We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Hill!”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #6 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Over the Hill!”
Reviewed 2 November 2006

This property is tired and badly needs refurbishment, both to the rooms/facility and to the attitude of key members of the staff. The public areas are beautiful but then you have to go to rooms where there is no temperature control and you can't open the windows without letting in every biting insect imaginable, showers are broken, and TVs barely work. (A bellman worked over an hour to get ours to turn on.) Not even a three star hotel when strictly evaluating room comfort, cleanliness, and staff. (However, the breakfast servers were Great!)

  • Liked — Servers at breakfast were friendly and attentive.
  • Disliked — Room conditions
  • Tips/Secrets — There are much better values in Florence.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    85
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
193
493
13
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We have stayed at some of the best hotels in Europe and we would place Villa Cora near the top. The concierge staff bent over backwards for us and was as pleasant as can be. Stefano and Roberto were friendly and always smiling. They always greeted us, made reservations for everything within minutes of our requests, and were knowledegeable about restaurants, museums, and transportation. The breakfasts were delicious with some of the best fruits and croissants. We were able to order eggs whatever way you desired with a variety of meats on the side. The pool was refreshing and the grounds beautiful. They are closing for reservation because the structure need some fixing but what would you expect with such a grand old villa. I'll be there when the renovation is completed.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

We found the Villa Cora staff very helpful, especially after AlItlalia (dont ever use use that airline!) lost our luggage and didn't seem to care at all whether we ever got our bags back or not. They are doing a renovation soon, so i think some of the other reviewers may like the place more in the future.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berskhire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My wife and I stayed a few days at the Villa Cora this Summer. We had visited Florence before and were really looking forward to our stay. We booked the Villa Cora because it has a pool and was close to the town centre AND because it was meant to be a 5 star hotel.

1 Really unfriendly staff. I dont think the staff on the front desk liked to be disturbed. Most of their answers were monosyllabic and never with a smile. We never got a good morning or good evening from any of them.

2 Hotel had its day. The Villa Cora used to be grand I expect. Now it appears run down and old. You have to eat all your meals by the pool in a sperate building. The main hotel building only has bedrooms. They do provide meals in the main hotel but only for visitors not hotel guests. The water from our shower ran across the bathroom floor. Everyday we had to put towels down to soak the water up. Probably a legitimate health and safety issue. The hotel also smells musty and looks a bit like a furtuniture stock room.

3 Breakfast. The breakfast was very average and compared to a hotel we stayed in this Summer for a third of the prize. The staff at breakfast like the staff at reception really couldn't be bothered.

I could go on but I hope you get the idea. Don't part with your money.

On a bright note Florence is a lovely place and everyone else we met were friendly and great ambassadors for their country and city.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Giving them my money
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank BritTraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2006

After just returning from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Villa Cora, I have to disagree with the most recent reviews. My partner and I thought that the Hotel was beautiful - we were given a fabulous room with a stunning view over Florence and the pool was a wonderful and relaxing relief from the museum/gallery circuit of Florence in mid-summer.

I would agree that the staff are not overwhelmingly friendly, but nor did I find them rude or unhelpful. Basically they left us alone unless we requested assistance - the rooms were cleaned throughout the day without any inconvenience to us; the pool staff were always helpful and I have no complaints about the advice given by the front of house staff in response to our queries. It was a relief to not to have to interact with the staff unless we felt we needed to. My partner and I were perfectly relaxed wandering through the Hotel in shorts/t-shirts after a day by the pool.

The only downside to our stay was the price of the restaurant. We largely avoided this by planning our meals south of the river (about a 20 min walk). I would recommend that if you do stay here that you identify some nearby restaurants - many in the Piazza Santo Spirito are lovely.

An extremely memorable stay!

  • Liked — Pool and roome with an amazing view
  • Disliked — Restaurant prices
  • Tips/Secrets — Be specific about the type of room you want (eg. with a view) and research nearby restaurants.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phonehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2006

Although the Villa Cora is a beautiful hotel, it's almost ruined by the unbelieveable snobiness of its employees (specifically, the front desk crew.) For some reason, these people believe that since they stand at a desk in a hotel all day and night, they are far above the hotel's lowly guests. I constantly got looks implying that I wasn't dressed well enough to step foot in the villa cora (oops, i must've left my designer duds at home) while the men at the front desk were dressed in ridiculous suits that look like something bought from Goodwill in 1980. The front desk crew attempted to con us into eating at the hotels restaurant, serving "authentic" italian dishes such as pumpkin risotto (gag.) If you plan on staying at the Villa Cora, don't expect any help from the conceirge and unless you want nasty looks, don't forget your designer clothes.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gelatolover617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2006

I would not recommend this hotel. Though very pretty, the lack of guest service made my visit to Florence unenjoyable. The room air conditioning did not work, it stayed at about 82 degrees the entire time I was there. When I talked to the front desk they told me it was the same throughout the hotel and that there was nothing they could do about it. I found the front desk employees to be rude and unhelpful. My boyfriend lost his wallet in a taxi while in Florence. When I asked the front desk if they could help me calling the taxi companies they gave me a list a numbers to call. When I was told by the taxi companies that they didn't speak English or understand my Italian I asked the front desk to please help me by translating. The front desk clerk called 2 numbers and then told me that I would need to continue calling throughout the night because there was nothing else he could do. The next morning, I asked another person at the front desk if she would call. She said she would handle it. When I returned there was no message from her nor did anyone know what I was talking about. For the amount of stars attributed to this hotel, I was expecting high quality service. What was received was worse than a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bibi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 412 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
799 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,199 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing