We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellissimo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a Tauck tour. The hotel is located on an open piazza alongside the Arno River. It makes quite a first impression. Happily, the rest of our experience was at the same high level. Our room was very large, bathroom was good with a double sink. I had some laundry done, and it was very expensive (no surprise there). The breakfast buffet was included in our package, and the selections were quite nice. They have a coffee station at the front of the restaurant, in case you want a cup to go. The view from the 6th floor bar is stunning, day or night. My daughter and I walked everywhere, including the world-famous Santa Maria Novella pharmacy (high-end cosmetics) and the Ponte Vecchio for gold jewelry. I recommend crossing the river to the Piazzale Michaelangelo for the very best view of Florence, especially at night. The location is great, and the hotel was a great home base for exploring Florence.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    322
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
296
683
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is majestic situated in a plaza with Arno riverfront views. The staff is helpful and friendly and maintains a welcoming service oriented tradition. This was formerly a Ciga hotel and Westin has preserved this European ambience. Rooms are spacious ; bathrooms marble; food good as is italitan cuisine& there is a lovey new roof bar and restaurant. You are near all of Florence ; an easy walk to the Duomo: the museum ; Rialto Bridge & the great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

When staying at the Westin you know what to expect, I really enjoyed my stay in Firenze, firstly because the hotel is very well located and all sightseeings and attractions are within walking distance. We could actually see the Ponte Vecchio from our room.

Very high standard service, very somptuous classic design rooms - Everyone was very helpful and helped us the most they could.

We had lunch in the restaurant on the roof top, it really has a superb view of all Firenze, I was impressed and the menu is really well elaborated, giving you a real feel of Toscany flavors - a very good Chef runs the kitchen.

we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BorkaMoscou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here in June '13 for a couple of nights. This is a very grand old hotel in the heart of Florence. It's within walking distance of all the main attractions.
Polished brass and marble abound , with excellent staff and great breakfasts ! We didn't eat in for dinner , preferring to try the many excellent local restaurants.
My room was large by normal standards, more of a suite with sofas etc and a fab en-suite , again marble clad.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and stay again. Many of the Florence hotels are in very narrow dark streets ( this is Florence after all ) but the Westin sits on a large sunny piazza with an open outlook , bordering the River.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed hear for the first 2 nights of my recent trip to Florence. The property is absolutely amazing. The entire experience, overall, was quite pleasant. We enjoyed the comfort of the room, the bar on the upper level, as well as breakfast. While we were a bit disappointed that the fitness room was under construction, an alternate option was located across the street. The visit exceeded my expectations until the last morning. Knowing we needed to catch a bus early the next morning, we put our order out the night before to have our breakfast delivered between 6:30-6:45 per the instructions on the in-room dining card. Packed and ready to go, we were anxiously awaiting the arrival of our breakfast. At 6:40 I called to check on the status and was told the would get back with me. At 6:50 I received a call and was told they were just about to start making our breakfast and wanted to know if we wanted the coffee sooner. I politely declined as we needed to be headed to our bus in order to catch our next excursion from Siena. While I voiced my frustration at check-out, I was obviously dismissed. Note to the management - DON'T OFFER BREAKFAST FOR DELIVERY FROM 6:30-6:45 UNLESS YOU CAN ACTUALLY DELIVER ON THAT PROMISE!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCub_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear TravelCub,
let me apologize once again, as done through our customer service centre, about the mistake in delivering the breakfast on your departure day. As said, it was due to a personal mistake, but we are gratefully to your comments as it provides us with the chance of setting stronger and more and more effective procedures in order to prevent any possibility of deception.

We were also very happy to learn that your overall experience has given you great memories of our staff and our city!
Whenever you will be coming back to Florence, please use my contact to advise me in advance and I will be happy to welcome you back providing a special attention to your reservation!

Kindest regards,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Few would argue that Florence is one of the premiere cities in all of Italy, and none would argue that the Excelsior Hotel is one of best locations to stay in Florence. This elegant hotel, situated adjacent to the Arno River near the center of Florence, has it all. Our connecting rooms overlooked the Arno river. The rooms were luxurious with high ceilings, beautiful decor, and very comfortable beds. Following a delicious breakfast accompanied by fresh fruits and breads, our family was greeted by a wonderful hotel staff. In particular, one of the doormen, Sebastiono, was especially helpful. He always greeted us with a warm smile and made certain that we felt at home and special.

The hotel is within a short walking distance of all the historic sites and most of the really good restaurants. Most importantly, it is in walking distance of what I think is the best gelato in Florence, Vivoli il Gelato (7 Via Isola delle Stinche). Adjacent to the best gelato location in Florence is a small restaurant, Trattoria Pallottino, which has great food at a great price.

My advice to families traveling to Florence, get a "Friends of Uffizi" pass, dine at the Trattoria Pallottino followed by gelato at the Vivoli il Gelato, and treat the kids and wife to an elegant hotel, the Westin Excelsior. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is far more than we expected. It is a 5 star hotel with exception service, and the room was incredible. It was luxury from the outside to every bit of the inside. The bar on the roof was incredible both in views and the cocktails which were unique and so precise and delicious. It was as though everyone treated you like family visiting from the front desk the food service and bartenders. I've stayed in 5 star hotels around the world and so far, this is the #1 on my list. What an ideal experience we had.

Room Tip: Any/All room are great there. I would be mindful though that if you are sharing a room and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing