We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, terrible food and service”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, terrible food and service”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I agree with Charlie635 - the service here is definitely not up to par with other Relais & Chateaux hotels or other luxury hotels. I'm surprised this hotel is even still in the Relais & Chateaux network - either the food and service need to be drastically improved, or it should not be included in the group anymore as these two elements were sub-standard and ruined the experience for us. I've had excellent experiences at Relais & Chateaux hotels in other parts of Italy, France and in the US. Details below:

The positives:
The exterior of the hotel, lobby, bathrooms, breakfast area, grounds and pool are all beautiful. The shuttle service into Florence was also very convenient. Marco was the one exception to the bad service - he upgraded us and offered us complimentary breakfast after we had to wait twenty minutes watching the bellboy try to get into our room with a key that didn't work, and then couldn't get in the room again the next morning (same key issue) and it was only when I finally went downstairs to find someone else were we able to get in. The hotel should've offered us a quick and better solution immediately (Marco was not there till the next day but he resolved the issue in quick and professional five star fashion). Sleep quality, location and cleanliness were fine.

The negatives:
The food here is so bad (taste & quality) I ended up skipping my meals on the last day as I had gotten sick from the lunch the day before. This was really disappointing as Tuscan food is known to be delicious.

The rooms could also do with a bit of renovation. The furniture is a bit outdated and the decoration is not very tasteful.

Service - the concierge told my husband that one of the tourist sites was open Sunday morning when it wasn't so he ended up going all the way there to find out it was closed after all. Concierge's should know these things. Then when we asked for a non-touristy restaurant recommendation for dinner they sent us to a horrible tourist joint so we actually had to leave and find somewhere else upon recommendation from friends. Lastly I had gotten a late check out from one of the ladies at the front desk, and afterwards her counterpart told us we were supposed to check out already, in quite an unfriendly, unprofessional way. They do not seem to work together as they were clearly not on the same page.

Room Tip: Suite only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegypsyjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    82
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
179
469
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As our taxi approached this hotel in Florence, our family commented on the beautiful sight of a building and its surroundings facing us and wondered if it the place had once been a palazzo. Then we realized this was our hotel and we were all overjoyed. Our host greeted us warmly and gave us a tour of the ground floor of the hotel as he shared the history of the place. The rose gardens surrounding the hotel form a perfect frame to the beautiful building. The infinity edge pool adjacent to the restaurant and bar also add to the beauty of the place. One evening our family celebrated the setting of the Tuscan sun from the rooftop terrace of the hotel. What a fabulous view of Florence!! The rooms were finely decorated and quite comfortable. The hotel is located outside of the center of town which we actually preferred because it is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowds. You can still walk to the center of Florence (which we did) but it is a long walk. Palazzo Pitti is within a comfortable walking distance from the hotel. A better option may be to use the free shuttle service offered by the hotel but you must check on available hours for this service because it is not available throughout the entire day. Unlike other hotels we stayed in during our visit in Italy, breakfast was not included in the hotel rate but the room service menu provided some reasonably priced breakfast choices. Our family definitely enjoyed staying in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmarieg056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much to write this nice review about the hotel, its facilities and most of all about the enjoyable stay that you had in our property, we are so glad and proud when we receive such nice comments that we can't wait to share them with all the hotel's staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests and we thank you again very much to take your time to write this feedback about the Hotel.
Our warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Beautiful hotel, but terrible, terrible service. The owners have obviously spent a fortune restructuring this beautiful villa, but have overlooked customer service training. The director was arrogant and presumptuous. Not at all up to the standards that a customer of a 5*L hotel would expect. And they wonder why the tourist industry in Italy is in crisis.





  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for spending your time writing to Villa Cora. I kindly ask you to send me more details of your stay such as arrival date, how was phisically the person you spoke with, and why have you indicated in particular the Director.

Thank you for coming back to me, in order to send you a proper explanation,

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay, booked a deluxe room via Expedia which was not much more than the standard room, averaged about £240 per night sterling. On arrival was upgraded to a suite, no idea why but but very welcome. Room was amazing, separate sitting room with sofa, double aspect room with views over pool and front garden. Two bathrooms one with walk in shower and one with huge bathtub all in white marble. Room had every convenience, infinite lighting options, 2 zone air conditioning, writing desk, 2 large TV screens, starched white linen, the thickiest ultra white towels etc. Lots of hotels can furnish a hotel room well and provide the usual trappings, but at Villa Cora this is done in exquisite detail by somebody who knows exactly what they are doing. Housekeeping was immaculate, every tap, shower screen, chrome towel rail buffed and polished. Many years ago i was a trainee hotel manager and had to do my share of checking hotel rooms so appreciate how high the standard is here. Every member of staff very friendly and welcoming especially Antonio reception manager and Pamela who seemed to be working everywhere. From first arrival service could not have been smoother or more efficient. These staff have all been trained by on old school expert and do it brilliantly. Breakfast buffet by poolside restaurant had everything i wanted, including cooked to order omelettes and pastries made by chef, seems a bit pricey at 25 euros but when you realise a can of coke will cost you 5 euros in central Florence it is a bargain. Would certainly be my first choice for return to Florence. Only thing that could have improved stay would be some English language channels other than News on the TV but then not found that anywhere in Europe

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe they are not much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.
We will improve our Tv English Channels

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Excellent hotel in an idyllic location, great attentive service, friendly staff and flexible shuttle bus service into Florence centre. Rooms are very clean and excellent size, antique furnishings made the finishing touch


  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!

All the team of Villa Cora and me are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's a real pleasure to have such guest like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

With my warmest regards,

Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

As others have mentioned in their reviews, there are very few words that can adequately describe how amazing this hotel is. It is a castle, after all, and the staff treat you like royalty. From the time we checked in (sitting at a quaint little desk), and all throughout your stay we experienced excellent service including: restaurant suggestions from knowledgeable concierge's, friendly shuttle drivers (who were extremely timely and who managed to make navigating through the tiny streets in those large mercedes vans-without killing themselves or someone else-seem effortless), very sweet and experienced spa staff who make sure you are relaxed and pampered, and the most amazing view of Florence you will find. Plus, a very comfortable and beautiful room, with fancy bath soaps and necessities! This hotel really spoils you!!

Only advice I have is:
1) Be sure to wear some sort of shoe that will stop you from slipping if you decide to utilize the jacuzzi or sauna. Everything is marble and wet, so it's very easy to be swept off of your feet, literally, and land on your 'bum". Luckily, nothing was broken (unless you count my pride :) and the spa staff went out of their way to make sure I was okay.
2) Be sure to have dessert in the town because they don't really have options for after dinner at the bar and their room service menu is not very extensive in that area.
3) If you take the train, walk to Republic Square and call the hotel to have the shuttle pick you up or take a taxi. We made the mistake of trusting a driver who approached us at the train station and who charged us 40 Euro to take us to the hotel, which we found out was horrible since the taxi who brought us to the train from the hotel only charged us 25 Euro!

Room Tip: I can't imagine this place has a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamFosterTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.

We also thank you to let us know and point out those details that need to be improved and are pleased to inform that:

1) At the SPA we do have a sign that says to wear sleepers, that are also supplied by our SPA Manager

2) We wish to inform you that proper actions have been taken to expand our after dinner dessert menu

3) Our Shuttle service does not do transfer service, we do offer a private hotel shuttle to take guests from Villa Cora to the city center (any place) and vice-versa.

looking forward to welcoming you back soon

My warmest regards
Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very few words can describe how exquisite this hotel is. From the moment you walk into the hotel you are blown away by the beautiful settings, each room is unique. The service & standard of food is everything you could wish for in a 5* + hotel. If you want to treat yourself to a life of luxury even for a short break book this hotel. You'll be made to feel like a superstar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team
Looking forward to welcoming you back .

My warmest regards

Claudio Delli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 422 in Florence
1,452 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
501 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,128 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing