We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #15 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an exceptional hotel with an outstanding location in the Oltrarno. The Ponte Vecchio is at the end of the block. Cross the bridge, and the Uffizi and all of the sites of central Firenze are a short, pleasant walk away. The hotel is on the same side of the Arno with the Pallazo Pitti, Piazzale Michelangelo and the Boboli Gardens.

The staff is wonderful, and everyone is fluent in English. The place is immaculate, and when we visited in December 2014 it was (tastefully) decorated for Christmas. Enjoying an evening drink in the lobby lounge, which came with biscotti, a fire in the lounge fireplace, looking out over the river with a view of the bridge was magical. The room was spotless, and very comfortable. We were lucky to have a room facing the Arno. It felt like being on a luxury cruise ship looking out of the French doors with Juliet baconies. Look straight down, and there is the water. Beautiful!

There are many good of restaurants in the neighborhood with no need to cross the bridge if you choose not to. There is even a grocery store nearby as well as small salumeria if you want to pick up some snacks for the room.

We highly recommend this property. It is a jewel and a quiet respite in what can be a hectic city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpuha_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Xpuha_Happy,

Thank you for all the beautiful comments you made about the staff, the facilities and the experience you had at The Hotel Lungarno!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait for you to come back to our beautiful city!

Thank you again,

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    191
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
233
585
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

An enjoyable long weekend in Florence enhanced by a stay at Hotel Lungarno.
The location is ideal, overlooking the Ponte Vecchio and River Arno, within a short walking distance to all the attractions and museums.
From the front desk staff to serving staff everyone was friendly and efficient.
The hotel décor is elegant and restful after a long days sightseeing.
Our room unfortunately was at the rear overlooking a somewhat noisy street, but was large and comfortable with an amazing walk in double shower wet room.
This hotel is not cheap, but as a 'Small Leading Hotel of the Worl'd represents good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Arno
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Bleepers,
Thank you for your nice comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Hotel Lungarno in one of our rooms overlooking The river Arno.
Grazie and best Regards!

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Every one who works at this charming hotel in Florence is kind and friendly. Our experience here was fantastic!!! Absolutely recommend 100%. Without being snooty or excessively over priced, this was by far and away the best part of our stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kari J,
Thank you so much for appreciating The Hotel Lungarno in its timeless beauty and charme...
Your beautiful comments about our hotel give us energy and happiness !
I am looking forward to welcoming you back in Florence at The Stunning Hotel Lungarno... Just steps away from ponte vecchio.
Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is 2nd visit and it is still a very good hotel in excellent location with view over Arno river. Very convenient to walk to anywhere in Florence. Front desk team either in the morning or evening are both excellent and accommodating with good recommending on dining. Breakfast is with good selection and quality. However, it is the only hotel among 6 hotels that I stayed during this trip that charged me 10 Euro for a pot of hot water from room service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplylife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Simplylife,
Thank you for your nice comments about The front desk team and The gourmet breakfast that is served at The Hotel Lungarno. We really appreciate you had a wonderful stay in Florence and we noted The suggestion about The 10 euro extra charge. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Lungarno in the near future!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I am pleased to be able to tell you that this is one excellent hotel. Florence needless to say is a busy place however the Lungarno and a sanctuary of peace and quiet at the end of the day. This is a traditional and elegant establishment where you can feel at home. We were amazed by how friendly the people of Florence were and the staff of the Lungarno were absolutely charming and could not have done more to make us comfortable. Thank you!

Room Tip: Be on the Arno!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simonc179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Simonc179,
Thank you so much for your nice review about The Hotel Lungarno, we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to Florence!
Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Lungarno during our recent stay in Florence. What a great Hotel. Great location and the staff was wonderful. Always remembered our name and were helpful in giving recommendations for restaurants. The bar overlooked the river and we will certainly look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sameade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sameade,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The hotel Lungarno, we are extremely happy you enjoyed completely your stay with us and that you will come back! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to make you feel another great experience in our magnificent city!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Located right on the river Arno but away from the crowds on the other side of the bridge, this hotel is a gem. The entrance provides a great photo op with the Ponte Vecchio in the background. Staff was very friendly and helpful with dinner reservations. It's an easy walk to just about anywhere in Florence. Breakfast buffet is ample with eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, yoghurt and pastries. The lounge is a perfect place to enjoy a drink or coffee with an incredible view and wonderful service. Our room was comfortable, facing the courtyard. Bathroom was large with shelves for toiletries. Shower leaked a little but once we knew, a strategically placed towel was all that was needed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhealthmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Travelhealthmaven,
Thank you so much for your beautiful comments about The hotel lungarno, The staff, The breakfast experience and so on.... We really appreciate you had a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to Florence!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Property: Hotel Lungarno
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrivederci! Hotel Lungarno is closed and will reopen on 1st June 2017 after a full renovation Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing