We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews ring true - stunning hotel”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The reviews ring true - stunning hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

After a week split between Rome, then Positano (Amalfi Coast), I thought it would be hard to top the amazing architecture and stunning sea views I'd become accustomed to so quickly. Arriving at the train station the eve of Ferragosto, Florence was fairly subdued. A quick taxi from the train station into the town's majestic hills, and suddenly I was hit by the beauty of the trees and greenery.

The hotel made it all the more nicer - gorgeous pool, restaurant and outdoor lounge area. Very friendly and helpful staff, from the concierge to the wait staff. As dinner was fairly expensive for our budget, we decided the split the various courses, which themselves aren't huge dishes being a nice resto and all. The wait staff were very attentive here and were bringing us lots of fresh homemade bread, complimentary hor d'oeuvres/tasting plates... It was more than appreciated and made our stay that much more enchanting. Even at the breakfast buffet (worth for the prices you'll pay for normal a la carte food items), the staff offered to serve us once they started closing to prepare for lunch.

When we first got to the rooms my fiancé could only laugh and be humbled. Gorgeously decorated, with a luxurious bathroom and stunning stone terrace overlooking the city (room #302). Not huge but we're not fussy over that - quality over quantity. Plus the terrace was bigger than the room! I even got out for my first eurotrip run outside the hotel grounds, and workout in their cramped but none the less complimentary gym. Just beautiful all around.

For the price we paid for one night this was easily the nicest place we've ever stayed (and admittedly the only 5 star). My only regret is we didn't book another night and get to hangout around the pool area more. Be prepared to spend when all the bills add up (room, resto, snacks + drinks, etc...) but definitely worth it if you're looking to relax with your significant other. Perfect for engagement, honeymoon or anniversary hotel when staying in Florence. The complimentary shuttle even dropped us off at our next hotel after we'd checked out! It was only a 5 min drive over the bridge, most of the time taken by waiting for tourists to get out of way. If I ever come back to Florence I will definitely try to come back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevinthorne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Client ,
thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback of the hotel and staff. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed all the hotel's facilities , too, from the swimming pool area to the restaurant and gym. We are also pride and happy to know that the restaurant staff and the concierge were very attentive and efficient yet friendly.. this is one of the things that matters more for us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel as our precious guests and we remain with our
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    81
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
175
456
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and grounds. Room was a little small but had its own terrace. Stunning public rooms with a great pool area. Restricted budget meant I could only stay here for one night but after days of walking around Florence and Siena just to be able to relax here and lie in the pool was worth every penny. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftturnclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Client,

We want to thank you to take your time to write a feedback about the Hotel, first of all. We are so glad of course that yours was a positive comment about the Hotel and its facilities. A bit of a shame that you had to stay at the Hotel only for 1 night. Hopefully next time you'll be able to stay longer and enjoy more our Property.
We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa as our precious guests.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at villa cora for four nights in July. This was our second visit and it was even more amazing second time around. It is an oasis of calm and luxury situated a couple of miles outside centre of Florence. The public rooms are beautiful and the bedrooms are wonderfully designed and all extras are there. My husband adores their bath products! Staff are very attentive and helpful and their is a shuttle bus to take you into centre all day. We tried the barbecue thAt takes place every Wednesday and Sunday. Food was excellent. Pool area also lovely. Can't wait to go back next year. Karen and Simon Fox

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Simon and Karen,

You will forgive us if we reply to you in a way which is not too formal .. we only want to say THANK YOU fo your kind feedback about the hotel but most of all for being our regular and precious clients. We really hope this message finds you well and look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora.
Warm regards
Hotel's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
600 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

wonderful palace in a middle a lovely park at 10 mn from the center of Florence. Rooms are all different and spacious. the service is outstanding. you have a service to take you in town. You don't feel to be in a hotel but living on another planet as the palace is so luxurious. ceiling is 6 meters high even in the rooms. my only deception was the breakfast. nothing much local. Same food inParis, London or NY.
However a wonderfull stay. a must go when visiting Florence but get ready to spend money..expensive place but exceptionnal

Room Tip: take a room in the palace. check to room on internet, the pictures are exactly what you get. ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Clients ,

Thank you very much to spend your time writing this nice review about the hotel and its services and facilities. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay at our Grand Hotel Villa Cora and look forward to welcoming you again to our Propery as our precious guests.

Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Everything about this hotel is just right. Florence is stunning but in honesty, can be overwhelming and very hot. Villa Cora is the perfect retreat at the end of the day.

There is a beautiful and peaceful feel to the place. The hotel is stunning with some very ornate and grand rooms but also some understated but elegant rooms - I'd had slight concerns that it might be "overdone" but no, this has been carefully considered. There is nothing tacky here. (I'd found a ridiculous and "vampy" promotional video on-line that almost put me off - but thankfully, it didn't represent the atmosphere at all).

The restaurant and food are perfect with the staff being polite and helpful but still "human."
During the hotter months, the pool is a godsend and the pool area has been done beautifully.

We'll definately be returning..

Room Tip: I'm sure all the bedrooms are fabulous but let's face it, you don't spend much time look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayMum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a review about the hotel. We are very glad and proud that you enjoyed your stay at our Property and got impressed about the Hotel's facilities, Staff and grand rooms. We agree with you and believe that , especially during summer time, our beautiful swimming pool area is the perfect place to stay in and relax. Also we are very happy to know that you experienced a different atmosphere from the one you were expecting to find because our first goal is to make our customers feel as they were at a special home attended by professional yet friendly and polite staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora .
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Loved the room decor though they were small. Pool was amazing. Gorgeous yummy breakfast. Nice to be outside city hustle but not too far away. Very happy with this choice! Helpful staff. Slow service poolside and small gym but neither were big complaints.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CACinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear clients ,

Thank you very much to take your time to write a review about our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Property and we will share this good feedback with the whole hotel's staff . We really look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel as our precious guests.

Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Villa Cora and the hotel was spectacular, the hotel grounds were amazing especially the beautiful pool area. The hotel itself is only a 5/10 minute cab ride (25 minute walk) from the heart of Florence but worth it after dealing with the crowds and heat in downtown Florence. The staff we dealt with were all very nice and accommodating. The food in the hotel was good but we never managed to make it to breakfast which was a shame as we were told that it was great. We did book a table for the BBQ on the Sunday night which was great and well worth the 55 euro's per head with wine included. I can honestly say that this hotel has to be one of my favorite hotel and my wife’s new favourite! We both loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenT1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your positive review about the Hotel. We are very glad that you have enjoyed so much the hotel's facilities such as the pool where , especially during the summer, many events and special evenings are taking place to create a magic atmosphere. We are so happy, too, that you have tried our barbecue and that you say it was great.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests.
Our Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing