We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute and utter perfection at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
Ranked #13 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolute and utter perfection at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

When you imagine an incredible hotel stay with all the amenities, service and location, and you actually get it---you remain speechless. The Hotel Lungarno was the best hotel stay we had in all of Italy, and we stayed in five star all the way, including Il San Pietro Positano.
My wife and I stayed as we were celebrating our two year anniversary and LOVED it.
Let me begin with the service. ALL the concierges were more than helpful, more than generous, more than kind and even funny.
I think other hotels in Italy should take lessons from these people!!! We had a few crazy incidents, including leaving our camera in a wine tour van. One concierge even offered to drive us almost two hours away in his own car to retrieve it!!! Luckily we found an alternative. However, they did ALL that they could to help us with everything from maps and directions to suggesting actual authentic and local cuisine. (BTW, you must try Osteria Cingale down the street, it's amazing).
Next, the location. Other reviewers have gone into extensive detail on this. I would just like to add, that after a long day of sightseeing, it was wonderful to cross the Ponte Vechhio and enter a sublime oasis. The hotel being right on the river, makes it a serene spot for a late afternoon glass of wine and watching the crowds on the oldest bridge in Florence. Leaving the hustle and bustle of the other side of the river, felt like a stress relief.
The hotel's muted colors, white and navy blue, the sounds, light music, even the aroma as you enter the doors, ensure that you have chosen the best place in Florence.
I suggest you upgrade to the room with the view and balcony, it is absolutely worth it.

As for the room, it is divine. All the amenities one would expect. Room service is delivered to the minute of your request.
We loved every minute of our stay and hope you do as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkLuxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    191
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
232
584
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Location: The best location you can imagine. Almost spot on the Ponte Vecchio. Few minutes to Palazzo Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti. 10 min to the duomo. There are other luxery hotel with top locations but none have a view like this. From our balcony you could see the Palazzo Vecchio, duomo and Ponte Vecchio. If you do not get the view I would take a more inexpensive hotel.

Room: The room we had 654 was called an executive suite, but was more the size of a standard room, but with a gorgeous terass on the same size as the room. I would rate the room quality as a normal 4 star hotel. The bathroom was quite small but acceptable.

Service: This was the weak point. There are so many instances during our 8 days stay that should be better, i will mention a few.

Welcoming: "Name ?" "Password please?". No welcoming phrase. Took some time for finding a bell boy showing the room without a word. To be fair a girl with brown curly hair in the reception the other days was very friendly and welcoming.

Concergie: When asking for a yearly Florence celebration Scoppio del carrio, i was reffered to the tourist office, when asking for checking tickets at Palazzo Vecchio (one of Florence main attractions) I was asked if i had the phone number, when i did not they could not help me.

Room service: Very good on time, but missed for instance bacon, when ordering scrambled eggs and bacon, other days missed spoons, salt etc.

Cleaning: Missed towels, The minibar was not checked when we arrived, old botlles, I had to ask 2 over 3 days before it was removed. The breakfastmenu we received at downturn servicesw for 6 DAYS was a used one, which meant that you could not use it again. It light be that the girls from philippines, who does the cleaning cannot read, but breakfast cost some 50 Euro so it would be in the hotels interest to give a proper one.Twice the laundry bags put on the bed with the form filled out were not taken. I called the reception as many other time before and the excused nicely and picked it up. When eating lunch on the terass the traysand left food was not removed during the downturn services. A used glass on a table was not replaced until after 4 days.

Value: Over 8 days (not in high season) we payed 600 euro per night, for that price the service should be much better. The room thanks to the location, terass and view is ok for the price but the service...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

This hotel was wonderful - right around the corner from the Ponte Vecchio ("old bridge") which provided for an excellent location. The restaurants on the same street were amazing and many to choose from. (FYI - ask the concierge to book the restaurants for you - the restaurant staff is much more accomodating!) The room was huge - we were on the 8th floor overlooking the river. Our view was incredible - if available, I highly recommend the 8th floor. The bed was very comfortable and there is a maid service twice daily. The shower was wonderful and the Lungarno Details products were great. They also have 2 hair dryers, one with a lot more power in the closet! We were extremely happy with everything and would definitely stay there again. (However, the hotel breakfast is not included in the room rate. It was a little pricey, so I highly suggest eating elsewhere)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aharr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Everything about this place was perfect from the check in to the check out.
We were upgraded to the Arno view room because it was available.
The staff very professional.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danasbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Last summer we spent 5 days in Florence and 5 days in Paris -- having spent the summer before in Venice and Rome at amazing 5-Star hotels --- we were anxious about our stay in Florence. We couldn't have been more happy and loved the entire trip! The Hotel Lungarno is in a perfect location and our room overlooking the Arno River was unbelievable. We would hang out everynight at the outdoor bar-area and have wine, listen to the music, watch other tourists, and have a great time with the hotel staff. The entire stay was perfect and we had excellent recommendations from the front desk on dining locations and on a personal tour guide that they set up for us. Definitely the best way to see Florence!!! Skip the long lines and loosing time -- and have a personal tour guide that knows about the true essence of Florence. We will definitely return to the Hotel Lungarno and highly recommend this hotel! - J&K, Indianapolis, IN

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

Can't add to the others except to say that balcony on street side up high was nice too - good view of the hills and fort.

  • Liked — gorgeous room and lovely linens
  • Disliked — seriously, Europe, why are you opposed to shower curtains?!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ACNonPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

My husband and I spent 5 days in Florence and 5 in Rome for our honeymoon and I really belabored over picking some good hotels. I studied in Florence, so the pressure was on. I struck gold with the Hotel Lungarno. It was fantastic. The location is PERFECT. The room was a great room - had a balcony and view of the Boboli Gardens and the Uffizi. They upgraded us for free. It was a great boutique hotel that had the personal feel that I was looking for. The lounge area overlooking the Arno was a great place to relax at the end of the day and get a few glasses of wine before heading out for dinner. I loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ashsmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Property: Hotel Lungarno
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrivederci! Hotel Lungarno is closed and will reopen on 1st June 2017 after a full renovation Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bonan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing