We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely one of the better B&B in this price range” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black 5 Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black 5 Florence
Ranked #257 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely one of the better B&B in this price range”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Black 5 in August. The stay was pleasant, especially with their nice AC in the summer days. Check-in time is kind of limiting, so you have to plan your schedule around it. The room I had has a good size and has a mini fridge and a safe. The bathroom is nicely furnished for European standard. The room was cleaned everyday nicely. Breakfast is nice. It has standard choice of bread and cheese and ham. But the cleaning lady would make you a hot pancake and fresh coffee when you show up for breakfast. Breakfast is served on the top floor. Step outside to get a good view of the red roofs of Florence.

I have to mention the great help I got from the cleaning lady. I wish I had gotten her name. She does not speak much English but she is good at understanding and accommodating your needs. On the day I left I had 30 minutes to catch my train. She called a taxi for me. I hurried into the cab. 6 minutes later I got a call from my friend who lives in Florence, telling me that I forgot my passport in the safe in my room. Turned out the cleaning lady checked the safe as soon as I left, saw the passport and ran downstairs to find my friend in the attempt to contact me. I ended up taxi back the Black 5, picked up the passport, rushed back to the train station and boarded the train as the final boarding whistle blew. To me this is a sign of experience of the staff and they are willing to spend extra effort to help their guests. Very impressed!

Will stay here again if I go to Florence in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    78
    46
    23
    20
See reviews for
39
147
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Black 5 is located a short scenic walk from most of Florence's attractions. It is small but nicely designed and has a very good, personal and friendly service!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The staff was wonderful. The room had air conditioning, a fridge and wifi. Couldn't ask for more. Great location near Santa Croce. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcshibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice apartment rentals right in the centre of old Florence.

Slightly odd setup as you rent a room in an apartment as opposed to it being an actual hotel / b+b.

Room was decorated in a cool young style and the air conditioning worked, which was a blessing given it was 30deg at night!

Bathroom was ok - shower a bit weak and no toiletries (some odd shower gel on the wall).

All in all though ideal for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Location is great. You can walk to every place you want to see. Staff very friendly. Original, clean. You feel at home. Would certainly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Black Suite 5 is a beautiful place to stay in Florence. Very enchanting and not like your typical tourist hotel. The location was great - close to all the major sites. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was excllent. Overall, we couldnt have stayed anywhere nicer. Would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy021065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Black Suite 5 is a lovely place to stay in Florence. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. It is not really a hotel- they check you in from 2-6pm only (later by appt and it costs additional). You are given keys to the front door, elevator, doors to suite entrance and your room. There is land line Internet. A fridge with free water. Clean bathrooms. The beds are quite comfortable with lovely lush linens. I stayed in corner room no. 6 and it had windows on 2 sides of the building. I have read other reviews complaining about the nosie. Anyone who stays in this part of Florence knows that is a very lively place at night. Especially Via G. Verdi. And especially on the weekends and in summer! But it is part of the adventure of staying in a wonderful location! I would stay here again. It is also very private. The suites were full the night I was there and I never saw another guest!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#116 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#165 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Uffizi
Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
#26 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Santa Croce
Isola d'Arno
Isola d'Arno
#293 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Santa Croce
A Teatro B&B
A Teatro B&B
#270 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black 5 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black 5 Florence

Property: Black 5 Florence
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black 5 Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black 5 Florence Suite is a Charming Bed and Breakfast located in the Santa Croce Area of Florence's historical centre. It offers, Free WiFi, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, Air-Conditioned rooms, hairdryer and private Bathroom. Breakfast is settled in Your Room complimentary. Rooms are decorated in different styles and colours to provide a cosy atmosphere and different experiences. The Black 5 Florence Suite is located less than 5 minutes walking away the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Wellness Center is at 500 mt walking distance from Black 5 Florence and is available if you book it in advance. All Rooms are, with ensuite bathroom, whirlpool bath or shower, hairdryer, large and bright windows. They all look onto the central Via Verdi. They are equipped with Free WiFi, air conditioning, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, TV, Safe, Antiallergic Mattresses, Double pillows and bed linen in pure Egyptian cotton.Breakfast settled in Your Room consist of: Coffee or Tea, Milk, Brioches, Muesli,Crisp Bread, Butter, Jam, Honey, Yogurt, Orange Juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Black 5 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black 5 Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing