We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
J & J Historic House Hotel
Ranked #171 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid Choice”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Rooms are clean and QUIET... We met tourists staying right downtown, and they couldn't get a good nights sleep, where we had no problem. We walked 10-15 minutes to the major attractions like the Uffizi and the Duomo.

Service is average overall, except for Monica (at the front desk) who is a superstar.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bionicsoccerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    156
    60
    22
    24
See reviews for
75
265
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Hotel is small, boutique and has a feminine touch in details. Rooms with high ceilings and the mezzanine is a just so cute. Country house of a friend in Florence. Close to great restaurants and everywhere is just at walking distance.

Stayed here 2 days in August, and can recommend it. White wine and snacks on the house in the afternoon served in the lobby, great chill.

Only downside, you had ask for wifi code everytime you use it, there must another way of doing it more conveniently in 2012. Staff could also be more attentive.

Overall it is just worth for you money.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MertKaymakci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas and NY 2012 celebrations here. We stayed at "J and J" for 6 nights. This small hotel used to be a monastery so don't expect plush and extravagant interiors.
We had a junior suite that had a living area with the bathroom at the lower level and a bedroom with a walk-in closet at the upper level. This setup is not bad and looks romantic, but it gets a bit inconvenient at night when you have to use the facilities located one flight of stairs lower than your bed. Particularly relevant, if you have somebody who is pregnant up there (my wife was in her 4 month and she did frequent the toilet!). The view from our room was what one could expect from a hotel in an old city center. Our room was clean, although the skyline window leaked once during a storm. The bathroom was not too big and didn't have any windows, but a ventilating system.

Breakfast was simple and not abundant. Croissants were particularly popular so we sometimes had to rush to get them. The waiting staff was not super pleasant, but the front desk staff was always attentive and helpful.

WIfi is not available in guest bedrooms but only in the lounge area around the reception and the breakfast room.

Although our experience was OK, I am not sure we would be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 is where Moravia stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaSrdjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent from Christmas to New Year 2011 at the J and J. We loved the quiet location, so close to the major sights, and we found the staff to be superb. .For instance, no public transit runs on New Year's Day and taxi companies do not take bookings. The desk clerk found us a cab for the early morning trip to the airport. My wife has worked for Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton and is very knowledgeable about hotels. It passed all of her tests!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The J&J made our trip to Florence all the more special. It is only a short distance away from the Duomo and close to a number of interesting places. It was a lovely surprise! A converted monastery, complete with frescoes, even in our room. Simply picture-perfect in every sense.

Room Tip: If you can opt for one of the suites, it's a definite plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caranastasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Had a nice stay at the J&J. It's only a short stroll to some of the best resturants in Florence. We found it within easy walking distance of all the major Florence sights , and only 15 mins walk from the station.
The hotel it's self was in a narrow side street. It looks small and unimpressive from the outside , but once inside it's very quaint. Staff were more than helpful with a great breakfast and as mentioned before, free wine in the evening before you venture out to fab resturants.
This is not a hotel for someone who likes the "Major hotel " experience, but it was just what we were looking for. We were initially dissapointed by our room ( room 20 ) but we had booked using travel points so maybe other rooms were better ( they looked a bit more upmarket on the web site ).
However, we would recommend the J&J and would certainly stay again if in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at J and J. There was a relaxing and friendly atmosphere and large spacious rooms. We had a room attached to a little courtyard and seating area, a lovely surprise. The hotel is situated down a side street slightly away from the hustle and bustle but we feel this was in its favour. It was a short5-10min to the Duomo and centre, yet we found wonderful shops, bars and restaurants very close by. This also meant it has a less tourist feel to the area. Breakfast was always fresh and tasty and staff always friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfy, great shower too. Would definitely recommend J and J's!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#55 of 412 in Florence
1,569 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#84 of 412 in Florence
1,193 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#123 of 412 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J Historic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J Historic House Hotel

Property: J & J Historic House Hotel
Address: Via di Mezzo 20, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#143 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — J & J Historic House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star hotel located in the historical centre of Florence... wonderful buffet breakfast, Free Wi-Fi internet and a charming and accomodation staff are what awaits you at our wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your J & J Historic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel j And
j And Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing