We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic opulence but overpriced”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“classic opulence but overpriced”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days in a mini suite. The difference between a suite and a double is overstated. The suite has more square footage, sure, and a sofa, but my advice is stick with a double.

The hotel seems a little disjointed. There are many spaces on the ground floor that seem unattended.
There is plenty of staff, all very polite and helpful, but they are congregated either at the front door or in the resturant.
There's no thriving bar in the main building. You need to walk to the pool building (which is great) and find some refreshment there. There's another building which houses the spa in the basement.
The finish in all areas is top notch, the complimentary shuttle to town is essential (the hotel is too far to walk on a regular basis), the resturant (also next to pool) is ok.
It was a tossup between this hotel and the 4 seasons. This hotel got it because trip advisor was suggesting it was half the price. By the time you get redirected to whichever website ...it isn't! It was actually dearer at 700+euro/ night...the place ticks all the boxes but just somehow not enough to wow me into thinking that the price justified the product.
Sorry villa cora but nah, at top dollar you need some more substance to go with the style.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bu11seye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at Villa Cora, and for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is a precious suggestion for our every-day operations and it will help us to improve our service.

Regarding your comment we would like to pointed that we have different accomodations subdivided between the Principal Villa and other two adjacent structures that range from rooms to suites with different style and size.

We are a Resort and as such during the summer our Guest prefer to stay around the Pool area and, from October to April the Hall of MirrorsThe Sala degli Specchi, considered to be Florence’s finest ballroom as well as the Moorish Hall, the Hall of Cards and the White Hall are used by our Guest and full of life.

We are a five stars resort and as such our services reflect the standards requested.

We really thank you once again for staying with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Villa Cora in the near future us our Guest for 1 night on a complimentary basis.

My warmest Regards

Simone Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    81
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
174
454
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed here several times and it really stays wonderful. From check in until check out it was flawless. The gardens stay beautiful full of thousands of white rose blossoms. The pool is a great relief from the pleasures of central Florence. The van drivers are so polite and helpful and central Florence is thus so easy to visit. The rooms on the "piano nobile" are so tasteful and comfortable . The restaurant was full every night because it was so good. But most of all from the general manager to the front desk staff to the restaurant cooks and staff and on , it was so pleasant and charming. My dog was treated as royalty , it was his third visit. We were all made to feel as honored guests. There are not many hotels that can achieve that goal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We simply want to say THANK YOU for this so beautiful review about our Hotel and Staff but, most of all, for being our valuable and regular guests !
We really hope that Villa Cora will always keep being your home anytime that you come to Florence!
Our warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedlescombe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I knew what to expect in the glorious & lavish interiors from the many photos I'd seen, but they cannot show the highest quality of care from all the staff ! The attention to detail, wonderful food & sublime surroundings made this four day respite after a wedding so special ! Breakfast is displayed like a work of Art, & nothing is to much trouble from the courteous staff.
Dinner by the beautifully lit poolside & their very own Villa Cora Chianti ! Bathroom , all marble & every woman's dream !
There's a free mini-bus shuttle takes 7 minutes into town dropping off point at The Savoy & seriously expensive Designer shops, a stroll to the Duomo & the most delicious gelato in the world ! Mojito flavour for me!
This is a truly wonderful experience, you get what you pay for & it's worth it !

Room Tip: We chose a room at the front with a balcony, first floor & there is a lift !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been a real pleasure to receive your wonderful review about our Villa Cora. We are so happy to read that you had a great time at our property and that you could enjoy every single detail of your stay in that has been and hope will be again your home anytime you come to Florence.
Thank you very much because , besides to tell the beauty of the place, your kind words really help to make understand which is our commitment to the service for all our valued guests.
We really look forward to welcoming you again soon to our Villa Cora!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora, a privately owned establishment. The staff were naturally helpful, attentive, friendly and not overbearing. The small things that make the difference were provided: mini mint ices, fruit drinks offered with a smile while relaxing at the pool. The restaurant was pleasant and next to the pool, the food good. The look was sophisticated Italian which is also reflected in the rooms.My husband and I would definitely return.
The hotel is also perfectly placed for access to Florence and areas in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Signora Elizabeth,

La ringraziamo di cuore per aver pubblicato questa bellissima recensione ma soprattutto per essere stati, Lei e Suo marito, nostri gentili ospiti. Nella speranza di potervi riaccogliere presto nel nostro Villa Cora Le porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently stayed on a 2 1/2 day stopover in Florence. Was fantastic to have a place just outside the city which acted as a welcome oasis. And a beautiful one. Fantastic property - the hotel and grounds are gorgeous. Great restaurant, and great support (reference, reservations, etc.). They arranged fantastic dining in town. Shuttle to get you around. Just a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice words ! receiving such a beautiful feedback makes us feel like having achieved our goal! we are so happy to read that you had a good time with us and that you could enjoy with satisfaction the hotel's facilities as well as having experienced a professional yet friendly service with the whole staff.
We hope that we 'll always be your home anytime that you happen to be in Florence!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just come back from our wedding/honeymoon in beautiful Italy. Our favorite place to stay was the Grand Hotel Villa Cora. We had our wedding there in the Salon on Mirrors and our reception in the Pool Side Restaurant. We along with our quest stayed at the villa for several days and were treated wonderful. The rooms and the grounds are so beautiful and the staff were all so helpful and acomadating. The food was excellent. We will definately be going back to the Villa.
Debra & David VanLue
Livermore, Ca

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrahunt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Debra and Mr. David,

We really thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you and your guest enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Cora and that you spent a memorable wedding/Honeymoon and holidays with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have staid three days for a business meeting in the hotel and received great service.
The hotel is just beautiful with so much attention to detail. Everything is only but the best. Lovely breakfast at the pool and very tasteful lunches. Front office and Restaurant staff were so helpful.
Location is ideal, it feels like being in the country but you are so quickly in the city centre of Florence. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we really thank you for your beautiful and nice review, and we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Cora .

Thank you for your marvelous words regarding the Villa in itself, the restaurant, the food and your positive comment regarding the staff and the service.

We wish you to welcoming back again in Florence and of course at Villa Cora!

Warmest Regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing