We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location on the river in Florence”
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #14 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location on the river in Florence”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Arriving at The Lungarno was wonderful - superb location right on the river, beautiful lobby and friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. Our room was on the 5th floor, with a terrific view of the river, however it was VERY small and we felt cramped for the next 4 days there. The curtains were pretty, but being cream in colour and quite sheer they did nothing to keep out the lights of the city and the morning sunlight. That said, we enjoyed our stay there, and especially enjoyed the public areas on the ground floor. If you want to be close to the action in Florence, this is a good place to stay. I would definitely ask for a room with a river view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpioprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    193
    47
    13
    8
See reviews for
243
596
49
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We spent 4 wonderful nights in the hotel. Our room perhaps was a bit small but high on the 6th floor we had a huge balcony offering great views of Arno river, Ponte Vecchio and the city itself.

The room was well appointed. Staff throughout the hotel - especially breakfast staff and lounge - were very helpful, kind, and English speaking.

The hotel is very close to many major sites on both sides of the river.

We warmly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hotel Lungarno is a fabulous place to stay while in Florence. It is clean, well appointed and right on the river. The staff was friendly and helpful, The location is perfect for easy access to all the major Florence sights and the fabulous Florence shopping. There are great restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank speechcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Have you ever walked into a pricey boutique, adorned with impeccable, expensive clothing and classic accessories, only to be ignored by the staff? That is what it feels like to stay at the Hotel Lungarno. It is a “Pretty Woman” hotel experience.

Let me preface this by saying, I LOVE Ferragamo shoes; so, I was expecting the same quality, value and luxury, from the Ferragamo’s Hotel Lungarno. Upon arrival, I was charmed by the quaint aesthetic, classic flair, and picturesque views of the Ponte Vecchio; however, the “welcome mat” experience was quickly yanked from under us, and 5 days, 2 annoyed & over-whelmed waiters, 3 dismissive reception/front desk hosts, and 1 disastrous tour of Tuscany later; we left a little bruised and feeling like imposing houseguests whom had over-stayed their welcome!

Yes, location is idyllic. Yes, there is charm throughout. Yes, our room was spacious (for European standards) and lovely. But…

➢ Asked for cooking class recommendation and tour suggestions-the next day, still waiting for a response, I inquired again, and was sniped with “it has only been 24 hours since your request,” accompanied with an eye-roll and condescending tone. Well, with only 5 days in the region, every day delayed matters and how can a concierge not be acquainted with typical tourist requests? And, if I wanted to be handed a generic pamphlet of things-to-do, I would have saved my money and stayed at a motel with a rack of brochures in the lobby. (Julie-was the ONLY helpful host at the reception desk-I strongly suggest.)

➢ GUESTS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO SET THEIR OWN IN-ROOM TEMPERATURES; the front desk controls your Thermostat from the lobby and you have to call to get adjustments. We needed our heat turned on due to a chilly, wet storm front that swept through the area and we were told the heat does not get ignited until October-after 2 calls to the front desk in the middle of the night, they did eventually, warm our room, but paying adult prices to be treated like an untrusted child, left me feeling frosty. Ha!

➢ Hotel suggested a $200p.p. tour (Sienna, San Gimiagno, Chianti) from a brochure they flippantly passed out upon inquiry; which was hands-down the worst tour I have ever been on and ruined our only day exploring the Tuscan Region: how do you ruin Tuscany? Well, the guide was reported to be fluent in 4 languages; however, a Rosetta Stone language cd worth of study, doesn’t constitute fluent. And, because of the language barriers and translation confusion, we were left in Sienna, (along with several other confused people whom were consequently left in the subsequent towns) and had to pay 70 Euro ($115.00 American) to hire a taxi to the next region. Because Tuscany is not riddled with awaiting taxi cab queue’s, I had to call 6 Italian cab companies (anyone without a mobile phone or not fairly fluent in Italian would have been in dire straights) and even contacted Hotel Lungarno-which offered to send a car to pick us up at a cost of almost $400.00. Through out the tour, we stayed an average of 30-45 minutes in each town which did not allow enough time explore or even order lunch- and by the final stop, several older tourists did not leave the bus due to fears they would not be able to make it back to the meeting place and possibly be left! And the promised “lunch at a Tuscan winery” consisted of 3 small pieces of Bruschetta and miniscule tastes of mediocre wine. We were then dropped off at the Florence bus station in the middle of the night-without notice that the car that shuttled us to the meeting point in the morning was not available-therefore, we would need to find return transportation back to the hotel. As a first time visitor to Italy, I expected the noted hotel concierge to be confident in the quality and care of any recommendations given to me.

➢ Rooms were charming and spacious, but, bathrooms suited only one person at a time and required a hefty slam to close-so, a late-night restroom break, usually startled whomever was still sleeping.

➢ Broken TV-took 2 days to repair. Broken bathroom scale-took 2 days to repair.

➢ The décor is quaint, but the atmosphere is snooty-a little too whispery, “shi-shi” snobby for a 4 star rated hotel.

➢ Restaurant will not accommodate hotel guests without advanced reservations; however, when we were able to dine, the food was delicious and decadent. With the exception of 2 very cordial and very helpful waiters, we encountered; most of the service staff seemed very off-put and dismissive.

I truly believe our visit to Florence was marred by our experiences at the Hotel Lungarno-Ferragamo prices, but not Ferragamo quality, value or considerations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ncll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I wanted to report to you on an amazing experience we had at the BSJ of the Hotel Lungarno. It's across the river from the Continentale, looking onto the Ponte Vecchio. So, the service was superb! The waiters were slick, efficient, polite, nothing was a problem. They really made the experience one to remember and aim to replicate! The manager was a very charming man called Francesco, who also popped down to say hello. He was incredibly charming to us all, and really topped off the experience. From my parents through to my son, who is 8, we were all so happy to have chosen that spot to have our apperativo. We were all charmed by the experience.

Also, the appertisers were out of this world!! You have to try the bread-crumbed olives! Mama Mia!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This Hotel should be the first spot for anyone to stay for a fully spectacular Florence get away. The staff was top notch. Very attentive and we felt truly taken care of during our short four day trip. I would recomend a river view - yes extra cost but well worth it. You are two steps away from the Ponte Veechio and the views are quite wonderful on the balcony after a long day of site seeing.

The first day we arrived late that evening after taking the train from Rome, the hostess immediately set us up in our rooms. We were upgraded to an executive suite which I still dream of that amazing shower. Yes, the little things in life matter and a great showerhead can go a long way in my book! The Concierge made us a yummy recommendation at a small bistro a block away from the Hotel. The best eggs and truffles!! This is my place when I return (and I will return!!!).

Room Tip: River views are the way to go in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste_Vega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A little touch of luxury and a fabulous position. The whole 3 days were splendid beginning with a warm welcome at reception. The room was delightful with very comfy beds and a small but perfectly functional bathroom. Ideally situated for exploring Florence and surrounded by restaurants as well having a very relaxing lounge area with an immediate view of the river Arno and it's own quite fabulous restaurant.
What I liked least was being unable to shut the bathroom door - but I didn't even report it it was so insignificant and my most favourite thing; basil ice-cream. I would have to rate it 10/10 and one of the most amazing food experiences of my life!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,780 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#35 of 412 in Florence
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,274 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,502 reviews
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Property: Hotel Lungarno
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lungarno 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance. The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. The hotels spans an extensive modern art collection of over 400 artworks including Picasso, Bueno and Cocteau. Guests will be tempted by the thousands of delicacies of the Arno view restaurant Borgo San Jacopo (1 Michelin Star). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing