We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently stayed on a 2 1/2 day stopover in Florence. Was fantastic to have a place just outside the city which acted as a welcome oasis. And a beautiful one. Fantastic property - the hotel and grounds are gorgeous. Great restaurant, and great support (reference, reservations, etc.). They arranged fantastic dining in town. Shuttle to get you around. Just a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice words ! receiving such a beautiful feedback makes us feel like having achieved our goal! we are so happy to read that you had a good time with us and that you could enjoy with satisfaction the hotel's facilities as well as having experienced a professional yet friendly service with the whole staff.
We hope that we 'll always be your home anytime that you happen to be in Florence!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    81
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
174
456
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just come back from our wedding/honeymoon in beautiful Italy. Our favorite place to stay was the Grand Hotel Villa Cora. We had our wedding there in the Salon on Mirrors and our reception in the Pool Side Restaurant. We along with our quest stayed at the villa for several days and were treated wonderful. The rooms and the grounds are so beautiful and the staff were all so helpful and acomadating. The food was excellent. We will definately be going back to the Villa.
Debra & David VanLue
Livermore, Ca

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrahunt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Debra and Mr. David,

We really thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you and your guest enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Cora and that you spent a memorable wedding/Honeymoon and holidays with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have staid three days for a business meeting in the hotel and received great service.
The hotel is just beautiful with so much attention to detail. Everything is only but the best. Lovely breakfast at the pool and very tasteful lunches. Front office and Restaurant staff were so helpful.
Location is ideal, it feels like being in the country but you are so quickly in the city centre of Florence. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we really thank you for your beautiful and nice review, and we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Cora .

Thank you for your marvelous words regarding the Villa in itself, the restaurant, the food and your positive comment regarding the staff and the service.

We wish you to welcoming back again in Florence and of course at Villa Cora!

Warmest Regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and may well return.

All of the staff were very anxious to please and the building and it's location are both excellent. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Florence to be peaceful and relaxing and yet close enough to go in to town for dinner in the hotel shuttle bus in less than 15 minutes.

The pool area is excellent.

Although we were generously upgraded to a junior suite after we said we thought the first room we were offered had some drawbacks the suite itself was rather small and had a less than perfect layout so if the shape and size of your room is important to you I suggest you make some enquiries and find out exactly what you are getting at the time of reservation - as we will if and when we return.

Also if I am being totally honest and without wishing to detract from the favorable tone of my review I have to say that for a hotel of this standard some of the staff could do with a little more training because there were a few too many small mistakes and the breakfast buffet, though very nice, was in danger of becoming more style than substance.

Don't let any of this put you off though because as I have said this is a lovely hotel in a great location and the staff were charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time spent writing your comment and for sharing it with other people on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return.
Thank you for pointing that the staff is charming, the building and it's location are both excellent and that The hotel is peaceful and relaxing.

Your feedback is a precious suggestion for our every-day operations, and we wish to inform you that proper actions have been taken to improve our service.

On the other hand we would like to remind that our buffet breakfast is "a la carte" and you may have everything express and fresh.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

My warmest regards

Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eufaula
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Exquisite surroundings, exceptional service, and can't wait to return...took care of all the details for private Tuscany tour and birthday dinner! We dined in the cellar room and just loved the spring risotto!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guests,
We have received your beautiful review and we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay so much at our Villa Cora . Thank you for your wonderful words about the property, its facilities and the service and most of all for being our valuable guests.
Warm greetings from what we hope will be your new home anytime you happen to be in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Villa Cora, in my view, is singularly the best Florence has to offer. Elegant, intimate, & gracious, this hotel and its staff are awesome. I recently (May 2014) had the privilage to organise a dinner for 36 people in the Mirror Room of this hotel. If you are having a special Dinner or a wedding banquet this is the place for you. Yes, even if it means flying half way around the world! The Staff are so amazing, helpful, polite, gracious, capable and above all so ready to serve. Their elegant table settings, their attention to detail - not to mention the amazing Strawberry Bellini ! The food, beautifully presented, substantial portions with excellent flavour makes the diner feel satiated. The service is top class. Even though the Villa is just outside the city center, so one needs to use the transfer, it is worth it. As you know, a famous couple recently got married in Florence, so if you want to share in some of that Galm and style, this is the place to choose!

Room Tip: The Suite on the first floor (or shall I say appartment) has great views across the gardens , a magn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Dubaidiva,

thank you for your beautiful review on your dinner at Villa Cora.
We are so happy to read that you and all the guest of your party have such a good memory of your special night in the Mirror room.

Hopefully you will be able to back to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Simone Giorgi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Imagine you are resting next to the pool in hot day, sipping glass of champagne, the smell of roses from surrounding gardens embraces you and in front of you opens the magnificent view of gracious Florence. This is real if you stay in Villa Cora. The Villa is beautiful, public rooms/halls are magical as they do retain their original characters. Each hall is different and you are free to use the rooms for any occasions you wish for. Halls are very well kept and you do feel the spirit of Princess Eugenia, the wife of Napoleon the third living in the villa once. I know it sounds unbelievable but you should try and see for yourself. Rooms are very nice, beautiful, with comfortable beds. Our one room had a fantastic view over Florence. Bathrooms are slightly small but with high quality products, fixtures and simply elegant. Utmost attention of the staff to adults and even more to kids is unbelievable, you are treated like a royalty and the staff will appear out of nowhere should you need them. And when it comes to the food in the restaurant – it is Florence there is not bad food but with beautiful property, amazing staff and great chief we certainly enjoyed few dinners we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagik 'Chuck' G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review.
from the title to the the description, your comment on Villa Cora made us very proud and I will be pleased to share your words with all the staff.

We look forward to welcome you again to Villa Cora on your future trip to Florence.

Kind Regards,

Simone Giorgi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing