We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Boutique Hotel in Florence!”
Review of Hotel Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regency
Ranked #144 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just came back from a fantastic long weekend break in Florence and must recommend this hotel. The staff were doing everything possible to ensure we thoroughly enjoyed our little break.
The hotel was very clean & tidy, close to the centre of town (without being too close), and the breakfast was excellent.

We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: The view of the garden was really beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel was very "nice." I have no complaints. The rooms were large, clean and the staff was helpful. The hotel is very small and has a "boutique" feel to it. Why not five stars? It was a pretty decent walk to the main attractions in Florence, e.g. the Uffizi Gallery, the Duomo, the Palazzo Pitti. Not a terribly long walk, but in the heat of summer, it was very tiring. And, the walk was not a pleasant one because you have to walk down dirty, graffiti-ridden streets that don't have nice shops or other attractions. While the hotel was "nice" and I have no complaints, I would probably look for another hotel the next time I am in Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MaddySU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked this hotel based on it's close proximity to a rekatuve, . If it wasn't for this we would have left the hotel. First let me begin with the positives. The hotel is a small boutique hotel. It has a beautiful courtyard where they serve breakfast. It was lovely sitting outside and the breakfast looked amazing. The staff were very helpful, friendly and patient. They responded quickly to all of our requests. Now for the negatives. Our room was small and dark. The furniture was damaged in many places. There were insufficient electrical outlets. We found ourselves unplugging the TV and lamps in order to charge our phones. The air conditioning was set at 20 degrees but according to the manager it is locked at that temperature and can't be adjusted lower. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and have never had this experience! Why can't I decide on the temperature in my room?! I complained but they said there was nothing that they could do. This is something that I'd expect out of a hostel and not a 5 star hotel! When we went to sleep, we removed the bedspread and were surprised to not find a blanket or duvet. The hotel doesn't provide one. My wife had to sleep with a towel on top of her. This was unacceptable. Maybe they figured that since we'd be so hot from the unadjustable air conditioning that we wouldn't want a duvet. We were also eaten alive by mosquitos. I know that mosquitos are an issue in Florence but it was very unpleasant and uncomfortable. Overall, the service was great with the exception of 2 things. First was that they forgot my wake up call that I had requested. The final blow was that I sent an email with my grievances to the hotel manager. After not receiving a response, I sent it again. It has been almost 2 weeks and still no response. The Regency is supposed to be a 5 star hotel and a member of a Leading Hotel of the World. They certainly did not live up to the reputation and prestige of these titles. Sadly, our experience was very disappointing.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are very cramped so try an upgraded room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at Regent Hotel for 3 nights. Really friendly welcome, room was clean and spacious. Every morning we had a print out of the news in our country- really lovely touch. Also, maids were in twice a day leaving sweets and weather forecasts for us in the evening. Breakfast was excellent, range of food from cereals to pastries and cooked breakfast. Good quiet location, 10 minutes walk from central area. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leearnvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Hotel Regency is a beautiful, serene hotel facing a quiet city park in the Santa Croce part of the city. It's truly only a 10 minute walk to the Duomo and the neighborhood is fun to walk through. Rooms are spacious and quiet, the breakfast is good and the staff attentive and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is an wonderful historic but well-modernized boutique hotel in a quieter part of Florence.
It's close to the synagogue and only kosher Restaurant (Ruth's) in Florence, so it suited our large family well. The service was good, attentive and understated. The rooms were large, well-appointed and luxurious, and included a nightly turn-down service, a bar fridge, and fabric-covered walls, befitting the furnishings of a hotel of this standard. Our daughter was accommodated in a large suite with a bathroom which led onto an outdoor balcony, very suitable for a big family. There is a small outdoor area where breakfast is served: charming and appropriate with kids. Breakfasts included plenty of fresh fruit and freshly-squeezed juices. The small well-appointed lobby was an excellent place for our family to gather and chat. We had a wonderful stay in this boutique hotel, and cannot rate it highly enough. Although the hotel is not in the heart of the city, the quieter streets and absence of tourist throngs were more propriety to our needs. We would
certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a quiet superior room with a king-size bed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful room and great bathroom! Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast had many options from fruit, to eggs, bacon, and pastries. Cappuccinos were great. Great hair dryer.

Areas to improve: wifi and cell service was very very poor in the hotel. Also, we booked museum ticket reservations with the hotel - we found out after the fact that the tickets were up charged an extra 5 euros by the hotel. Call or go online yourself to make museum reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
#111 of 411 in Florence
413 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#91 of 411 in Florence
957 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#154 of 411 in Florence
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#99 of 411 in Florence
734 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regency

Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio 3, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#85 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £174 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Regency 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious "The Small Luxury Hotels". The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D'Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience. Affacciato su una delle più belle "piazze salotto" fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l'Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l'atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d'arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing