We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel & Staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A superb 3 night stay where the staff made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The Concierge service were very slick and a must use. Breakfast was also very good. The Roof top terrace bar/restaurant a perfect addition to enjoy a drink overlooking The River Arno and the roof tops of Florence after a hard days sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASBOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    326
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
301
697
45
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great hotel in an awsome location. Westin lived up to their excellent standards. Very clean room. They still need to work on having a true king bed not 2 twin beds put together. Staff was the best. Very helpful and full of energy. the roof top bar and resturant is a sight to see. Words can't describe the beauty of the city . The best hotel while traveling through Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbbrown24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We enjoyed a 4 night visit to the Westin which is conveniently situated within walking distance of the major sights of Florence. A short stroll takes you to the Duomo or the Piazza del Republica for plentiful shopping and choice of restaurants and every side street has bars, cafes and shops full of wonderful Italian leather goods and food. The sightseeing tour buses stop nearby and these are a good way to spend an hour or so then get off at those points where you wish to visit. The hotel staff are very friendly and amenable. We had a junior terrace suite with great views of the city, making our anniversary in Florence a memorable one. We would definitely book again.

Room Tip: The river is very low in summer and prone to mosquitoes so although the river view is nice we prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarVillanearDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I - went on a long trip to Italy to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose the hotels very carefully researching them on Trip-Advisor understanding their rankings and reviews before we selected them.

The hotel was very clean and nice - up to true Westin standards. The staff at the front desk welcomed us with the higher quality of services and walked us throughout the hotel and up to our room. The concierge desk helped us understand the city - the maps provided by the hotel were awesome. They made dinner recommendations that were fantastic. We noticed throughout our Italy tour that they always recommended the higher-end authentic restaurants. Plan for an average of 60 Euros per person for those type of restaurants - but the food and wine was well worth it.

The room was simply huge. The lighting was a little low and the air-condition couldnt keep up. Wasn't hot or anything like that - but we are hot natured and would have been nice to be a little cooler. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Within a few minutes walking distance to the train station and not too far from the Basilicas, Art Museums. Squares, etc....

The Breakfast bar that came with the room was just unbelievable. The best we've had outside of the U.S. and arguably up there with some of the finest breakfasts we've had. The fresh pastries, breads, Italian sausage, egg/french-toast station to your order, the delicious cappuccino, coffees and much more. The service was simply fantastic.

In addition - the hotel has a lot of prestigious benefits - for example being able to get tickets and passes - they will organize the timing and obtain the tickets for you ahead-of-time so that when you go to your venue you don't have to stand in line. The Restaurants we went to treated us at a very high level when they knew we were staying there.

All in all - we have very high expectations and this hotel met all of them, Truly well done,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel is situated in a beautiful square called ogni santi . It is just 10 to 15 minutes away from the historical centre which has robe reached on foot. The hotel gets views of the Arno river as well as the surrounding towers and various church cupolas in the area. Far out one may also see the hills and mountains . At sunrise and sunset these offer a spectacular view. The hotel has a lobby restaurant serving good food in a relaxed atmosphere. If you feel like spending more the best way to enjoy an Italian meal is whilst seeing sunset from the sixth floor of the hotel at sesto restaurant. Here food is served on the terrace and one gets a fantastic 360 view of the city. Pricing is high food is excellent service is very good yet casual . One pays for the excellent environment worth at least one visit. Breakfast is good and varied .

Room Tip: Go for an above standard to have a bigger room try to ask for a river view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myself-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have visited Florence many times, and even lived in this city at one point. My goal was to find an inexpensive luxury hotel on the Arno with a view. The Excelsior fit this description and we prepaid the entire room to get a very low rate on our room. While the room was extremely elegant with a lovely marble bathroom, it was not huge. However, we loved our floor to ceiling windows with balconies and an exquisite view of the Arno. The concierges here were truly excellent, and arranged renting a car for us, driving directions around Tuscan towns, and many restaurant recommendations and reservations. We had a very good experience here and would return. FYI the hotel is a converted monastery, and the lobby is stunning. However, the Grand hotel across the street has been renovated more recently and has a more formal elegance to it which demands a much higher price for much smaller rooms. Don't eat at this hotel since the prices are absolutely ridiculous! There are lots of great places nearby.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a view of the Arno high up to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYcitygirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The decor of the hotel is vey nice. The room was bigger than we expected with a sleeping area, small sitting area, and nice bath. Te service was terrific. The location was fabulous. It is on a small square next to the Arno river. It is very easy to walk everywhere from this location. We also easily rented a car for one day from hertz ( just around the corner) and it was quite easy to navigate out of town to Tuscany from here.

Room Tip: Second look rooms allow you to easily walk the stairs verses waiting for elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing