We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lungarno is wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #13 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Lungarno is wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had promised myself that when I went back to Florence that we would stay in the Hotel Lungarno, and I had made that promise years ago. We finally made our trip back and the Hotel was all that I had hoped for and more. The location is fabulous and the staff excellent. We were in room 429 and it was amazing. Large terrace on the river and beautiful and well appointed room. I will never stay any where else again.

Room Tip: We were told ours was the nicest room in the hotel and being on the river I am sure is quieter then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Louise,
thank you for having chosen the Hotel Lungarno for your visit to Florence, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and that the view from your room was magic!
We are all looking forward to welcoming you again to our magnificent city in the very near future...

Best Regard

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    191
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
232
584
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am three weeks overdue in writing this short review. It was our first time in Florence and I struggled whether I should go all out and stay at the Four Seasons or St Regis but I kept hearing good things about this hotel from people who have been everywhere. The Lungarno is wonderful !! Yes the rooms are a little tight but they are more than nice and the location can't be beat. The breakfast in the morning was just right to start your day . Now for the reason I would not consider going anywhere else when we return. The service was as good or better then anywhere I have been. Andrea or anyone else who helped us at the front desk was exceptional
It was our 30th wedding anniversary and we both turned 60 this year so we were willing to spend whatever to make the trip special. We were more then happy we stayed here !!

Room Tip: We had a third floor river room and you feel you are right on top of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Eric L,
I am so glad you and your lovely wife spent your 30th anniversary at The Hotel Lungarno and I am thrilled you had a wonderful experience!
Thank you so much for your nice comments, the Lungarno team remains at your service and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Florence very soon.

Warm Regards,

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

great small luxury hotel overlooking the Ponte Vecchio located in the very center of the town , avery interesting visit is no more then 7 minutes walking, Great bar / Restaurant terrace overlooking the River Arno. Nice welcoming people and great service. Mosta amazing breakfast with local product. Unforgettable stay for a 4 days Week end.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naankuse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Claudio F,
Thank you for staying at The Hotel Lungarno, we are extremely happy you had a fabulous time in Florence. My team remain at your service, we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lungarno in our magnificent city!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I had four wonderful nights at Hotel Lungarno during our honeymoon. We loved the location - south of the Arno so a little quieter, but still very close to all of the action on both sides of the river. The hotel was beautiful, right on the Arno river. It's worth paying extra for a river-view room! Quieter, and gorgeous. The breakfast buffet was delicious - we didn't pre-pay for it but we should have, as we ate there every morning. Great toiletries, comfortable room, etc. You get what you pay for - a lot! My only criticism was that twice we called reception (for dinner reservations and for assistance) and each time I was told they would call us back but in both cases I had to call them back. Certainly not a deal breaker though. I'd highly recommend this hotel and would return without question.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a river view, and pay extra for a balcony if you can! It's quieter, the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGS782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear LGS782,
Thank you kindly for such a nice review about The Hotel Lungarno! We are very happy you enjoyed your honeymoon in The most romantic city in The world and that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate this great moment of your life!
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again at The Hotel Lungarno, we remain at your service.

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAUPPAUGE, NEW YORK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Do not miss the Hotel Lungarno in Florence. It is the perfect hotel located in the perfect place and with amazing staff. Many rooms look out on and some have balcony's overlooking the Ponte Vecchio Bridge. You are so close you feel like you can reach out and touch it. The living room which is located off the reception area has big oversized white couches and chairs and the arno as a backdrop. The perfect place for a glass of wine or expresso after touring all day. Rooms are very comfortable, immaculate and filled with so many little touches it takes a day or two to realize. The location is unbeatable as you are right across the bridge and close to the Uffizzi gallery. The bonus is that the hotel is on a small street and away from the traffic noises that are encountered at many other hotels. I would give this hotel 6 stars and would never dream of staying anywhere else in Florence. This was my 5th time back and cannot wait for my 6th.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Arno and Ponte Vecchio are the ones to get, if you can splurge for a balcony r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Lee018,
Thank you so much for The excellent comments about The Hotel Lungarno! We are so happy you had a great stay and that you appreciated our hotel completely, please bring your unforgettable memories back home...!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in Florence in The near future!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our stay at Hotel Lungarno was great. The arranged transportation by the hotel made getting there easy. The check in process was smooth and having someone show us the suite allowed us to settle right when arriving in Florence. The friendly and accommodating front desk assisted with our Tuscan excursions and dinner reservations, the bartenders remembered who you were, the servers went out of their way to ensure you had everything you needed, and the cheerful doorman always greeted you when leaving and welcomed you back.
The location of the hotel and proximity to everything makes this an easy choice when staying in Florence. Opening the drapes each morning and seeing the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio is a great way to experience Florence. Last but not least, the hotel has an amazing restaurant and tasting menu!

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the view of the Arno and Ponte Vecchio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimF44147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear JimF,
Thank you, thank you and thank you!
Your genuine comments make us proud and we are so happy you have chosen the Hotel Lungarno for your stay in Florence.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back at our Hotel.

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an exceptional hotel with an outstanding location in the Oltrarno. The Ponte Vecchio is at the end of the block. Cross the bridge, and the Uffizi and all of the sites of central Firenze are a short, pleasant walk away. The hotel is on the same side of the Arno with the Pallazo Pitti, Piazzale Michelangelo and the Boboli Gardens.

The staff is wonderful, and everyone is fluent in English. The place is immaculate, and when we visited in December 2014 it was (tastefully) decorated for Christmas. Enjoying an evening drink in the lobby lounge, which came with biscotti, a fire in the lounge fireplace, looking out over the river with a view of the bridge was magical. The room was spotless, and very comfortable. We were lucky to have a room facing the Arno. It felt like being on a luxury cruise ship looking out of the French doors with Juliet baconies. Look straight down, and there is the water. Beautiful!

There are many good of restaurants in the neighborhood with no need to cross the bridge if you choose not to. There is even a grocery store nearby as well as small salumeria if you want to pick up some snacks for the room.

We highly recommend this property. It is a jewel and a quiet respite in what can be a hectic city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpuha_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Xpuha_Happy,

Thank you for all the beautiful comments you made about the staff, the facilities and the experience you had at The Hotel Lungarno!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait for you to come back to our beautiful city!

Thank you again,

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Property: Hotel Lungarno
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrivederci! Hotel Lungarno is closed and will reopen on 1st June 2017 after a full renovation Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing