We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outside the centre, pleasant hotel”
Review of Sina Villa Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sina Villa Medici
Ranked #111 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just outside the centre, pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Impressive entrance, helpful staff and deluxe rooms and bathrooms. A few minutes walk to the main shopping and restaurant areas of Florence, but not hilly, plus have a courtesy bus that runs for 3 hours in the morning and again early evening.

Rooms well equipped and a good size, although air con a little dated and noisy.

Breakfast very much continental style, some nice sandwiches and snacks from the bar and restaurant menu ok, but better to eat out at authentic Italian restaurants. Drinks quite expensive, a bottle of Peroni will set you back €9 and a malt whisky €22 - maybe a little extravagant!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your positive review about your recent stay.
We really hope to have other opportunities to host you and I will be more than happy to offer you a free upgrade room.
Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino, General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    212
    87
    23
    19
See reviews for
150
321
21
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent 4 nights here in February with wife and daughter. This quaint hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Santa Novella train station. But, don't walk it with suitcases over the cobblestones, unless you want to end up dealing with an angry spouse. Like I did. Take a cab.
As we were on vacation and sightseeing, we did not need WIFI internet access, or even decent television. I watched Italian T.V. while there (why not?)
Good location, but needed to take cabs to restaurants at night and to tourist attractions during day.. N.B. the hotel has a courtesy shuttle van that will take you within a given radius of the hotel (just tip the driver). The shuttle does NOT, however, go to the train station due to some conflict with the local cab drivers, or something. Anyway...Lovely hotel with old world charm. The guest rooms are a little dated, but I guess that's part of the charm. From some rooms there is a view of Il Duomo...Ours overlooked a little convent/church next door. We had a one bedroom suite with a living room..They brought in a roll-away bed for my teenage daughter. The bathroom was marble and the shower was challenging, as they usually are in Italy.
The lobby bar serves 15E martinis that are about half the size of an NY martini. Stick to the vino.
Excellent buffet breakfasts! and also a great (AMEX plat) dinner experience (at the same spot as breakfast). The 3 of us were the only diners in the restaurant that evening, but we had attentive service and overall a great/delish meal.
Front desk staff and doormen are friendly and helpful. There is an ATM/bank about a block away, which is convenient. There is a cute outdoor swimming pool that is probably great during the summer. Would definitely stay here again. Ciao!

Room Tip: Front desk will likely show you more than one room to choose from, if you ask. They did for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBknowsBEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service. I really hope to welcoming you back soon to Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
Grazie, Gaetano Torino General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent friendly hotel, 10 mins walk from the centre of Florence. lovely food and wine. simple but high quality rooms. the staff were excellent and very accommodating, very friendly and attentive. We had a tremendous dinner there which was excellent in every way. even the table decorations were beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. I really look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Property. Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We loved the grand villa Medici. It's location in Florence is very central - less than 10 minutes walk from main train station and in to the centre. The road it's on is very pleasant and the garden at the hotel feels lovely and relaxing because its quiet. All the hotel staff were friendly to us and very helpful. Our room was spacious with two bathrooms. Like other reviews, we would agree it was a little hot, but it was still a comfortable nights sleep. Also a little disappointed there wasn't free wifi, but the fantastic breakfast each morning and comfortable surroundings made up for it. I would definitely recommend this hotel for all types of visit as its got a nice feel to it and is well located.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. After a grueling work week, I spent my first day relaxing in the garden by the pool. I ordered a few glasses of wine and a plate of prosciutto with fresh mozzarella and couldn't have been happier. It felt like I was at the home of a wealthy Italian, which makes sense given that this was once a home to the Medici family.

The rooms were beautiful and made you feel like you were in an Italian palace. But, the garden and pool were really my favourite part of this lovely hotel. I ate dinner by candle light which ended up being the most romantic meal ever and I didn't even notice that I was all alone!!!

The concierge was great and set up a last minute tour of the city with a small group. I saw everything on my list in one day and had two amazing tour guides who were both knowledgable and fun.

The only negative is the hotel is a short walk (about 15 minutes) to the city centre. But, I actually enjoyed this walk each day. It made for a scenic journey home each night to a quiet street great for sleeping! I highly recommend this lovely hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EF115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for sharing with us your positive review.
We really hope to welcoming you to Villa Medici ‘’family’’ very soon.
Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino, General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just finished a tour of Italy and out of the 3 hotels we stayed in, this one had the best rooms, lovely garden, beautiful lobby and great staff. Problem? You have to pay for WiFi. In this day and age that's really unreasonable. Most hotels at least have free wifi in the lobby and public areas (where you might have to pay for wifi in your room). This hotel had NO free wifi at all, anywhere. You had to pay 3 Euros per hour (or 7 Euros for 3 hours). All our other hotels had free wifi in the rooms. They seriously need to make a change here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alidoremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Grand Hotel VIlla Medici.
Our Guests impressions are always extremely important for us to improve our Property.
We really hope to welcoming you once again to Villa Medici.
Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino, General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I traveled Europe for 8 weeks on our honeymoon and Grand Hotel Medici was one of our stops. The hotel was very pretty and clean (a little out of the way), but the staff was extremely rude. It was the only hotel that charged for booking museums and tours, and when you asked the concierge to do this you would get an attitude.

Room Tip: If you use a platinum amex card to book this hotel they will upgrade you if there is a room availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdesiderio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente,

vorrei innanzitutto ringraziare per il Suo commento, noi tutto crediamo che si può solo che migliorare nel ricevere critiche costruttive come le Sue.

La prego accettare le mie più sincere scuse e mi auguro di poterLa incontrare personalmente durante il Suo prossimo soggiorno al Grand Hotel Villa Medici.

Con i più cordiali saluti,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#71 of 411 in Florence
919 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#138 of 411 in Florence
550 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Medici

Property: Sina Villa Medici
Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
#68 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sina Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing