We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique historic property with charming host and...”
other travellers have booked this property
View of Florence and pool from the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Florence and pool from the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
View of Florence and pool from the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
claire l
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique historic property with charming host and unbelievable views.”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had perused the impressive photos on the Torre di Bellosguardo website in anticipation of our visit during May half term, planned for a peaceful escape for GCSE revision, but even these lovely photographs could not have prepared us for the sheer jaw dropping beauty of both the hotel itself and rhe incredible 360 degree views of Florence, below and elegant Tuscan countryside tbehind .
Even our supercool, rarely impressed teenage son was completely blown away on arrival.
We stayed in the Casa di Rosa apartment, which was extremely comfortable and spacious and had a large, private sunny terrace to the rear, overlooking a lily pond and lovely country views .
To the front of the property was a pretty courtyard with water feature and an orange tree laden with fruit.
The hotel itself looked like a wonderful operatic set, (appropriately enough, amongst others Caruso apparently once lived here). I particularly loved the orangerie and the drama of the entrance hall and reception room, absolutely stunning and incredibly atmospheric.
We felt lvery privilged to sttay here as there are I think only seven hotel rooms plus the apartment which means that the hotel retains a very special atmosphere. It feels more like a very grand but still somehow cosy private home rather than a hotel.
The owners, Amerigo and Anna Franchetti are the most charming and civilised people you could meet and their reception staff are equally welcomng and kind.
One of the major charms of the hotel's position is the wonder of being able to walk down through the beautiful and extensive gardens, past the adorable donkeys in the olive groves on a path scattered with wild flowers and to be in the centre of one of the most beautiful and importanf cultural centres in the world in fifteen minutes.,
We have learnt on a previous occasion having stayed elsewhere that having a car is a nightmare in Florence, having inadvertently drive into the historic centre and consequently picked up two hefty 300 euro fines waiting for us when we arrived home to the UK.m so to be able to stay somewhere in Florence that feels like country house but from which you can easiky walk to town is unbeatable,
We would amble ii to town in the morning for a perfect cup of coffer and a wander before heading back to the hotel for lunch and a peaceful afternoon of reviision/swimming before deciding whether to go into town again for an early evening stroll before dinner.
Wish we were still there,
Very much hope that we can return again soon and stay for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning property, charming host
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
653peggyd
Mount Juliet
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It doesn't get any more beautiful or more comfortable than this!”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I was fortunate to have spent the month of April in Casa Rosa with a friend, and it couldn't have been more glorious! The beauty of the property is extraordinary, ranging from the views of Florence to the multiple gardens on the gorgeous grounds, to the original building that houses the hotel lobby, a lovely enclosed terrace, and the sweet little bar. It was an easy 10 minute walk (down a dirt/grassy/rocky path in the gorgeous Tuscan hills) to Porta Romano, the cash machine, restaurants, coffee shops, etc. Our apartment was super comfortable and provided us with everything we needed. It was special to have the beautiful (large) terrace on which to eat lunch or from which to enjoy the view of the Tuscan hills. We also appreciated the size of the hot water tank --- we could each bathe in our respective bathrooms and never run out of hot water! The property staff are professional, kind, and helpful. I hope the stars align so that I can return! P.S. I was working from there, and the WIFI was PERFECT!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan R
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Historic building turned into marvelous hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The setting is very fine with a wonderful view over Florence. Hotel staff is very friendly and effective. The apartment Casa Rosa where we stayed, has two good bathrooms and the kitchen is well equipped.for preparing meals.We really enjoyed having dinner and discuss the day's events with our friends. What we liked most is the general ambiance. Everything in the hotel is beautiful, and genuine. The location is peaceful with an interesting garden.
We have also been at Casa Rosa in august 2015 with our grandchildren. They appreciated the pool very much.
It easy to walk downhill into the city, but we always returned by taxi (ten minutes).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The general atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing to pinpoint
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maya N
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
1 review
“FANTASTIC !”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Fantastic hotel, stunning view and plenty of wonderful memories there !!
A very welcoming place and GREAT Hotel staff !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watsonihr
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An oasis of calm, rustic charm, a short distance from Florence city centre”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After a long day exploring the historic city of Florence, a short taxi ride (cost about 10 euros from the South gate taxi rank) took us back to our apartment, an oasis of calm and rustic charm. The staff in the attached hotel and the owner himself were all very friendly and kind, ordering us taxi's - always helpful as we did not speak Italian ourselves. Nothing was too much trouble. The poolside bar had a good selection of drinks and snacks again very friendly staff.
The beds were very comfortable and the linen and towels clean and white. The men spent much time exploring the Tuscan countryside by bike and the washing machine proved very helpful for clean kit. You could walk down to Florence via a rough footpath (good idea to wear strong shoes or sandals) - it took roughly 30 mins. Tip - pre book if you want to climb the Duomo or visit Uffizi or main museum with David in it. Also the Italian system seems to be, take your voucher to one queue, then take the resulting tickets to the next queue - be patient... Great holiday - Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: insect bites - note to self - take more repellant and insect cream!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your generous review. We are delighted that your holiday was a success.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsha...
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Four months in the perfect spot in Florence”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We are on an extended tour of Italy and had decided to stay in Florence for the winter months. Lucky for us, we selected Casa Rosa, an apartment on the beautiful grounds of Hotel Bellosguardo, on the hill overlooking Florence. The apartment is perfect. The owners and the hotel staff are all extremely helpful and informative. The apartment is furnished with everything we needed to make it our second home for four months. Although we had stayed in Florence several times in the past, we had never stayed this long. The location of Casa Rosa allows you to easily walk into the city, and we often did. We were able to see the city as locals and get to know it better than we had hoped. Florence is a wonderful place and Casa Rosa is the perfect place to stay. We were able to witness the rebirth of the gardens around Easter, which are truly magnificent, especially the wisteria, irises and tulips. Hotel Belloguardo is an oasis of quiet and we loved coming "home" after a busy day in Florence. We were very sad when the time came for us to move on but we know we will return to our second home someday in the future. It was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grounds, owner and hotel staff and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Dear Guest,
It really was wonderful having you, your wife and the frisky dog. You became part of Bellosguardo. We are so happy that everything went smoothly. Thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrament...
sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat with spectacular view”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just spent 8 lovely days at the Casa Rosa apartment. It is so nice and comfortable, but the best part is the beautiful view over the hills above Florence from the apartment terrace and the sweeping view of central Florence from the grounds of the adjoining hotel. The apartment is in the quiet hills above the center, but is still very close. It is probably best to have a car, although it's easy to take a taxi down the hill. The owners are so nice and welcoming, providing everything we needed. We had use of the hotel pool and other amenities. (The hotel is a gorgeous 16th century villa). The tiled apartment terrace runs along the entire length of the dining/living room. We enjoyed sitting out there for meals and cocktail hour. The evening light on the scattered villas across the way is quite magical. We couldn't have found a better place to escape after a day of sightseeing in town amid the crowds of other tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;