We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Firenze”
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #7 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our fourth stay at this wonderful Hotel - placed in the best place with wonderful views over the River Arno and the Pointe Vechio - if you can afford it! go for Room 429 - huge bedroom/bed and sitting room with a beautiful terrace looking across towards the Duomo.
The staff as helpful and polite as ever -and the Borgo San Jacopo Restauraunt is certainly one of the top places to eat.
A great location for all the sights and shopping - we would never stay anywhere else in this magnificent City.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sasparilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

There are many attributes of the Lungarno Hotel that will attract the traveller. The sumptous breakfast spread, the bar deck by the river and the courteous yet unobtrusive service. But the winning hand is the view from the rooms. The series of bridges over the Arno, the red domed Duomo with its marble clock tower and the reed roofs of Florence are all visible in cinema scope. Besides the location is so convenient that every famous Piazza or Palazzo is a short walk away.
An ideal for a romantic short break to Florence

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishad Saam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in early June, 2013. Had 2 rooms, each with a view and a terrace. Both rooms very different in size and terrace size, but were the same price.Very nice overall, but the housekeeping was inconsistent. Rooms were clean and reasonably well cared for, but the "twice daily service" only appeared once for the evening turn down, and not at all the next evening. Wasn't completely set up for 2 people--short of a couple of towels, etc. The room was pretty well maintained, but it is an older facility and these can be a challenge to keep up. Needed some touch up here and there, in my opinion. Wireless internet was essentially useless in the room, but worked fine in the lobby; hence a goodly number of guests sitting in the lobby with all kinds of devices trying to connect. This problem should be worked out if they spent a little time sorting it out; maybe if enough people comment they will address it and solve it!
Front desk was extremely helpful, and made arrangements for parking a couple of weeks before we arrived, and dinner reservations, etc. No complaints on that front. Federica is sharp and very helpful, as were the other front desk staff.. Aircon worked but was a bit tempermental, as the displays are digital and appear to have given up being readable years ago!!
But it did work,, and the weather was quite warm, so I guess that is all that really matters.

You are paying for the location and the view at this hotel, and it is still a very luxurious hotel, great service overall, and a place I would return to without second thoughts. It just suffers a bit when comparing to a place like the Hassler in Rome, which charges about the same price and does it so well!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racer356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

There are advantages and disadvantages for being next to the river in Florence. Unfortunately, our first impression of Hotel Lungarno was the disadvantage: Our bed was covered with dead mosquitoes, and the large windows were clearly just sprayed with bug spray. The hotel was prompt to service the room, but it left a bad taste in our experience. Note: Keep those windows closed or expect a buzzing in our ear all night.

On the positive side, you get amazing views of the river. The view of the Ponte Vecchio got better everyday. And the location was so central that it was boon. Breakfasts were included every morning, and everything was super fresh. If you walk into the inner room, you can actually find a small area to sit outside.

The hotel is more old school with the "leave your key at the front desk" type of European service. Everyone was very prompt and courteous. A bit of a throwback, but charming. Like the tight elevators or light switches that never corresponded to the room you're in.

Not sure we'd stay with those mosquitoes, they were annoying. But that's the only tradeoff for a fine hotel on the river.

Room Tip: Keep those windows closed tight...one mosquito can ruin a night's sleep. And if you're havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownboynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were here with family and had two rooms. Both were moderate sizes but very comfortable and well appointed. Yes, its Europe and the bathrooms were on the small side but water pressure was great, and we thought the bathrooms were nice relatively speaking. We had a nice view of the Arno-room 103. Beds and linens were top notch and service was terrific. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful from guidance on things to see, reading maps, to making reservations. Waitstaff at little bar in lobby and the breakfast room were efficient and pleasant.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good in a lovely setting off the lobby. The lobby is comfortable and you feel like you are in your own living room.

The only downfall is the exercise facility- if it can be called that- is in a sister hotel and is bare bones and very tiny. But you walk all over Florence so you get your exercise that way!! Unless you are a complete exercise fanatic i would not hold this against this lovely hotel.

We will return for sure!!

Room Tip: We liked 103. I would request view of river for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingtravelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Like all things in Florence – SPACE is a luxury. And, seeing that this was our ten year anniversary, we spared no expense when it came time to book our hotel.
We booked “The Deluxe Arno View”. And, I requested that we have “the terrace”. Now, what is extremely funny about this was that I was contacted by the hotels main reservation office to add “an extra fee” for the reservation “of the terrace”. I ignored it, thinking that we have paid over $500 euro a night for this place; I didn’t need to pay more. Well, I was right! When we got there, we were given the terrace, and were shown to our room, I nearly gasped at the sheer thumbnail of a room we had. It was terrible. The terrace was bigger than the room!! A definite misstep by the management - How on earth can they charge this price for this room?! You really can’t even use the terrace outside because of all the bugs from the Arno that attack you!! However, the bugs isn’t the managements problem, Room 653 is the problem. DO NOT GET THIS ROOM if you are traveling as a couple. The room is so dented up at the base and corners (because people can’t maneuver their bags!), the bathroom ceiling paint is cracking and chipping off, come on Hotel Lungarno. You say you’re a 4 star hotel? NOT!
I did go to the desk and ask for a bigger room. It was just too small. They didn’t have any but we were told to check back the next morning. I did. I spoke to Frederica, WHO is A SWEETHEART, and was very accommodating!! This is where the mixed feelings came in. She, happily, smiled and said “let me see what we have. Alor, I see one – Room 435. If you want you and I can go check to see if you are happy with it”. Um, Yes. As soon as she opened the door to the room 435 I knew this was our room! This is what we paid for. The room was nearly double in size. It had a small balcony, instead of the terrace, the room was brighter, and it was well kept! “Yes, I’ll take it!” She got a porter to take our bags from the other room and we were switched. Not a problem.
Over all, this hotel is not what it claims to be. So, be aware of that when you book. They need to update this place in order to own what they are selling. Don’t they have a down season? Take off the chipped paint off the ceilings and repaint. Details, details, details MUST be made attention to. The staff is very kind, work hard, and really want to represent the type of class this hotel wants to be. But, they are missing the boat.

Room Tip: Stay away from 653 (Deluxe Arno View - Terrance). RUN TO ROOM 435 for a very plesant experience (Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcb1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Lungarno Hotel is well located in Florence, just steps from the Ponte Vecchio and other landmarks in the heart of the old city. We had a fabulous four-day stay in a wonderful suite overlooking the Arno River. The hotel is lovely, intimate and beautifully appointed. The staff could not be more accommodating. The breakfast was terrific, and we had a great dinner one evening in the hotel's Bistro San Jacopo restaurant. We enjoyed drinks each evening in the cozy lobby bar with friends. We will definitely look forward to a return visit. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#8 of 411 in Florence
618 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,030 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,340 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £269 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lungarno 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance. The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. The hotels spans an extensive modern art collection of over 400 artworks including Picasso, Bueno and Cocteau. Guests will be tempted by the thousands of delicacies of the Arno view restaurant Borgo San Jacopo (1 Michelin Star). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing