We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely!”
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #13 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
NI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly lovely!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A little touch of luxury and a fabulous position. The whole 3 days were splendid beginning with a warm welcome at reception. The room was delightful with very comfy beds and a small but perfectly functional bathroom. Ideally situated for exploring Florence and surrounded by restaurants as well having a very relaxing lounge area with an immediate view of the river Arno and it's own quite fabulous restaurant.
What I liked least was being unable to shut the bathroom door - but I didn't even report it it was so insignificant and my most favourite thing; basil ice-cream. I would have to rate it 10/10 and one of the most amazing food experiences of my life!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    193
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
241
592
48
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Ferragamo family has exceeded itself with this tiny gem of a hotel. The location is to die for...2 steps to the Pontevecchio couldn't be better. We arrived on a day that all of Italy was on strike. The concierge was the only one there.A slip of a girl who courageously insisted upon hauling our bags up to our room.....Parking our car.....and then made reservations for us for dinner. She deserved a medal for her valor. What a delight. The room was perfect with a kitchenette (including a dishwasher...in Italy!!!). It is tucked away so perfectly with a wonderful shop downstairs that was fabulous. Walking to everything was a breeze. It was the perfect spot in the perfect city. Kudos!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Top notch luxury in Florence. Right on the banks of the Arno at the foot of the Ponte Vecchio. Try for a room on with a river view; it's worth the extra price. Very nice bedding and some river view rooms have a small balcony which is a great spot for end of the day bottle of wine. Hint: Grab a bottle of wine, cheese, etc. from a near-by cafe or store and take to your room as drinks, beer, wine are a bit pricey at Lungarno.

Free wi-fi, but it was out when we stayed and they said they have trouble with Apple products (Ipad didn't connect). They have a laptop you can borrow from the front desk to use in the lobby.

Excellent location to all sites and restaurants. Short trip to train station. Have fun!

Room Tip: Go for the river view. You can see all of Florence; the Duomo, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

What a little gem of a hotel ! Minutes away from the Ponte Vecchio, overlooking the river Arno, with spectacular views across the rooftops of Florence, it really was the perfect hotel.
Not too big, with a wonderfully comfortable lobby, immaculate service from the front desk staff, the porters and the waiters. The rooms were tremendous. I had a deluxe room overlooking the river which was wonderfully furnished, quiet, cool with air con that never went wrong, a great bathroom and walk in closet and simply so welcoming to come back to.
We dined at the hotel one night and the food in the restaurant was excellent, ask for a table on the terrace, the dining room is more practical but still comfortable. The front desk also recommended some other great restaurants near the hotel which we would never have found without their help. There is no question that I would come back here in an instant. A truly top hotel that rivals the best.

Room Tip: Splash out and for the deluxe rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Understated luxury is the name of the game at Lungarno. Sure, there's flashier hotels in Florence - there's even others in the same Ferragamo stable that are more overtly stylish - but who needs that? All you require is a fantastic location beside the Ponte Vecchio, discreet and attentive service, beautifully appointed rooms, luxurious bathrooms, and an overall experience that makes you wish you were staying for longer.

We spent three nights here on the second leg of our Italian honeymoon. Everything was flawless: from the driver greeting us at the train station to the surprise bottle of prosecco in our room to our dinner at the hotel restaurant, Borgo San Jacopo, on the terrace overlooking the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio. We spent the last night plotting our return, both to the city and the hotel - it really was a lovely experience. Of course, this doesn't come cheap - rooms start in the $US450 range in peak season - but if you have the means and prefer understated luxury to lobbies masquerading as dance parties filled with Juicy Couture wearers, this is the place for you. Oh, and don't forget to dine at Cammillo and Cinghiale, two restaurants right opposite the hotel, and then cleanse your palate with gelato from La Carraia, just a short stroll away. Bellissima!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ablcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Lungarno is in a great location to serve as a base to explore Florence on foot. Close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge and on San Jacapo with good dining options. The hotel is directly on the Arno and offers river views. Rooms are stylish and well appointed and of reasonable size by European standards. We learned that the hotel is owned by Salvatore Ferragamo (or family) which probably explained the high standards for style and service.

Room Tip: Choose river views which also appear to be quieter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Staff could not be faulted. Very helpful and attentive. Terrific location, close to Ponte Vecchio. We shall return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 411 in Florence
511 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,752 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 411 in Florence
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,488 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Property: Hotel Lungarno
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lungarno 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrivederci! Hotel Lungarno is closed and will reopen on 1st June 2017 after a full renovation Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing