We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #14 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at the St Regis just before Christmas. The hotel is beautiful and well-situated. We were in touch before our arrival and the concierge made reservations at one of our favorite restaurants and had a confirmation letter waiting for us at check-in. The staff were all extremely courteous and pleasant. The evening champagne presentation was fun and We were pleased that they served a very good French bubbly.

There were a couple of slightly off-putting things. We were offered an upgrade to a river view room with butler service and took it for 70 Euros a night. While the room was gorgeous, the window was small and you only could see the river when you stood in the window. Also, this is not the first time we've stayed in a hotel with butler service but I've never figured out what the butler does. Ours was very nice and brought us cappuccinos in the morning, but we also could have ordered them from room service. I know our butler would have packed or unpacked our suitcases, but we really don't travel with much luggage, so it's not something we would use.

We were also surprised that a couple of things in the bathroom, including the make-up mirror and the shower hose didn't work right. The mirror was fixed right away but the hose never was fixed properly--not the type of small issues you would expect in a hotel of this quality.

All in all, it was good stay, and we would definitely go back but we won't pay to upgrade for a river view or butler room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gogogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear gogogo2, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit ar the St. Regis Florence and for your constructive feedback. Even if you did not use so much the Butler Service, we are glad to know that when you asked for it you had a pleasant experience.
Should you ever return to Florence, please, do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will ensure that your next stay with us will be a most comfortable one. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for almost a week in the summer during our honeymoon. The service was impeccable! We loved the daily breakfast buffet...well rounded and everything you could need or want. Our suite was beautiful and we had several butlers throughout our stay, and every one of them were so kind. I was sick with the flu during most of the stay and the butlers would leave us notes asking how I was doing....very nice. I almost didn't mind being sick on my honeymoon because I was surrounded by luxury! The only thing missing from this world class hotel is a spa/pool...but honestly I didn't miss it too much. Hotel is conveniently located on the Arno River, within walking distance to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueliu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear sueliu22, allow us to tell you that it's a great honor receiving such a beautiful comment from someone that spent 7 days with us at the St. Regis Florence and celebrated a such special occasion as you honeymoon was. Our service is impeccable in every detail but the most important thing is that our Butlers really have care about our guests' feelings, their emotions and life. In a discreet way they are always present during your stay at The St. Regis especially when a guest least expect it. Looking forward to having you back again, we take the opportunity to wish you lovely holidays. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was our second stay at the st. Regis in florence, and just like the first time everything was perfect. This is true five star service with true five star luxury, with an incredible attention to detail in particular when it comes to customer service. We will definately go back again, this is a treat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Hase1,

Thank you for you for staying with us for the second time and for your nice comments reagarding our service and attention to details.
Ilook forward to see you soon and remain at your disposal for any assistance you may need to organize your future stay with us.

Stephanie Motteau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay during a Florentine vacation ! The hotel is by the Arno River and opposite sister hotel Westin. From the moment you walk in, it's pure luxury in a renaissance and classy way. From the check in all the way to your individually named rooms, it's pure luxury and pampering. We certainly don't regret staying here while visiting Florence.

The conventicle of the hotel location adds to it's appeal. Down the road perpendicular to the Arno River and 5 minutes away would be the designer shops where Dior, Prada, Gucci, etc are. Another 5 to 10 minutes you will reach the main Ponte Vechio bridge of Florence with all the Jewellery shops within the bridge.

We were tired one day and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and were pleasantly surprised that the food was so good. It was even better than the one Michelin star restaurant at the Four Seasons Florence that we tried the night before. Then we discovered that St Regis has collaborated with a 2 michelin star chef Valeria Piccini of the Restaurant Da Caino !

You will not regret having your Tuscany holiday stay here... Mamma Mia - book a stay here !!!





Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Joecool,

Thank you for your nice words.
We are really pleased that you enjoy the location and luxury of the St Regis Florence.
We do apreciate your comment regarding our restaurant Winter Garden By Caino and are really happy that you enjoy it.As per your comment we do have a collaboration with Valeria Piccini two star Michelin chef from tuscany.

I hope to welcome you back at the St Regis Florence.
Stephanie Motteau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were upgraded to a suite, with butler service overlooking the river. There was flooding upstream while we were there, so the water was flowing and debris was collecting. However, nice to hear the rushing water from the room. The rom and bath were nicely appointed and the lighting was excellent.
We did go to tea one afternoon and while the food was good, they used French tea bags (yes, I opted for a tea bag - my mistake) and the Earl Grey tea was the worst and weakest I have ever encountered. Perhaps they should invest in some British tea bags in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dera ROmom, allow me to thank you for the beautiful words about our room and bath nicely appointed and the excellent lighting. Regarding the tea, allow us to inform you that we use the precious packages of the prestigious enterprise Dammann Freres, famous because for nearly a century, it has been faithful to the tradition of grand blenders, importers of quality and creators of blends and undiscovered fragrances. For this reason, allow me to invite you to contact me personally and help me to understand what you did not like about our selection of tea. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was the best hotel experience I've ever had. The hotel itself is beautiful, impeccable and stunning - inside and out. The pictures are great however they do not compare to experiencing the hotel in person. We stayed in the Botticelli Suite on the fist floor which had a large veranda extending over the piazza with sweeping views of the river and surrounding neighborhood. I am amazed at how well the staff in this hotel were able to provide a consistent experience every day, for every guest. Regardless of the life you live at home when you check in here you are treated like a VIP. Every need is attended to with pride and ease; morning cappuccinos served, afternoon tea delivered, garments pressed, dinner reservations made, cars parked, pianos played, martini's shaken and beds turned down. Overall the hotel is perfection and I would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthonytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear anthonytravels, we are very glad we have amazed you with the attentions of our Butler Service: no request is too small or unattainable to fulfill at any hour. The St. Regis Butler ensures that your unique preferences are known and understood in every detail. And we are very proud of our world class and unique Butlers, as no other hotel brand has a system-wide commitment to this particular school of excellence. Should you decide to come back, allow me to invite you to contact me personally: it will be a real pleasure to create another bespoke experience for you. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Great service. We had the superior room, which was excellent given the hotel was renovated not too long ago. Has a decent gym with all the latest equipment. Concierge was very helpful and helped us with all the museum bookings.

Overall, I would come back to this hotel again...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Ben S, Allow us to thank you for considering our service as a special one. Once a guest has arrived at The St. Regis Florence, our Concierge team stands ready to be of service—they are dedicated to ensuring that each guest is able to unlock the very best of Tuscany. Our Concierges are bilingual, certified destination experts and proud members of the Clef D'Or, the celebrated international concierge society. Whether organizing a trip to explore the majestic landscape, reserving tickets, or arranging transportation, they take pleasure in divulging the city’s secrets. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
545 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 410 in Florence
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £349 - £1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing