office manager, Stephanie Motteau. The Check in was comfortable and friendly while sitting at a desk. I always prefer to check in at a desk as opposed to standing at a counter.

I was confirmed in a junior suite, but was upgraded by Stephanie to a beautiful 1 bedroom suite overlooking the front plaza and the river. The room was perfect in every aspect. The entire hotel, and of course our room was recently renovated and had every amenity a guest could want or need. The air conditioning was perfect, and the controls easy to use, and from experience, the AC can be less than perfect in some hotels, especially during the middle of summer.

The suite was beautifully decorated traditionally, but all the controls, lighting, AC, etc. was thoroughly modern and updated.

Breakfast was truly spectacular, with an abundant choice of food, and everything was delicious and fresh. As an example, I took notice when I was taking blueberries that every single blueberry was large and fresh, unlike when you go to the market, and some are good and some are not. Dining in the winter garden for breakfast and dinner was truly spectacular. I don’t have the words to properly describe how beautiful the winter garden is. Every meal was an event.

The service was perfect in every regard. Every employee that we met was friendly and had class and style. Nonetheless, I never felt a sense of pretentiousness at the St. Regis.

The Concierges Francesco and Emilio were friendly and extremely helpful during our stay.

We had 2 different floor butlers, Beatrice, and Andrea, and they as well were extremely friendly and helpful, and made our stay truly comfortable and warm.

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute and every aspect of our stay, but the excellent service did not end when we left. After leaving the hotel and we were well on our way to Rome, I discovered that I left my ipad in my hotel room. I called the St. Regis, and explained what happened. The receptionist said she would call me back. In EXACTLY 5 MINUTES, she called back and told me that they found my ipad. They arranged to ship it back to me at my home in New York. When I arrived home 5 days later, my ipad was waiting for me safe and sound!

I cannot express enough of how much we enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis, and look forward to returning sometime in the future. The St. Regis Florence is truly a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear tedoworld, allow us to thank you for individually recognize our staff. We are glad to read that our team made every attempt to ensure that your stay with us was the best possible, starting from our sweet, efficient and tireless Front Office Manager, Stephanie Motteau, to our great Concierge with Francesco and Emiliano and our unique Butlers, Andrea e Beatrice.I will be delighted to pass on your kind feedback to the team. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for any other assistance you might need. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Every aspect of this hotel was outstanding location, rooms, service and food. This attention to detail is something you do not experience at most five star properties. St. Regis should use this property as the benchmark for what their brand should represent

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubin115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Dubun115, Allow us to tell you that your amazing words leave us breathless: "St. Regis should use this property as the benchmark for what their brand should represent". Actually we all live with empathy the guiding values ​​of St. Regis Brand and we are committed every day in delivering them to our guests. It's an immeasurable honor to know that you noticed it and lived it. Should you ever have the chance to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me: I will be at your complete disposal in making your journey again memorable. Ombretta - The lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent five nights at the St. Regis Florence. The hotel is ideally located and within walking distance to all the major sites in Florence. The room accommodations and amenities are exceptional, and the butler and front desk staff more than willing to help with restaurant recommendations and reservations. The breakfast buffet is to die for, so definitely make sure it is included in your package. The inside of the hotel looks like one of the magnificent structures in Florence. Take pictures of the lobby, public areas, and lounge. The St. Regis Florence is definitely a winner!

Room Tip: Splurge on the suite with butler service. We were on the third floor room 321 and it has great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenB-cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear StevenB-cpa, Thank you for your kind words of praise and for rating our Butlers and Front Desk Staff so highly. We feel honored of the fact that you believed so much in our outstanding service to stay five nights and to know that we went beyond your expectation with our exceptional rooms and delicious breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you again as our guest in the nearest future. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful views of the Arno, within walking distance from restaurants and shopping and the most amazing spread for breakfast. Service was unsurpassed. The ambiance elegant and inviting. The room décor was over-the-top elaborate Italian (in a great way). I felt like the Queen! Very expensive but shop around for good rates (like pre-paid). Well worth it for a special occasion!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Louisa E, Allow us to thank you for your words of appreciation. We are glad to read that we delivered an "usurpassed service" .Thank you for your recommendations on theSt. regis Florence being the exclusive address in order to celebrate a special occasion and feel as a Queen. We look forward to welcoming you again. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here at the end of July 2013..Exceeded my expectations! .A stunning classic hotel overlooking the Arno river. The lobby was elegant and unpretentious...The staff was friendly and the service fabulous..The room overlooking the river was beautiful... They were very gracious regarding an upgrade. The room was enormous with high ceilings. We stayed on the 4th floor. Just perfect in every way...Thanks St Regis Florence!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear susan m, allow us to thank you for sharing with all the travelers such a beautiful comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed the gourgeous room we chose for you and you experienced our Staff courtesy and efficiency. Looking forward to meeting you again in the nearest future, Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing