We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COSY and AMAZING”
Review of Hotel Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Regency
Ranked #154 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“COSY and AMAZING”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I spent just two days at Regency Hotel but immediatly you feel surprised by professional staff which is a mixture of familiar way and posh style: impressive. The Hotel is not very big but the garden is so special. I suggest to visit Regency during summer: my room at fourth floor had an enormous terrace bigger than the apartament with a wonderful view on the park, ceiling made with wooden shores. Furthermore despite it is not in the centre of Florence it allowed me to discover al lot of hidden wonderful squares, streets, restaurants and shops which are nicer and cheaper. Great Breakfast on of the best I have ever had in an Hotel.
Higly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ascona2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    86
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
52
194
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had a nine day visit to Florence for business/pleasure and decided to split my hotel stay between The Four Seasons and The Regency Hotel.
Obviously my stay at the Four Seasons was AMAZING!! I was very concerned that I would be disappointed switching to the Regency Hotel during my trip.
That was not the case at all....I was pleasantly surprised starting with the professional staff greeting me upon arrival ....and they even moved my luggage from The Four Seasons to The Regency in about 15 mins. The hotel is Beautiful...filled with art and ornate architecture.
My room was quite spacious with all the amenities that I would need...blow-dryer, make up mirror etc.. large, comfortable King sized bet...50-60 inch. flat screen ( Italian only ) bring your laptop if you want to watch tv.
The room is quiet due to the location (no earplugs necessary) I especially enjoyed the quiet location after my long day of sightseeing and walking. You can easily get overloaded with the sights and sounds of the city and it is really nice to return to a quiet, calm location.
The buffet breakfast is wonderful!! It is a full breakfast with fabulous food. They offer fresh fruit,
eggs ( cooked to order) a variety of meats, salmon, a variety of juice and really good coffee.
It is exactly like a restaurant...probably the best "breakfast included" I have ever had.
My advice is to stay at the Regency Hotel and visit the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sf12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 days here and were charmed by the old world ambience and high quality service offered at this hotel. The breakfast buffet was top drawer and the wait staff was very friendly,alert and well trained. We had dinner here one night and were pleased with our dinners,the atmosphere of the dining /
breakfast room which overlooks a walled garden.While not in the tourist center there are two bus stops within 2 minutes of the front door for those people too tired to walk 5 minutes into the center, the staff at the reception
center which can supply you with bus numbers to achieve your trip goals. There are loads of fabulous
restaurants within an easy walk from the front door. The area is quite safe. Can not say enough about this quite,luxurious hotel with comfy beds ,high quality bedding and wonderful staff

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SharplesPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Regency is tucked away next to a park in a cozy, quieter part of the city. Yet it is still within close walking distance to the center of town. Staff was very helpful and breakfast was quite a spread. I had a strange experience there though. I had booked through Expedia and had requested a modest upgrade to a garden view which I hoped would equate to a quieter part of hotel. I was graciously granted the upgrade but to a view of the park- which meant the room overlooked the street. Although when we checked into the room a pleasant male staff member pointed out the air conditioning as a feature. However when we returned to the room after a day of sightseeing the air was off and a female staff member said it was now turned off for the season. No problem...we opened the window. However the street scene was lively enough that we were kept up by the noise. The alternative was to close window and suffer a hot room. It was not a good night's sleep. Next morning we requested to change rooms to an inside room....which was immediately granted. Curiously the air had not been turned off in new room which was also substantially bigger. I question whether booking through Expedia got me the initial "inferior" room with the air turned off!? All in all the hotel did change rooms and I loved the new accommodations so I would return to the Regency but I probably wouldn't book it through Expedia. My rating of the hotel was downgraded slightly to reflect the first night room problems.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I can happily say that I was not disappointed with this hotel. The service was first class and whilst the decor was a bit dated it would best be described as classic. Very comortable beds, and a quiet location made for quality sleep. Agree with other reviews with respect to location, yes it is 10mins away from the main town centre but actually that is part of the charm....Florence is understandably a busy tourist destination. Breakfast first class, only small area of disappointment was that there was no iron available although the concierge was happy to arrange for clothes to be ironed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virignia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Regency hotel is located within walking distance to all the major attractions in Florence. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood that gives you a nice buffer from the very crowded and noisy streets close to the museums. You can walk to lots of local, non-touristy restaurants. We walked to small grocery shops for snacks and water too.

One concierge was very helpful and gave great restaurant and shop recommendations. Another concierge knew almost nothing.

The hotel itself is a bit dated but gives you a nice feel for what a traditional Italian hotel is like. Breakfast was served out on the terrace when the weather was nice and the service was great.

There was never an issue getting a taxi when needed but you can easily walk to most of your destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jello0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is an excellent hotel which, by being located about a walk of ten minutes from the 'action' gives is a sense of quiet in a lovely corner of the city. Across the street is a family park - one of the few green spaces in the central area of Florence. The room was very comfortable and was embellished by a lot of pleasant extras, in particular the quixotic sweets (candies) and weather report for the next day which were left when the bed was turned back in the evening. Breakfast buffet was as good as you could possibly want and everyone on the staff was most helpful. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#78 of 412 in Florence
933 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#159 of 412 in Florence
143 reviews
Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
#109 of 412 in Florence
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#110 of 412 in Florence
710 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,008 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regency

Property: Hotel Regency
Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio 3, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Regency 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious "The Small Luxury Hotels". The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D'Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience. Affacciato su una delle più belle "piazze salotto" fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l'Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l'atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d'arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing