We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly a Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are splendid; the service superb; the staff courteous and friendly; and the concierge knowledgeable. My only complaint was that the breakfast buffet hot food wasn't even warm. Otherwise, I think it is one of the great hotels.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    120
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
260
631
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

Awesome Experience! Not much more to say here....

Rooms - Beautiful!
Service - Awesome
Location - Great
Restaurant - Breakfast was incredible. Chef and Manager come to your table to take your order...can't beat that!

My wife and I loved this gem of a hotel. Very Historic and Elegant. Very pricey but definately worth it!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

A six night stay near the beginning of a three month tour of Italy and other places. Started with a wow! The room was fabulous and overlooked the river. Went down a bit from there. First, after a fairly long journey we could not use the lounge or bar because of a private function - and when you are paying 500 Euros a night that sticks in the craw a bit. Secondly, the comfortable and lovely lounge was not staffed - the bar deserted. To get service you had to walk to the front of the hotel and the bar off the front square. This lasted throughout our stay. We could not fault the staff, they were efficient and friendly. We had a great time in Florence but would probably revert to our normal hotel nearby next time.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — lounge service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

The hotel is in a good location. We walked everywhere. Florence is a beautiful city! The staff was very friendly and courteous. They were most helpful with restaurant suggestions and help with our rental car.

Rooms are over the top beautiful. The bathrooms are huge and the beds very comfy. They came with bathrobes and slippers and a separate dressing area.

Breakfast was included and delicious. The dining area was very pretty.

We booked a cooking class with wine and olive oil tasting through Isabella, the restaurant concierge. I have to say, this was the highlight of our stay in Florence and one of our highlights of our Italian vacation. Isabella was so enthusiastic and kind and friendly, she made us feel special and right at home. The class with Chef Leonardo (right in the hotel) was fun. Then he took us to the hotel's kitchen to continue our lesson. We were then moved on to the hotel lounge for our wine and oil tasting. When we finished that, we went to the restaurant to eat the food we had prepared and then some. It was a magical evening thanks to Isabelle, Chef Leonardo and the hotel.

The hotel was pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PASeamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

Wish I could have stayed longer. Really beautiful hotel. Just amazing. We have exclusive status with Starwood and the hotel apologized they could not give us a bigger room because of the new years bookings (we arrived on the 30th).

Well, the room was still fabulous. Huge bathroom, lovely fresco walls. Comfy without a doubt. We faced an inner courtyard which was just fine. We did dine in the hotel restaurant. Hands down the best meal we had in Italy. The food was exquisite. The service impeccable. Definitely pricey, but well worth the ambience and the quality and quantity. Location can't be beat. We also stayed at the Westin Excelsior on this trip, right across the way. I think the Grand is much "grander." Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Beautiful room and location location location
  • Disliked — 8 euros to wash a t-shirt?
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

well this is my 3rd place in italy for my hooneymoon trip

the thing i didnt like about this hotel that the AC doesnt work
well i can explaine it to you as they have explaine it to me
becuase the AC in such a way is conected to all rooms they were switching the heaters on althought i wasnt that cold outside i've been opening my window all the days i've been there
they gave me the fan but it was much more noise than cars noise

2nd thing is consirage i've asked him to go to a resuternt with very good food and not very expinsive i dont mind paying 200 euro much or less for a diner providing i dont drink

so he sugested a resturent, it was so dam bad that i've waitting more than and hour and 10 min for just a pasta !!!
unbelivable
so when i came back i've asked for the manager they were sorry and they gave me any my wife a sorry meal

but the think i really hate is the ppl in florance were not that frindly as in milan and vince

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Badr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

The hotel was beautiful and the staff made our last couple of days on our honeymoon absolutely perfect. The location was perfect and it was easy to walk to most of the places we wanted to see. We had an amazing view overlooking the river as well as the Duomo. The size of the room and the luxurious bathroom was a nice welcome after so many small places we stayed at during our visit.

  • Liked — The spacious room and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — A little high in price but worth it
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank estrange16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing