We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #28 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent Hotel!! Outstanding Service from everyone I encountered. GM is running an amazing property. My room was quite large. This is what 5 star service should be. It was within walking distance to most attractions. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking to spend a great time in Florence. I personally want to thank Daria from the reception desk for her superb service. I will never forget this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is well located, I will give it that. But the staff seemed a bit tired, unmotivated. It seems the brand is pulling the weight rather than the other way around. The rooms are of average size and well decorated for that category of hotel but if you have 2 small children you either have to take 2 rooms or a mega suite (a money making policy). Either way you are looking at 1000+ euros a night.
The restaurant on the roof top is just OK, nothing amazing for the price paid. Breakfast was average.
My expectations were high since at 1000 euros a night I have seen much better amenities and service in Paris, Rome or London. All in all, it is far too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCEAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear CCEAbuDhabi,
thank you for your feedback.

We have implemented few years ago an upgrading program which gives our guests the possibility of enjoying a higher category of rooms and suites, when available at the moment of the arrival, for a low daily supplement. We quote it low as it is inline with our competitors in Florence, and we have to admit that our city is not the least expensive one.
We have received many praises for this program, especially for its value for money, but will take your comment as a good suggestion and will definitely develop more attention on the way we propose it, therefore we are sincerely grateful to your opinion.

If you will be planning to visit us again, please consider me at your disposal to receive any possible assistance, such as for setting the appropriate room to you, in case you will be travelling again with your delightful family or on your own: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

Kindest regards,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Excelsior Florence in mid-August 2013 and we were both extremely impressed by the property.

Location:

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of all major sites in Florence. It's an easy 10-minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station, and about a 10-15 minute walk to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, and the Accademia. GREAT LOCATION.

Service:

The staff at the Westin Excelsior were all extremely friendly and spoke great English. We were able to check-in to our room at noon on the day of our arrival - a full three hours ahead of normal check-in time. Our room was clean and stocked with great amenities!

The ONLY problem I found with the hotel was the internet in the lobby. It was quite slow. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel ahead of time to ask for a room with a view of the river or the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handerson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I find that most hotels in Europe, although Luxury and have great service, have very small rooms. This hotel was great! Large rooms, large bathroom and nice balcony!!! Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alicina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Located in an excellent location by the river and within 15 minutes walk to train station and Piazza Republic, Westin is about 2 blocks away from the old bridge Ponte Vecchio.

Westin is one of the largest hotel in the old town of Florence, with over 100 rooms. The lobby is kind of dark, spacious and classy, after you get into the hotel through the revolving door. Reception is on the left, while bar and restaurant are on the right. Lift lobby is further down the hall.

The corridor was not particularly appealing and have a feeling that it required refurbishing. The room is spacious and nicely decorated, but again, have a feeling that some redecoration is needed. The room had a high ceiling. The view looking to the river is gorgeous. Since the river and the road running on the other side of the hotel is not parallel, some rooms are not in rectangular shape but in trapezium. Bathroom is spacious and have double washing basins. It has both bathtub and shower. The drainage in the shower is not working too well, however. The room has a walk-in closet and lots of hanging space. Amenities is fully provided, TV, safe, couch, arm chairs, tea table, writing desk, temperature control, etc.

Breakfast is served on the ground floor restaurant which has nice fittings. Hot eggs are available to your liking. Cold meats and other hot dishes are available. You can even find congee. Service is of high level. Coffee to go is also available at the restaurant door if you don’t have enough time to sit down for a full breakfast.

I tried the lobby restaurant for lunch on one day. Quality of food is of high quality. We ordered something simple such as pasta and pizza but the taste is very good. I also tried the dinner there for one night. Service and food quality is also on the high end.

There is a restaurant Se.Sto located on the top floor of the hotel which has a very nice view of Florence. The restaurant has big floor-to-ceiling windows so that in good weather, the view is very impressive. It is very enjoyable having a drink in the sunset on the outside patio.

The road along Arno river has quite a number of shops that open until late at night and it is quite an enjoyable walk along it to the direction of Ponte Vecchio.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Another remarkable Westin experience!
Tremensous breakfast!
Incredible staff! Knowledgable, friendly, helpful and courteous. Very pleasurable Team
Wonderful views from rooms and rooftop! Sunset dinner experience was incredible!
(expensive laundry bill)
I love Westin properties, and The Westin Excelsior Florence "takes the cake!"
We also experienced a 1st Class dinner overlooking the city. (service was a bit slow, but worth it)
I would definitely return and stay here along the Arno River.

Room Tip: High Floor a must View of The Arno River a MUST Dine Rooftop at sunset ( a must do) Enjoy the Bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

one of the nicest things about this hotel is the lobby. its like a european hang out place with a piano bar at night. it was really relaxing to sit there and use your free wifi in the lobby. (you have to pay 15 euros a day in your room) the breakfast buffet was one of the best that we have had in Italy with a chef to make your egg requests. by the way, on the breakfast buffet, I found these poached apples in white wine, raisins and pine nuts and they were so incredibly delicious...also, the rooms are quite spacious and elegant. the location on the arno makes it really easy to get around to all of the tourist sites by walking and its is about 15 min by cab from the train station. we did not eat dinner at the hotel but the snacks and breakfast were fantastic. The concierges went above and beyond and were just so attentive and helpful with our trip. Also, they have a "pillow menu" which is great. after many sleepless nights in other hotels on what felt like air filled pillows, I saw that that they had a menu and after I got over feeling like a spoiled roman emperor,. I ordered some and I was quite happy that I had indulged. Just a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,312 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 410 in Florence
788 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £276 - £631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing