We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #6 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed 4 March 2005

the best in Florence, great staff, especially at front desk, location is perfect, in the quiet area of Viale dei Colli, few steps to centre. A shuttle service is available. We spent 5 days, last Oct. in this unique example of neo classic style and we did enjoy our vacation. Surely next year we will be back at Villa Cora.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank motoilaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    85
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
193
492
13
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 July 2004

The hotel and pool are both lovely. I had a double room at a reduced rate through orbitz in the adjacent building. The room was adequate though it looked on to the laundry and was dark. Friends were in a corner room with two double beds in the main building that was large with views of the city and the pool. The staff for the most part was quite friendly however the front desk staff was not. The men at the front desk (all men, never saw a woman) seemed quite put out that they were expected to deal with guests. It was a shock given how nice the rest of the staff was. If you can laugh at that sort of attitude as we did, it's a non-issue though.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara county, california
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2004

If you want to stay where Anthony Hopkins, Roy Scheider, or other celebs stay and be treated just like them, then you need to stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora in breathtaking Firenze!

Every year (sometimes twice a year, depending on the level of stress that needs to be detoxed from my busy life), I travel to Italy - my favorite country and Florence - my favorite city in the entire world!

I discovered Villa Cora in 2001 and go there regularly to be pampered with multiple options that range from luxurious salt baths, luscious robes; unbelieveably sleeping accommodations; incomparable Florentine cuisine, and with every attention to detail you can imagine or not imagine. This hotel is definitely a Destination Hotel - 5 Star Luxury Hotel!

The hotel is situated in the most exclusive neighborhood in Florence - where multi-million dollar/euro villas line Tuscan roads. I usually wake in the morning and take brisk walks in my bird-whistling, antiquated tree-towering neighborhood and can actually feel invigorated as I breath the Tuscan air (you must remember I live in California).

Always e-mail ahead of time and make sure your e-mail is to the attention of "Stefano - Chief Concierge." As a guest I have known Stefano for four years and he will do "whatever it takes" to make sure you will never forget your time in Florence such as assuring that you have a limousine waiting for you at the airport/train station; coordinate a day trip to San Gimigano with shopping/lunch and wine tasting, or even coordinate your wedding at this unparalled hotel. In fact, I plan to invite my guests to this hotel for my wedding ceremony on its grounds when I walk down the aisle.

For the very best attention to detail, ask for Stefano and let him know that "Darlene from Solvang, California" sent you. You will be treated like a prince or princess, which you are!

Enjoy and treat yourself to this memorable and regenerating experience - you deserve it!

Helpful?
19 Thank firenzetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 January 2004

We went for our honeymoon there and did not know what to expect. The views form your bedroom is something to be admired. The whole suite was just one of the best hotels I have ever visited. The only other hotel this good was the Mandarin Hotel in Kuala Lumpur. My wife and I will be visiting Villa Cora again.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 August 2003

This is a beautiful hotel, especially the public rooms where you feel as though you are royalty. The standard rooms are also quite nice, but a bit small. I would rec. a delux room in the main house upon booking.
The pool and location are also terrific. It's great to take a swim while on vacation and having the hotel just outside the city gates is a pleasant plus. Who wants crowds all day long!The only unfortunate thing is the service. While many of the front desk folks are wonderful and helpful, a couple of them are very cranky...avoid the large man with the goatee and go to whoever else is on duty.Have fun!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2003

The Villa Cora sits above Florence, which has both advantages and disadvantages. A walk down 30 minutes or so is through a lovely area of parks and big homes. The hotel furnishes complimentary limo service to and from the Ferragamo building on the via Tounabuoni. We stayed for a week early in March (this month). I made a reservation by phone while on a train from Venice to Florence and asked for a special rate. For 250 euros per night, we had a large suite a sitting room with a bath (shower only) and a bedroom with a full bath. Our view was over the swimming pool (not in use in March!) into a park-like area, and to the side we could see the rooftops of central Florence delightful. Service was impeccable. The hotel has an extensive and good breakfast buffet. Although we ate dinner down in the city each night, everything I heard about the hotel restaurant was favorable. Our daughter and another young woman joined us in Florence for two nights and they had an identical suite for the same price. Not only that, but when the hotel restaurant's maitre d' discovered our daughter was coming, he sent a box of chocolates (from Rivoire) and a bottle of champagne to their suite! Incidentally, the hotel also has access to the Internet. We were treated wonderfully throughout our stay. I'm not sure this had anything to do with it, but we were told that the hotel was struggling, and it seemed that they were hosting very few dinners or small conventions. Our visit also came at a time when Florence apparently had an unusually small number of tourists because of the impending war.

Helpful?
10 Thank drover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2003

Wonderful hotel. Great service, beautiful rooms. The only bad point was that it was far from the city attractions.

Helpful?
6 Thank lasvegasvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
798 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,198 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 412 in Florence
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing